We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”
Review of Ampelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ampelia Hotel
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed here in July 2013, beautiful pool area, close to resort, had a great holiday. Poppy was really nice, food here at lunch was very good. Hanioti was nice, but the beach was too crowded for us, no quiet area to walk to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
94
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2013 and it was the most relaxing holiday we have had even with a 3 year old!! We met some absolutely fabulous people which made the holiday even better, we would all end up meeting in the bar after we had been for our evening meals and had some right laughs. Poppy and Pandelis are excellent hosts and will tell you all the best places to go. We got the bus to Afitos which we thought was beautiful, very Greek which i found Hanioti square lacked, for us it was quite commercialized where we thought it would be typical Greek. It certainly wouldnt put us off going again as we are thinking of going back this year to this hotel, the only thing we would do would be to hire a car. Plenty of sunbeds and even when the hotel was full it never felt crowded or packed, bar snacks really nice too especially the wraps. Rooms were cleaned with new linen and towels quite often. We were on the ground floor which didnt bother us in the slightest nice large patio area where we would eat our greek salad we made ourselves, large supermarket on main road where we bought all our salad and fruit. Overall a little Gem of a place and cannot wait to go back for some more sun and relaxation......if only the people we met would be there again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vimibo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my other half stayed here the first week in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Poppy and Pantelis are brilliant hosts. Always around to help and to have a good laugh with...or to laugh at my boyfriends lobster sun burn!
There was always space around the pool, lovely relaxed and friendly atmosphere, good bar food and drinks - try the wraps and milkshakes!
Rooms were basic as expected, but had everything we needed and were always very clean.
Restaurants we enjoyed were La Romantica and Pallinis.
If we were to visit hanioti again we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holz_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ok, I wasn't going to write a review, but what with the New Year and another holiday to book...I thought...what the hey!
We stayed with Pandelis(Pan-d-lease) and Poppy the last two weeks of September 2013. Do not be misled, you will be staying with two of the nicest people you could ever wish to meet anywhere on this big planet! Hospitality and relaxation are guaranteed. The apartments are immaculate and the cleaning team are absolute angels.
A short walk to town with lots of good eateries and bars. But as with any good hosts ask for recommendations, P & P know what is what in town. Exploring the area is really easy by local bus, we loved Afitos and Xenia Beach, but again, P & P will also give you recommendations of places worth a visit.
PLEASE, keep this resort a secret - it's too nice to let any old riff raff know about it.
Hiya to Ron(G&T) & Lynn, Mark & Margaret, Simon, Vicky & Oliver plus everyone else we got to know around the pool. You also made our stay so enjoyable.
Will be happy to answer any further questions or queries.
Happy Travels

Room Tip: Higher rooms have lovely views, but lower rooms are cooler and have patio areas. All have good faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tan0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely, roomy apartments, with everything you could need including excellent showers (take your own hairdryer though ladies), kept spotlessly clean. Poppy and Pandelis were the perfect hosts, giving a fabulous welcome, advice on where to go and what to do, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool and surrounding grounds, like the apartments, were clean and immaculate. The apartments were set on a quiet lane with a gentle10 minute downhill stroll taking you to the main road. Crossing the road takes you to the edge of Hanioti town with lots of good tavernas, some bars and many shops - something to keep everyone entertained after a busy day relaxing by the pool, or sightseeing. We hired a car for a few days, and found some beaches that Poppy and Pandelis recommended, the best of which in our opinion, were on the opposite side of the island. A trip off the peninsula to the caves, stopping at Nea Moudania on the way there was a very enjoyable day out as well. There is a good bus service on the main road at the bottom of the lane, which runs along the coast stopping at all the little vilage and also by some lovely beaches.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to chill out, with the bustling town area a relaxing 15 minute walk away. A perfect place to go and we will be going back soon (not so boring for us Pandelis, PAOK going well in the Europa cup - maybe if we finish as well as we started, our teams could be drawn together in the knock out stages?). Look forward to seeing you both again

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor with a lovely sized patio terrace looking out on the gardens. Higher roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moyleswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Ampelia studios and would like to add to the many other good reports on Tripadvisor. We were there for the last two weeks of the season and were very lucky with the weather being glorious. The studios are spacious enough with everything needed for a good holiday. We even cooked and ate in a couple of times and found the cooking facilities no problem. The two lasses that cleaned the rooms every day were smiley and discrete and left the place immaculate.
On the odd occasion that we stayed "poolside" we enjoyed the very tasty and freshly cooked wraps and toasties washed down with lovely iced glasses of Mythos from the pool bar.
Hanioti itself has a great range of restaurants with varied menus and was lively enough without being raucous. Worth the 15 minute walk from the apartment!
If your stay is more than a week, I would recommend hiring a car and getting out and about. We toured Kassandria and Sithonia and found some lovely spots off the beaten track. We also thoroughly enjoyed the pirate boat trip to Athos even though it was a bit crowded!!
Halkidiki is a lovely part of Greece and the Ampelia studios make for a very comfortable stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arataP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 weeks 16th-30th.September2013.Having previously stayed in many Greek self-catering apartments, I can honestly saw that the Ampelia is the best ever, and better even than many 3* Hotels. Clean, bright and modern with friendly owners who really do care about making your stay enjoyable , without being intrusive. Bar food and drinks were good and value for money. Hanioti itself is O.K. but lacks the "Greek " feel but Afitos and many of the other villages round about do have it, so do hire a car or jump on a bus. You will enjoy your stay, of that I am sure.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms 22, 23 and 24 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanioti hotels
0.0 mi away
Daphne Holiday Club
Daphne Holiday Club
#18 of 26 in Hanioti
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lesse Hotel
Lesse Hotel
#10 of 26 in Hanioti
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanioti Village Resort
Hanioti Village Resort
#5 of 26 in Hanioti
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 26 in Hanioti
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#6 of 26 in Hanioti
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Hotel
Tropical Hotel
#8 of 26 in Hanioti
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ampelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ampelia Hotel

Property: Ampelia Hotel
Address: Hanioti 63085, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Hanioti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Hanioti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ampelia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ampelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ampelia Studios Hotel Hanioti
Ampelia Hotel Hanioti, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing