We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing beer, lovely place”
Review of Taybeh Brewery

Taybeh Brewery
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Ramallah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Taybeh Brewery is the first microbrewery in the Middle East and the first Palestine Beer since 1994. Come Visit Us for a tour and tasting! Producing Taybeh Golden Beer, Tayebh Dark, Taybeh Amber, Taybeh White and Taybeh non-alcoholic. Tours are offered 6 days a week, Monday-Saturday, 8am-4pm.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing beer, lovely place”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The brewery is in a lovely setting atop a hillside in Taybeh village. Best way to get there is to take a servis from Ramallah, chances are they'll know where you're trying to go! Very welcoming people and a small range of merchandise on sale, as well as their beer. A really great brewery that deserves your support!

alovelydrop.blogspot.com

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank whereisthrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    10
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Kind Employees, Great Beer, Hard to Find if You Take The Bus”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I have been drinking Taybeh for months and we have been hoping to take the factory tour. While it was five shekels to take the bus from Ramallah, we were dropped off in front of the Latin Church with no clue how to get there. We asked a few people at the church and one girl, who wasn't even from Taybeh, offered to walk us, asking people along the way where the factory was. She even walked inside to make sure that people spoke English and could take care of us. Once there, we took the tour - five minute promotional video followed by a small tour of the factory as well as glasses of beer (my husband loves when we do these tours because he gets my beer too). We asked a number of questions and bought a bunch of souvenirs. It made my husband very happy and I really appreciated the kindness of the staff. If you're going to be in Ramallah, I would suggest taking a half a day to visit Taybeh, the brewery, and the St. George ruins.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danae_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is a Beer Factory in Palestine”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Yes, that's true. Its a beer factory in Palestine but it isn't quite as special as others have insinuated. Sure its the greatest beer in Palestine but that's because its the only beer in Palestine.

I visited the Taybeh Beer factory in early October of 2012, just shortly before their annual Octoberfest celebration. A tour of the factory is exactly as you would expect a tour of a factory to be. The staff working in the factory are all mostly members of the same family, the Khoury family that own and run the factory. The beer itself is good but the message behind it is a little misleading. It doesn't have much to do with Taybeh as a village and as a community of Palestinians but rather an entrepreneurial venture by a family of Palestinian-Americans from Boston, known for its bar scene and breweries.

Their motto is "Taste the Revolution" but I have yet to determine what is their revolution.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Beer! Not to miss”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We had a great tour of this brewery - the only one in the West Bank - for 120 shekels we took a taxi from Ramallah and spent the morning learning about the brewery - some interesting facts - Israel shuts off the water to Palestine a couple days a week, so in order for the brewery to continue to operate, they must store water in tanks for those days.
The beer is very good and we brought back a 6 pack because they only have exporting allowed to Sweden and Japan for now. Drink Taybeh while you are in the Middle East!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh organic beer”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I visited the brewery and was given a tour of the facilities and shown a short video about the company then taste tested the golden and the 0% alcohol beer - delicious! The Khoury family are putting Palestine on the map for all the right reasons.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taybeh Brewery also viewed

Ramallah, Binyamin Region
 
Ramallah, Binyamin Region
Ramallah, Binyamin Region
 

Been to Taybeh Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing