We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly hotel by the sea”
Review of Aegean Blue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aegean Blue Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nea Kallikratia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed there 2 nights. Friendly reception and a free welcome drink to choose from the bar. All rooms seem to have balconies overlooking the beach and the Mediterranean sea. Fresh restaurant with good food and good service. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl-Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Aegean Blue was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the best of beach life in Greece. About 30 minutes south of Thessanaliki, the water is clear and beach is sandy. The rooms are clean, modern, and the A/C works great. The sea view rooms are worth the extra cost with nice views and a balcony to enjoy the sunsets. We were welcomed by Kostos at the front desk and even though we arrived a little early, the staff made quick work of preparing our rooms and getting us settled. Beach towels can be picked up at the front desk, the beach lounge chairs and umbrellas are right on the water and all at no charge. Hotel staff is constantly running back and forth with drink orders, but there is no pressure to purchase. The included buffet breakfast is very good and varies each day.

Kallikratia is a pleasant little town, just enough tourist activity mixed with plenty of local flavor. Some very good restaurants in short walking distance from the hotel, but beware of the fish restaurant just west of the hotel. It was a bit pricey for what you received and both the squid and shrimp were overcooked. On the north side of the park in the middle of town is a great mom and pop cafe (oTTovtlos?) where Tenasis works with his aunt and uncle. This recently opened this fast food eatery specializes in pork gyros - we had 3 gyros with a tasty and fresh Greek salad for 11 Euros!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dhart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The hotel is ideally located on the beach, in a small city. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from. The hotel has a indoor pool and a small gym. We had a large room, newly furbished, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank avera206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 nights here relaxing by the beach each day which was directly opposite the hotel. The staff fell over themselves to help out. The rooms were clean and comfortable as were the public areas, restaurant, pool areas. Plenty of breakfast choices and lovely to be able to sit outside.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms had perfect view of Mount Olympus on a clear day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for one night after climbing Mt Olympus before our evening flight home so we wanted to relax, and the Aegean Blue was perfect. After arriving we were able to park right outside for free, and we checked in andwere shown to our room, overlooking the sea, with a view of Mt Olympus from a very different angle. We were then given a welcome drink which we drank sitting on our balcony. The manager also helped us with a late checkout and directions, nothing was too much trouble, and we were only staying for one night ! Everythin was spotlessly clean, breakfast had loads of choice, and we woudl ahve happily stayed longer. And of course, the sea was yards away across the beach road. Towels were provided and free loungers (if you bought a drink) were perfect to chill out on the sand. Everything a beach hotel should be.

Room Tip: One overlooking the sea - the sound of the waves is so relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have stayed at the Aegean Blue Hotel for 14 days in August a group of six people and everything was perfect.Large rooms overlooking the sea and when the day was clear you could see mount Olympus,very clean,quiet although the sea was 30 metres away and plenty of people
enjoying the clean sand,free sunbeds and umbrellas reasonable drinks,very good breakfast
and if you decide to eat for lunch or dinner the food is superbly cooked and presented.
The owner Costas is very friendly and always eager to solve any problems or advise you on anything you want.The hotel is new,with lcd tv in every room,and wireless internet.An excellent
choice for summer holidays especially for sea lovers.You could also explore Halkidiki if you have a car.Very close to the hotel there are traditional taverns where you can eat cheaply.Strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Just ask for a second floor sea view room,nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rupert99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at Aegean Blue for 11 days in mid June for our early summer vacation with our 20 months old daughtie. The hotel is exactly as advertised. New, on an excellent location, well designed (almost every room has gorgeous sea view). Prices are very reasonable so it's surely worth the money.

We booked early (in February) and opted for BB stay, thinking that we would be able to eat at local restaurants as Nea Kallikratia is quite populated town. We were very wrong about that - there are no decent restaurants whatsoever, but luckily we were able to make arrangement to eat dinner at the hotel. Both breakfast and dinner are buffet style, the food is good and plenty, but somewhat repetitive (we didn't mind that). Hotel restaurant is rather small and part of the lobby. While it gives you nice view we found it a little bit strange. Rooms are spacious and clean (sheets and towels are changed every day), as well as the terrace and the bathroom. Free WiFi is available in all parts of the hotel and on the beach, and the connection is good.

Hotel has occupied nice part of the Nea Kallikratia sand beach, but it is not exclusive for hotel guests. As sunbeds are free (payed through obligatory drink), you can expect a lot of outsiders, especially during weekends when Thessaloniki citizens crowd the shores of Chalkidiki. During our stay, both the beach and the sea were clean. More trashcans are needed. Hotel has an indoor pool, very unattractive and badly placed (behind the reception), small and shallow - nobody really used it. Comparing to other hotels one can only think of it as a joke.

No gym (there are a few steppers and bikes by the pool), no club, no kidsroom, actually there are no public rooms or areas besides the awkwardly placed restaurant and the joke/pool. Hotel has an underground garage (looks unfinished), but the entrance and exit are at extremely high slope so most of the guests opted to park on the street.

Even with its flaws, the hotel is a gem comparing to the rest of the town. There are a few nightclubs and modern looking beachclubs but that's about it. The rest is either too old or not payed enough attention to. If you come to Nea Kallikratia, we highly recommend coming to this hotel - but think twice if your holiday is more than the sea and the sand.

On a final note, we would like to thank hotel manager Kosta and hostess Michaela (as well as the rest of the staff) for making our stay at Aegean Blue very relaxing and enjoying. The service they provide is second to none.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Maja_i_Gaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Kallikratia
0.1 mi away
Secret Paradise Hotel & Spa
Secret Paradise Hotel & Spa
#1 of 6 in Nea Kallikratia
260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heraion Hotel
Heraion Hotel
#4 of 6 in Nea Kallikratia
42 reviews
19.6 mi away
Sani Dunes
Sani Dunes
#1 of 6 in Sani
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Mavridis
Hotel Mavridis
#1 of 1 in Flogita
97 reviews
14 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Peraia
406 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sokratis Hotel
Sokratis Hotel
#2 of 3 in Nea Moudania
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegean Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean Blue Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Nea Kallikratia 630 80, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Nea Kallikratia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Nea Kallikratia
Price Range: £77 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aegean Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aegean Blue Hotel Nea Kallikratia, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing