We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Mist Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worthing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

stayed for the second year running due to location and self catering facilities. Location is the selling point and hotel staff are so friendly. noise from the road and sea can be distracting, and an upgrade on the décor would be good. lick of paint and modernising. TV's don't work. but will go back. more parasols for the sun loungers a must.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NATTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel's location is perfect! It pretty much has its own private beach (even though all of Barbados' beaches are public), nobody else is there. Only the hotel guests which were only, like, 20 at a time. The waves are perfect, not too little, not too big, beautiful clear water. There are also plenty of restaurants nearby at St. Lawrence Gap. But i was nice to have a small kitchen in the room and we did take advantage of it for breakfast.The cleaning ladies even did our dishes every day! Having breakfast on your own balcony with an ocean view - priceless!

Staff is very, very friendly! Especially Tameka and Reggie are great! We immediately felt welcome and this didn't change throughout our stay.
The restaurant was not bad, we ate there 2-3 times. The menu wasn't big, but it hit the spot.

However, the facilities and rooms desperately need a renovation. It was ok, but could have been better.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean view, cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kraut31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here between Oct 23 and Oct 29th 2013. I chose this hotel mainly because of the location and price, being that we were on a budget. The location is perfect...close to the Gap and Oistins. There is a supermarket only 5 minutes away and an amazinsg restaurant, Mojo's, across the road. (We have never tasted a more delicious burger in our lives). A little ways up the road you can find Rockley Beach and Accra Beach. The rooms all have ocean views, and there is nothing like waking up to the sound of those waves! The beach was somewhat small but we loved the fact that is was uncrowded, (October being low season) we sometimes felt as if we had it all to ourselves. They also provide loungers with umbrellas.

The front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The cleaning staff were wonderful as well...what a nice surprise the first day we came home to find they even washed our dirty dishes while we were out.

The rooms were clean, bed was comfortable, nothing fancy, but then again, we didn't visit Barbados to hang out in our room :)

In case anyone is wondering about Barbados weather in October...During the 7 days we were there, there was only one afternoon where it rained for 2-3 hours (it happened to be the day we visited the Wildlife Reserve and we found cover inside a little room that housed a very large snake. lol There was a local daycare visiting the reserve that day as well, so they took shelter along with us... the kids were so adorable, the brave ones taking a peek inside the snake's enclosure...one of my best memories about the trip.) Other than that, it sprinkled rain a few times, but only lasted several minutes and then the sun was out again! I would definately return during the "rainy" season, as the prices are low and the beaches are uncrowded.

I can't say enough about the friendliness of the people of Barbados! We toured around the island by bus, and on several occasions we relied on the locals to guide us. We were astounded at how many people offered to not only give directions, but actually walk us to the bus station and point out which bus we needed to take. The friendly, laid back attitude of the people is one of the main reasons we will visit the island again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaraMeg0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Perfect location, on the beach. Then the beach runs out for about 100 meters and only up to your chest with brilliant crashing waves and surf. The beach is secluded and very quiet, with a cool breeze all day. The rooms in the hotel are more than basic, they’re good. Fully stocked, if you are on a budget, and eat in the room. Two supermarkets nearby. The CM has a small restaurant for breakfast, snacks and cold drinks.

The hotel is situated so it’s a short walk to Accra beach shops and St Lawrence the gap. Also hop on a bus or the white mini vans 2 BD$ fixed fare – avoid the taxis. I found most of the restaurant’s in the area the food deep fried and everything with chips. I had lunch most days in Champers Restaurant – perfect, set lunch 69BD$ 35US$ 20UK£ which is a 3 minute walk from CM.

Most bars and restaurants in the area play backing music, normally reggae style. Which I found a bit dull. So my favourite bars are MOJO – decent rock music over the road from CM, and the rum shack at The GAP, with ‘Absolute Vodka ‘on the roof which is loud and lively from 9 pm.

I nearly forgot The Coral Mist has the prettiest reception staff on the island !!

Only negatives – it’s on a noisy road – take some ear plugs. But when you open your curtains on the morning the view compensates for this.

To the manager............

CHANGE THE PILLOWS, THEYRE ARE TOO HARD. ITS BEEN MENTIONED IN REVIEWS IN THE PAST. I HAD A SORE NECK ALL WEEK. ROOM B301

I thoroughly recommend the Coral Mist and would visit again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kc6648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by Tanya on the desk who was very helpful unfortunately the 1st night they gave us the wrong room so we were separated for 1 night & then put in to a larger room the 2nd night (which we had to pay for) the location is great! Right next to the gap which has loads of great restaurants & bars & a 2 min walk from Accra beach & the little shopping centres! 1 bad point which others have mentioned is that they only have about 5 parasols for the whole hotel so we had to get up about 7.30 every morning to get 1! The only bad thing I would say is a couple of the reception staff told us that on the day of leaving if there was a spare room we could use that to shower later on as our flight wasn't until 8.40pm but then on the day said this wasn't the case & we'd have to pay for a late check out. Obviously they want the money for you staying later which I understand but they shouldn't have given us wrong information to begin with! Overall the hotel is a good standard compared to many others in a great location with it's own part of the beach! (Just make sure your up early!)

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Saah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We picked this based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Arrived after a delayed flight in the early evening which was a shame as wanted my wife to see the views from the balcony. We were greeted by a cheerful young lady who promptly checked us in and advised that they had given us a room based on our request. I had asked not to be on the ground floor and to avoid rooms 201,301 & 401 which reviews had previously advised to avoid. Our room was 209 ( studio ), which was on the 1st floor to the left of the hotel. We had to leave our credit card details in case of any damage or items being charged to the room. We were also offered complementary use of a safe located behind reception, but had to agree to a $145 US payment if we lost the key, as they only had one key and would have to get a lock smith to drill out the locks. This was perfectly understandable. We made our way to the first floor via the lift. We opened the door and was instantly met with the sound of the ocean from the balcony.. FAB !!! . The room had everything you could want including a full size fridge/freezer, Microwave, Kettle, Toaster, Coffee Maker, Air Dryer, Iron, TV, Air Con, Free WiFi etc. There was ample storage and the shower although basic was clean and large. The room was very warm, but soon cooled down when the air conditioning was activated by the room key which was placed in a slot by the door.

After a good night’s sleep we set the alarm for 0630hrs the following morning to see what was happening regarding the hotels Sun Lounger’s on the beach, as from experience it can be a nightmare. The view from the balcony was fabulous with white sand and an aqua blue two tone sea.
The beach was deserted and nothing much happing till 0700hrs when the hotels beach attendant arrived and started to layout the loungers and parasols on the beach. I went down and claimed two of these. The hotel loungers are the only ones on the beach within the vicinity of the hotel, and there seemed to be plenty to go around , although there were limited parasols available hence the need to go down early to ensure we got one.

The hotel as a sister hotel the Blue Orchid which effectively feels part of the same hotel. They have separate pools but nobody apart from children used them, as the beach was the place to be. They both shared a small restaurant which we found to be good. Not the cheapest around but good food and excellent service. We had breakfast and lunch and although the menu was not extensive we did enjoy the food.

The beach was great but the sea could get a little rough at times although I personally enjoyed it that way. If you like it calmer then a 5 min walk round to Acurra beach or a 15min walk down the beach to St Lawrence where there was a lovely lagoon with shallow waters.

Eating out was not an issue with a number of restaurants within easy walking distance. Nearest is Mojos just over the road which can get busy but we managed to drop in one night and have a great 8oz burger. Bert’s is just down the road and although the food was good the service seemed to be slow. The next closest was the Tiki bar which was on the beach and served excellent cocktails and decent food with service that was superb ( Our favourite ). Heading in the oppsite direction was the Horseshoe, this looked good and we have a great rum punch but never had a meal there. Further in the same direction about a 15mins walk is SLG ( St Lawence Gap ). This is effectively a strip of around 400m lined with decent restaurants and one night club. We had some good meals here although can be a little pricy.
Getting about is so easy. You can ask the hotel to arrange a taxi, although these can be expensive ( $20 barbados ) to SLG which is about £6. Got a taxi back off the street and it cost me the same, so hotel rates looked correct. The best way to get around is to use public transport either the Blue buses or the “Reggie” buses that constantly drive up and down the main road in front of the hotel. They both charge $2 Barbados as a flat fee for any length of journey. The blue buses are full size ones which run every 30mins and you can get one to Bridgetown or Ostins from right outside the hotel. The Reggie buses are mini buses that run every few minutes and will effectively hunt you down. They will sound their horns on approach to see if you want a ride. Be prepared for a tight squeeze as they do pack as many as they can in, but is quite fun and really efficient way of getting around.

The hotel staff are great…. One day we were on the beach and it began to rain, so we placed our towels under the parasol and decided to go to a local bar for lunch. While we were away the rain got much worse and when we returned our towels had gone missing. I later found out the staff had removed them because they were soaking. They had washed and ironed them and we got them back an hour later… nice touch!!.
The hotel also provides their own beach towels free of charge so no need to use your own if don’t wish too. We used both so that we could tell wish was our lounger as all the hotels towels are green.

On checking out we were offered a free extension to 1pm which was great as allowed us to hit the beach and get ready in the room before checking out and hitting the Tiki bar for lunch and some last few cocktails before before going home.

On the whole this is a wonderful hotel with a great location and would highly recommend it. The rooms are great and beach is superb, but the best part is the staff which are simply fantastic !!!

Room Tip: Room 209 or 210 have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lawtonw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable holiday at Coral Mist.
The hotel is in a great position - right on the beach & all the staff are friendly & helpful.
Bert,s bar & Mojos are 100 yards away & 2 supermarkets are within a 10 minute walk -
- so you can stock up with Banks beer !
Hoping to return next year !

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yippyWelwyGardenCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
0.3 mi away
Coral Sands Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
Blue Orchids Beach Hotel
#23 of 51 in Christ Church Parish
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dover
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Mist Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Mist Beach Hotel

Address: 7 Highway, Worthing, Barbados (Formerly Blythwood Beach Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range: £75 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Mist Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Mist Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Mist Beach
Coral Mist Hotel Barbados
Coral Mist Beach Christ Church
Coral Mist Beach Hotel Barbados/Worthing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing