We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Part of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel San Nicola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Nicola
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altamura
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Part of Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We were part of a walking group. This hotel is spotlessly clean and in a lovely corner of the Centro storico. The staff are lovely - my only gripe is it lacks a proper bar area to just sit and socialise. They didn't mind you sitting in the breakfast room but it's not the same!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    63
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
42
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Took awhile to find this hotel but once we did we couldn't fault it. Right in the centre of the town you are surrounded by all the places of interest and restaurants. Rooms were very spacious and clean.
Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.
Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0sie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean hotel in a fantastic location in the old part of the city.The breakfast was good and the staff friendly and helpful! Would recommend it to anyone who visits Altamura . The bedrooms were modern ,spacious and comfortable!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgique
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is central to the quiet interesting historical centre of altamura. It is renewed palazzo from the middle age . Charming room and warm peoples. There is only one negative feedback : parking is not near the hotel +/~ 200 m .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luigiBelgique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This turned out to be a fine hotel, but it was EXTREMELY difficult to find. It's inside the old walled city among a maze of narrow streets, and the signs leading to it are not helpful at all. Once you get there, however, the hotel is fine. It's an old hotel that has been remodeled. Most of the modern amenities are there. Altamura is a relatively tough place if you don't speak Italiano because the English skills of most in the town are quite limited. It's a bit off the beaten track for tourists, which explains that. If you go to Altamura, though, the location is tough to beat. All the major sites to see there are within easy walking distance.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The rooms are much nicer than the photographs posted on the booking websites.

Small hotel but my room and bathroom were spacious, staff were kind and attentive. Didn't like the buffet breakfast....same thing every morning but then again at Euro65.00 per night I guess I shouldn't complain.

In the center of town, attractions and restaurants.

Room Tip: We went to Bari for a friends wedding. Some guests were booked into tiny rooms....I didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoyaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altamura
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fuori Le Mura
Hotel Fuori Le Mura
#3 of 5 in Altamura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Svevia
Hotel Svevia
#4 of 5 in Altamura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Saurus Hotel
#5 of 5 in Altamura
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
La Camera Ducale
La Camera Ducale
#1 of 5 in Gravina in Puglia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
4.3 mi away
I Luoghi di Pitti
I Luoghi di Pitti
#1 of 5 in Altamura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Nicola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Nicola

Property: Hotel San Nicola
Address: Via Luca de Samuele Cagnazzi 29, 70022 Altamura, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Altamura
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Altamura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Nicola 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the old town of Altamura in the greek area called " claustrum greco" the structure has a total of 24 rooms divided in standard, junior suite and 1 apartment plus a 3-4 bedrooms economy room. The structure has been realized by restoring one of the oldest palace in town and dated 1741. How to reach our hotel: once in Altamura put on your GPS the adress "via castello", then just follow the black and yellow panels along the streets reporting our name.Once in front of the hotel we'll take care of your car for free.Please do not put the adress via Cagnazzi in the gps cause the area was not reported well by google ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Nicola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing