We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tranquil setting”
Review of Mas St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Ille-sur-Tet B&B and Inns
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful tranquil setting”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the beautiful and tranquil Mas St Joseph, a stunning setting surrounded by peach trees, mountains and farm land. Kate and Adrian, my hosts, provided delicious meals, warmth and they made me feel so welcome and relaxed. They even provided an exquisite Japanese meal on arrival, as I had been travelling all day, light and delicious. They manage to embrace the authentic French lifestyle with familiarity and comfort, nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely return, as there is still so much more to see and to experience. Conversation in their home is always stimulating and there are many more beautiful walks and cycling tracks to explore through the wonderful mountains. The rooms are spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in; even the linen is sumptuous! The pool offers peace and time out to read, swim and enjoy a cold glass of wine. Downstairs, the decor is inviting and beautiful. Wood burning stoves in two rooms, and local brocante for perusing and perfect as a gift to take home, if you so wish. A beautiful character house full of interest and lovely people too.

Room Tip: All rooms offer peace and are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Kate and Adrian, assisted by Sonico Adrian's lovely mother have set up an idyllic retreat.

Surrounded by peach and nectarine orchards, St Joseph is a cool stone house with great character, old beams, stone walls and patios. It is a home to them, sharing it is a main part in its attraction. If you wish only to enjoy your own company and the clean plastic trappings of a modern hotel this would probably not suit.
Light breakfasts with local fruits, some from the hedgerows, a bakery in Ille Sur Tete provides breads fresh ever morning, good coffee and teas are in plentiful supply.

Supper en famille is an added bonus and very good value, whilst Kate ( an experienced chef) can always conjure up something, it would be useful for them if you did request in advance.

Summer 2013 has been their first season, a successful one too. We understand that this autumn they will close for a few weeks and have all bedrooms fitted with en suite showers and toilets. This will be a bonus and not detract from the rustic feel of an old French property.

Other guests staying at he same time as us had a fantastic nights sleep they had slept in 7 other hotels and logis on a cycling tour with little sleep. Beds are just the correct firmness for the majority of tastes, linens are soft and beautifully clean thanks to Kate, dry thanks to Adrian and pressed to perfection by Soniko.

Nothing is too much trouble, advice on shopping, antiques fairs, cycling, fly fishing, walking, the best beaches (30 minutes) best mountain (30 mins) are all at Adrian's fingertips through local knowledge or ("google!)

We would certainly return, thank you all for your hospitality service and attention to detail.

N+S September 2013
Stayed 8 nights with 5 suppers!

Room Tip: Advise if you require supper esp. on night of arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nn1Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast run by Adrian and Kate. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and there is a pool you can relax by, but what makes the stay so special is the chance to eat with the hosts and other guests in the evening. Kate and Adrian make lovely evening meals with a local feel to the cooking and, while we were there, we had some fascinating conversations with couples and families passing through, all presided over by our hosts.

The Mas is an easy cycle ride from the town and local river and hills (bikes available from the hosts) and within easy driving distance of Perpignan, many lovely beaches and, of course, les Pyrenees.

This was a fantastic way to relax. All in all we enjoyed letting go and enjoying our time. A therapy not found in many places these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed for three nights at Adrian and Kate's lovely bed and breakfast home, Mas St Joseph. Our room was tops - large and very comfortable, with lots of personal touches, such as great prints and artwork. There was an adjoining sitting room with TV, books etc. so unlike a hotel room, there was a sense of relaxing and relaxed space, and WiFi was easily accessible. In other words, it was great to return to this ambience after our hectic days sightseeing.

We rented a car, and spent our days driving around to wonderful places such as Le Castellet, a mediaeval hilltop village, Ceret, an interesting town with a good modern art museum and Villefranche, a cute but touristy village with winding streets. A couple of Romanesque churches (around 10th-11th century) are also within driving distance for day excursions.

What made our stay special, though, was the warmth and hospitality of our hosts, who couldn't have been more helpful, giving information on sights worth visiting and the local culture, recommending places to eat, and just generally making us feel so welcome. We loved it.
Tip: you need a car to enjoy the area, as sights and sites are scattered and hilly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwennieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My son and I spent two nights with Adrian and Kate at their chambre d'hote in Ille-sur-Tete. Adrian is an old friend and a wonderful host. We sat in the courtyard next to the swimming pool, eating great food prepared by Kate and Adrian, as Adrian freely shared stories of his experiences of years spent filming and working with Indigenous peoples in Africa and Australia. We explored many of the superb sights and sites of the Ille-sur-Tete area during the day and came back to the warm, hospitable and comfortable inn at night. It was a really great stop on our way down to Barcelona.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Mas St. Joseph retains the tranquility of its monastic past but with contemporary comfort and delicious food, plus the warmth and friendliness of a family atmosphere. Its position in the Tet valley between mountains and sea, makes it an excellent centre from which to explore the small villages of the Pyrenees and the Mediterranean coast - and Barcelona is not far away. You can walk into town through the peach orchards, or you can just stay put and relax, read, write or gaze up at Mount Canigou. The place is a little treasure and I loved being there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I recently stayed three nights at this charming bed and breakfast, though strictly it was more than that as I had the most delicious suppers too, Kates Onion Tart is a must! As is the fresh fruit salad for breakfast. The house has wonderful views to the mountains from 2 of the guest rooms and the 3rd looks out over the courtyard and pool. Sadly the pool was a little chilly for me but will be perfect in the summer months. There is an air restfulness about the house as soon as you walk over the threshold, and the gorgeous pups will be there to greet you. I strolled through the peach orchards to the pretty town of Ille sur Tet and sat in the square drinking delicious hot chocolate. All in all a very relaxing few days away.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Suelington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ille-sur-Tet
4.9 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
92 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
11.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Perpignan St Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Les Buis
Les Buis
#1 of 2 in Ille-sur-Tet
92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Domaine La Fauvelle
Domaine La Fauvelle
#1 of 5 in Thuir
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas St. Joseph

Property: Mas St. Joseph
Address: Mas Saint Joseph 82 route de Corbere, 66130 Ille-sur-Tet, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ille-sur-Tet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ille-sur-Tet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three guest rooms catering for individuals, couples or families. Each room has a unique character with large, comfortable beds (twin/double/triple) plus bunk beds in our family room) and carefully selected furnishings. Wi-fi is available throughout the property. We are happy to provide delicious home-cooked evening meals from locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mas St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing