We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable days in Mas Saint Joseph”
Review of Mas St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas St. Joseph
Ranked #1 of 2 Ille-sur-Tet B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable days in Mas Saint Joseph”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our stay at Mas Saint Joseph was fantastic. It is located just outside Ille-sur-Tet, and it is a great location to explore the whole region of Roussillon and the Conflent. Adrian helped us with many tips to make the most out of our stay. He also borrowed us a map. He was very attentive and kind all the time.

We spent three nights at the chambre d'Abbé, and we found it very comfortable. The bathroom is small but very functional, clean and modern. We had clean towels and two water bottles every day. The TV and the wi-fi worked fine. The decoration of the room and the whole house is very nice and with a great taste.

The breakfast was excellent and varied: peeled and cut fresh fruit, yoghourt, pastries, (fantastic) marmalades, bread, cereals, etc. It was served in a wonderful terrace (you can even see the tip of mount Canigou, a symbol for the Catalan). We also had one evening meal to celebrate my wife's birthday and Adrian and Kate made it unforgettable. It couldn't have been better! We are very thankful!

We visited many places from the Mas (easily to reach with the car): the Priory de Serrabonne (magnificent Romanesque cloister), Eus and Castellnou (two of the most beautiful villages of France), Villefranche de Conflent, Corbère (with its flea market or vide granier). On our second day we visited the coast side: Banyuls (excellent sweet wines and clean beaches), Collioure (precious ville). Finally, we visited Perpignan. We totally recommend to visit its city center. It's a beautiful city. And we still missed lots of other worth visiting spots.

so we will definately come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
24
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is the first time we've ever written a review on tripadvisor, but felt compelled to do so here. We've just spent 3 nights at Mas St. Joseph and could not have received a warmer welcome from Adrian and Kate. Rooms are delightful, and breakfast/dinner were excellent! Not only is Mas St. Joseph in a beautiful setting (the peach blossom at this time of the year is so pretty!), but it is perfectly situated for exploring the whole area with ease, and enthusiastic advice on where to go and what to see was plentiful! Thank you Adrian and Kate - we will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac_and_Trish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I spent four nights in the stunning Mas St Joseph and was lucky to enjoy gloriously sunny weather which allowed me to explore the local countryside and places of interest close by and also enjoy sitting outside on Kate and Adrian’s spacious patio, overlooking the swimming pool. The warm and generous welcome by my hosts, Kate and Adrian, and their hospitality shown throughout my stay was second to none. Monty and Juno, the resident puppies, are gorgeous, funny and friendly and enjoy sharing their home with guests.

I enjoyed fabulous meals cooked from local produce by both Kate and Adrian, whilst enjoying excellent conversation and nothing was too much trouble. They both helped me to plan my sightseeing , making some excellent suggestions ensuring that my stay would be memorable.

The Mas is simply and comfortably furnished, in keeping with its history. My bedroom, The Abbot’s Room, overlooks the stunning scenery and due to the most comfortable bed and superior bed linen I have never slept so well.

It is a fabulous location; an easy walk to the town; car drive to local beaches or exploring the hills. The area is fantastic for walking and cycling.

I will definitely return – it is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It was my first trip to this area and Kate and Adrian made my five nights there very special indeed. They were warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They have a great love for the house and the area and are pleased to share it which made me feel at home and not at all like a stranger. Conversation was easy and interesting, meals were superb, the rooms elegantly simple and very comfortable.

I dont know how they manage it all in truth as they get a huge amount done but never seem flustered or pressed for time and are always happy to talk, or pour over maps, or advise on the best places to visit and things to do, whilst seamlessly producing gorgeous meals, topping up drinks, and keeping the house spotless and beautifully presented.

Wonderfully located near sea, mountains, castles, and special places of interest I can only agree with all the other reviews... really excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed for 4 nights at the beautiful and tranquil Mas St Joseph, a stunning setting surrounded by peach trees, mountains and farm land. Kate and Adrian, my hosts, provided delicious meals, warmth and they made me feel so welcome and relaxed. They even provided an exquisite Japanese meal on arrival, as I had been travelling all day, light and delicious. They manage to embrace the authentic French lifestyle with familiarity and comfort, nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely return, as there is still so much more to see and to experience. Conversation in their home is always stimulating and there are many more beautiful walks and cycling tracks to explore through the wonderful mountains. The rooms are spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in; even the linen is sumptuous! The pool offers peace and time out to read, swim and enjoy a cold glass of wine. Downstairs, the decor is inviting and beautiful. Wood burning stoves in two rooms, and local brocante for perusing and perfect as a gift to take home, if you so wish. A beautiful character house full of interest and lovely people too.

Room Tip: All rooms offer peace and are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Kate and Adrian, assisted by Sonico Adrian's lovely mother have set up an idyllic retreat.

Surrounded by peach and nectarine orchards, St Joseph is a cool stone house with great character, old beams, stone walls and patios. It is a home to them, sharing it is a main part in its attraction. If you wish only to enjoy your own company and the clean plastic trappings of a modern hotel this would probably not suit.
Light breakfasts with local fruits, some from the hedgerows, a bakery in Ille Sur Tete provides breads fresh ever morning, good coffee and teas are in plentiful supply.

Supper en famille is an added bonus and very good value, whilst Kate ( an experienced chef) can always conjure up something, it would be useful for them if you did request in advance.

Summer 2013 has been their first season, a successful one too. We understand that this autumn they will close for a few weeks and have all bedrooms fitted with en suite showers and toilets. This will be a bonus and not detract from the rustic feel of an old French property.

Other guests staying at he same time as us had a fantastic nights sleep they had slept in 7 other hotels and logis on a cycling tour with little sleep. Beds are just the correct firmness for the majority of tastes, linens are soft and beautifully clean thanks to Kate, dry thanks to Adrian and pressed to perfection by Soniko.

Nothing is too much trouble, advice on shopping, antiques fairs, cycling, fly fishing, walking, the best beaches (30 minutes) best mountain (30 mins) are all at Adrian's fingertips through local knowledge or ("google!)

We would certainly return, thank you all for your hospitality service and attention to detail.

N+S September 2013
Stayed 8 nights with 5 suppers!

Room Tip: Advise if you require supper esp. on night of arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nn1Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a beautiful bed and breakfast run by Adrian and Kate. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and there is a pool you can relax by, but what makes the stay so special is the chance to eat with the hosts and other guests in the evening. Kate and Adrian make lovely evening meals with a local feel to the cooking and, while we were there, we had some fascinating conversations with couples and families passing through, all presided over by our hosts.

The Mas is an easy cycle ride from the town and local river and hills (bikes available from the hosts) and within easy driving distance of Perpignan, many lovely beaches and, of course, les Pyrenees.

This was a fantastic way to relax. All in all we enjoyed letting go and enjoying our time. A therapy not found in many places these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ille-sur-Tet
4.9 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
96 reviews
12.6 mi away
Le Grand Hotel
Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
143 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riberach Hotel Cave-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Chateau De Riell
Chateau De Riell
#1 of 2 in Molitg-les-Bains
247 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 2 in Prades
44 reviews
11.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Perpignan St Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas St. Joseph

Property: Mas St. Joseph
Address: Mas Saint Joseph 82 route de Corbere, 66130 Ille-sur-Tet, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Ille-sur-Tet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ille-sur-Tet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have three guest rooms catering for individuals, couples or families. Each room has a unique character with large, comfortable beds (twin/double/triple) plus bunk beds in our family room) and carefully selected furnishings. Wi-fi is available throughout the property. We are happy to provide delicious home-cooked evening meals from locally sourced ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mas St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing