We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, lacking some hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place, lacking some hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just spent 2 weeks Summer vacation here. Overall we were very happy, and look back at it very positively. The location is great: quiet on a hill top, good accommodation, nice interior design, great views on the surrounding vineyards. We also enjoyed the pool a lot, it's quite big, and we always found enough sunbeds to be available. Other things we enjoyed were the pizza night which was organised during weekends, the breakfast & lunch buffets, the garden next to our apartment with its BBQ, and the dinner at the restaurant.

On the negative side I can mention 2 things: 1. we stayed in an old (beautifully restored) house, split into several apartments. Even though it was nicely done, it can be noisy as sometimes there's only a door separating you from the neighbours. As we have young kids ourselves we don't mind the occasional noise, but for other people this could be an issue. 2. As mentioned in other posts, I think improvements can be made on hospitality and friendliness. Part of the charm of an agriturismo for me is that it's small scale, and that you can meet and talk to the local people for a chat of for advise. I missed this part of it. The manager was around sometimes, but did not pay much attention to us (a simple 'good morning', 'how are you', 'do you have any plans for the day?', could be enough already). And I also had the feeling that some people/groups were getting more attention than others. Plus some staff indeed could work on their friendliness, even though it was maybe more related to local style of interaction instead of bad intentions.

Overall though, I still think it's a great place, and I can recommend to give it a try.

Room Tip: For families I recommend to take an apartment. We had the Laurino apartment in the Casa Nova buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrusselsBassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    44
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
73
77
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed as a family of 5 for 1 week after visiting Rome and Siena tow weeks ago. Overall we enjoyed it but there was room for improvment. like the previous review I agree Claudia was wonderful as was one of the waitress in the main restuarant, but some of the other staff really had no interest in their guests at all. My daughter, granddaughter and myself did the cookery course which had been recommended by friends who stayed earlier this year. Our experience was not as we hoped, althhough we got to chop some vegatables and stuff a courgette most of the other work was done by the chef. We had expected our lunch at a proper table and were initially told it would be with wines paired with the different courses. In fact the plastic table cloth we had prepared lunch on was wiped down and a piece of paper set as our placemat, only water was availalable. At 65 euro's each a bit pricey after expressing our disappointment we were given a 15 euro refund. The pool was very good but short of chairs and sunshades and the only lunch was a set buffet ( a choice of rolls or salad would have been nice). We also found the main restuarant rather soulless in the evening, beautiful views but very quiet and only a few people eating. We did enjoy our stay in spite of the above but these problems could easily be put right for the future, we felt maybe they were short of staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travebug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We absolutely loved the stunning scenery around Fattoria Lavacchio and the accomodation was great - rustic but comfortable, and a large pool area which the children loved. The wine tasting and tour of the cellars etc was worth doing, the guide was very knowledgeable and made it enjoyable (2 hrs). Breakfast was good, but some of the food tended to run out by 9.30.

We found a couple of really simple, but fantastic little restaurants in the mountains of Pontessieve for dinner (eg restaurant Artemide)- excellent, traditional Tuscan food. The Fattoria lavacchio restaurant also had very good food, with great views from the terrace. However, it was a little soulless on the two occasions we ate there, and a couple of the waitresses were not particularly helpful.

Some of the members of staff were very nice and helpful. Eg Claudia. Unfortunately, we found Valentina to be particularly unhelpful, surly and unfriendly. We were made to feel as if we were an annoyance to her, as every query was treated with disdain and irritation. The young lady working at the poolside bar area was equally rude- we never saw her smile once. On one occasion she reprimanded my 8yr old son in Italian for kicking a plastic ball on the terrace where the tables were set up for lunch- he was quite embarrassed and she did this right in front of me- she did not apologise.

Overall, stunning scenery and location, let down by a lack of a feeling of warmth- we did not feel particularly welcome, unlike the other agriturismo s we stayed in during our stay. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeloLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place is a real piece of heaven on earth. The accommodation was fantastic, rooms and guest house have a great feel about them and the staff were fantastic, especially Valentina and Claudia. The chef prepared the most beautiful breakfasts each morning and a wonderful dinner upon our arrival, I can not remember her name but I can still taste the delicious flavours of her cooking....I think it was Antonella. My only regret is that our family of 5 could not stay longer, 3 nights was not enough. We had a great room facing the pool which was just being prepared for summer as we were departing. With the region to explore the only use for the pool maybe at the end of a hot day. I can not wait to return. Thank you all from Charles.

Room Tip: Book any activities you want in advance, such as wine tasting or horse riding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were given an excellent tour of the property and a history of its establishment.

We were treated with tastings of an excellent Traminer wine with grapes subject to noble rot. We also sampled a first class Chianti Rufina.

I would advise anyone visiting the Fattoria to take in the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Did not stay, this was a day visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzare-tigre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife, 3 daughters, 3 sons-in-law and I had the privilege of staying at Fattoria Lavacchio for 4 days in late October and enjoyed it immensely. Faye and the staff were wonderful, the rooms and accommodations superb, the views and grounds breathtaking and the food and service top notch. Our guided tour of the winery, led by sommelier in training Sean Saunders, a native upstate New Yorker, was most informative and humorous. Sean was a great guide throughout our stay, and his wine insights were superlative. The highlight of the visit for me was the cooking class that Mirco, the sous chef, held in Faye's own home kitchen and dining room since the restaurant kitchen was under repair that day. Faye was gracious enough to open her home to us, complete with her own linen and china, for our own use for an afternoon of delightful cooking and dining. All in all, the highlight of our tour and vacation in Italy was our stay at Fattoria Lavacchio. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Tuscany. We hope to see Sean again upon his return to our area of NY, and would love to see Faye again should she ever visit the Albany area.

The Aveni family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJAAlbany_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I had an opportunity to stay at the Fattoria Lavacchio and first of all would like to express my compliments to the owners - Faye and Dimitry! They are wonderful people who create beauty around, care for guests and enjoy this life! Fattoria Lavacchio occupy quite a big territory and has beautiful and stategic position. Its a perfect place for families, friends and couples who is looking for tranquility and harmony but at the same time want to visit Tuscany region, taste a good food and wine, ride a horse ecc. I`d like underline that Fattoria is a biological farm which has interesting master-classes - cooking, ceramic, herbalist; a lot of activities for childrens and their parents!!!! Don`t miss opportunity to visit this place, i`m sure it`ll surpass all your expectations!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ane4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontassieve
1.9 mi away
Relais Pian d'Ercole
Relais Pian d'Ercole
#1 of 1 in Montebonello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
7.8 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze
Villa Olmi Firenze
#1 of 4 in Bagno a Ripoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Podere il Poggiolo
4.1 mi away
Agriturismo Petrognano
Agriturismo Petrognano
#75 of 295 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
2.4 mi away
Podere Vignola
Podere Vignola
#8 of 21 in Pontassieve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio

Property: Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio
Address: Via Di Grignano 38 | Monterifrassine, 50065, Pontassieve, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pontassieve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Pontassieve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fattoria Lavacchio is an ancient Organic Tuscan farm of the 16th century situated between the towns of Sieci and Pontassieve on the top of the "Montefiesole" hill (450 m), only 18Km distant from Florence. The Lavacchio Farm holiday resort is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, between incomparable landscapes and testifies the ancient presence of simple but great men, with fine taste. The landscape surrounding Casabella is well preserved and the ancient rural tradition has modernized itself in a moderate way. The farm has been completely redecorated and furnished with great care in order to ensure the most unforgettable and comfortable stay to our guests, it jhas been certified ecologic. With all its varied facilities, the Lavacchio farm holiday resort offers different vacation possibilities: either in comfortable rooms or suites with private bathroom or in independent fully equipped apartments, or in an independent villa with private pool and garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Fattoria Lavacchio Pontassieve, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing