We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Visir Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel excellent staff”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in May 2014 in suite 108. The room was amazing with hot tub out on the large terrace. The decor and general appearance of the hotel was outstanding! As soon as we arrived we felt relaxed and at home. We had 2 dinners there at the restaurant which was excellent! I had swordfish at 2 other recommend restaurants there but this one was perfect!!! Another night we were invited to try a tasting menu at Visir, and wow we had never eaten so many excellent courses one after the other. Also served with excellent wine as the Visir as it has it's own wine choosing/tasting section, we always choose the most local grape, and it was Devine. Our favourite was the Nero grape. The staff were very attentive and caring. Diana was so lovely and sweet she could not do enough for you. Giuseppe was vibrant, energetic and you could tell that he really cared about his job. The the first time I met Giuseppe he was lighting the candles downstairs in the very luxurious restaurant, I needed a ice bucket and 2 seconds later there it was along with an invitation for 2 cocktails for myself and my beautiful Joanna. Overall the staff would do anything to make you comfortable. For example I was bathing by the pool, and a member of staff appeared and brought me a towel, so nice! The owner was so hospitable and made us feel so comfortable, welcome and special we were truly amazed. We could not fault this hotel it was totally fabulous! We believe this hotel is the best and most luxurious in not only Mazara but the surrounding area and is the perfect base for exploring with a car. Just down the road is a large authentic pizzeria which is a favourite of the locals. On a Friday night it was packed full, with lovely pizza which cost 5 euro! And tasted lovely. It was a 6 min drive to the centre of Mazara and once we arrived we experienced many extremely good nights with lovely classy cool bars offering free entrees when we purchased our wine. I'm always surprised by this in Italy although it is the norm, they are top quality!!! We never get this in England, free freshly cooked food or nibbles free with wine.

When ever we arrived back to Visir, we were always treated very very well. the reception staff were very professional and always catered for all our needs. Once the hot tub water level had dropped because I had played with the buttons that shouldn't be normally turned to see what would happen ( wine was involved lol ), I informed staff and when we came back it was fully operational at an ideal temperature.

We found found The Visir very peaceful, a lot nicer than any hotel we have stayed at in Italy and we have been numerous times visiting normally in the north of Italy.

Grazie grazie mille per nostro soggiorno! This was just the holiday that we needed and was a total treat at Visir! This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, seriously!

Grazie
Alvin and Joanna

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chipmunkryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    167
    66
    22
    27
See reviews for
67
372
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I brought my pregnant wife on a trip to Sicily to try to unwind and enjoy things a bit before our new arrival. Don't buy into Visir marketing. This place is terrible and to be avoided. The outer venere is slick enough (although its still very poorly located in an unimpressive area). The room given us was anything but spectacular with very poor maintenance. It had bleached stains on the carpets, a slow water saturation leak above (soggy to the touch) the bed causing paint chips to fall on the bed....the fire alarm is visibly disconnected and not functioning and the room is below ground and the air conditioner does not work (despite our pleas to have something done so that my wife could have a pleasant night, nothing...) this has been bad for us...we got little sleep. Everything is wrong here. Even the gym doesn't open until 10am....the bottom line is that Visir, despite all its attempts to sell itself that way, is not luxury, it's not even close...I'd put it at below average but even below average hotels tend to know how to maintain their hotel rooms. Take my advice and avoid this hotel and move along...you'd thank me later if you could.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's a beautiful place to relax and the service is excellent! Giuseppe the poolbarkeeper mixes really nice drinks. And the food, breakfast, lunch and dinner are recommendable! The resort is well-located for daytrips to Selinunte, Erice, Marsala,
Trapani and of course Mazara del Vallo!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The rooms are very nice indeed with great facilities, and are kept very clean. The safe in the room was very useful and the view over a vinyard (I think that's what is was anyway) made it feel very Sicilian. The pool area was lovely, the pool itself was lovely, we thought it looked murky on the pics but in reality it is stunning. The swiming pool has dark tiles on the bottom which is why it looks dark. The atmosphere round the pool is very relaxing and the staff were welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. I have to mention Giuseppe here as he is a great character very amusing and always there to serve you. He makes an excellent Aperol Spritz! The only problem with the pool area we found was the music late at night was sometimes very loud and pretty rubbish too (Gangnam Style and euro pop etc). I think someone complained though as it was turned down quickly. The restaurant was good too although a bit on the pricey side as were the drinks. This was a shame as if they were a bit cheaper we would have spent more time and money there! The breakfast was excellent, great coffee (as you would expect in Sicily) nice bread, ham salami, fruit and the cakes were delicious! The girls who worked on reception were lovely, really helpful and spoke the best English too. The hotel provided a taxi service down to the town 10euros each way which is cheaper than a taxi. The beach is a 12 minute walk and there is a supermarket within walkinfpg distance too. Our overall stay was excellent and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we stayed there 5 night's, the hotel was superbusy at this time, the pool was really nice - but they played always (the same) super loud music the whole day at the pool!
the bartender was excellent and the food was good,
from my point of view the maintenance in the house felt like a 2star hotel.
--- the whole structure including the spa feels like that they have to spend much more time in cleaning (for a 4 star)- and not just selling drinks at the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernd p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent hotel, friendly and attentive staff, especially Giuseppe the bartender and his excellent cocktails.

Rooms are very clean, decorated tastefully and we had a hot tub in ours. Airport transfer to Trapini is extra but is much cheaper than a taxi at the airport,

We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikulov, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have to add excellent rating to this hotel. Everything was perfect (room, pool , spa, personal atitude, transport to the beach), but I want to highlight amazing cuisine. Every evening we had three-course dinner. Lot of fish, pasta, eggplant, ...
Roman a Jana Jelinek, Mikulov, Czech Republic

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazara del Vallo
2.7 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
539 reviews
37.7 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,740 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
63.2 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
2.0 mi away
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visir Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visir Resort and Spa

Property: Visir Resort and Spa
Address: Via del Mare 211 | angolo via Lubiana, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Visir Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Visir Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visir Resort And Spa Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing