We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy!”
Review of Alla Kasbah

Alla Kasbah
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant , fre-wifi
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A little restaurant hidden in between the small streets of Mazara del Vallo. Generally praised for the sea food couscous, but also the other dishes are super tasty.
The owner is very friendly and helped us choosing depending our preferences.

Even though the place us supposed to be open for lunch and dinner only, it seems to be open all day long. If you want a couscous (and you should want one) then you will have to wait for a while so they can prepare it for you. Do not hesitate to choose any of the appetisers that they will suggest you take.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaensebluemchen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    184
    66
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cous cous celebration”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A hidden gem down one of the side streets in Mazaro, the Alla Kasbah was for us a cous cous celebration - all four of us had it, with vegetables or with lamb - and none of us were disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Ambience”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

In the streets of the Kasbah district in Mazara del Vallo, this restaurant proposes good and well prepared food, fresh fish and very nice atmosphere. Mazara is nice because is still a bit wild, not that turistic and for that reason allow everyone to perceive the real sicilian feelings, and the food is, of course, a fundamental part of them. Here you cannot find always the same dishes, the fish depends on the daily fishing and the dishes are conform to that. The cous cous is very nice and the ancient "Bacio with ricotta" something to taste once in the life. The fish always fresh. The spaghetti with ink of squid... deliciuos (I really love that dish). Don't wait for complex courses, the italian recipes are simple and made with fresh ingredients, that's the secret of a that wonderful cusine by my point of view. Simple cusine, real taste. I am sure is a restaurant to try in Mazara del Vallo. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taeniasolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great eatery in a great town”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We initially only visited Mazara to have a look at the fishery but discovered it to be a jewel of a town. We visited Erice on the same trip, a beautiful mountain top village smothered to death by tourism. Mazara is no less beautiful in my view and is very much a real place. Wandering around its beautiful piazzas and tight stone passageways was a relaxing and enriching delight, the Tunisian fishing fleet that occupies the port and river gives colour and life and the seafront will be great once the upgrading of the beach are complete.
Set down one of the little roads in the maze of alleys in the old town is Alla Kasbah, a restaurant giving full expression to the Arab influence on Sicilian cuisine.
Our Sicilian antipasti was a joy - little spiced sardines, melting octopus, intense ratatouille and crispy, soft chickpea fritters featured in what was a really exciting plate of food.
Fish cous-cous seems to be a favourite in these parts. This was by far and away the best we tried over the course of a week and a bit. Already rich in flavour and of perfect texture, the cous-cous came with a rich seafood jus to be poured into it and chilli flakes to zest it up even more. The fish, ray and scorpion fish, were so much better than the flakes of bass and prawns that we had in other versions - all in all this was a brilliant dish.
Kate had a crab pasta dish featuring the local pasta, rich in crab flavour and served with the bisected main body of the crab for those with the patience to pick through it.
And then pudding. In some ways this was the highlight in that neither of us are fans of pudding. We shared a local pastry, the pastry as thin, crispy and light as can be imagined, the ricotta filling oozing and delicious. This wonderful thing caused us to try other versions during our holiday - in the same way as the cous-cous all others offered nothing but disappointment.

Mazara has become our favourite place in Italy (not that we're that widely travelled in Italy in all fairness) and if you're lucky enough to get here make sure you make time for dinner at Alla Kasbah!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Allakazaam!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, cous cous was perfect, fish soft, tender and full of flavour. Polite friendly staff, clean toilets, nice seating outside. Simply a lovely meal and fairly priced. Will go back again. Thanks for a good experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alla Kasbah also viewed

Mazara del Vallo, Province of Trapani
Mazara del Vallo, Province of Trapani
 
Mazara del Vallo, Province of Trapani
 

Been to Alla Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing