We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay.(please feed the little dog if you go)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Giardino di Costanza Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Loved this hotel and was pleasantly surprised when we arrived as was better than had expected.
It is definitely 5 star in quality for the most part. Our room was just beautiful overlooking the pool area with a small bala only but the decor was just my thing. Large spacious rooms, separate hallway with closet area and large bathroom. All tastefully and classically decorated even though furnishing were reproduction antiques, the quality was very good.
The wifi was free, contrary to what I had read in tripadvisor so maybe that's changed. But it free. A little fractious at times and kept logging me out which was annoying but was sufficient so can't complain. They also kindly allowed me to use their computers when I had a business matter to attend to which my phone couldn't cope with.
You would definitely need a car here though it's about 1o to 15 main drive from the nearest town and hotel food although very good, the menu was not extensive. Also quite expensive. A club sandwich at lunch time each day was €20 but oddly worth it to me anyway. It was substantial and extremely tasty!
(On the first evening I noticed a skinny little dog wondering about when it got quiet and was obviously in search of food. It broke my heart! So I drove to town and bought some dog food. For the next few days I did the same and fed it each evening. It's not very tame and is very wary but hunger won out and it would wait at a safe distance for me to leave food for it. On my last day there I went to town and bought a large bag of dried food and I left it where the dog would find it in the car park bushes. Please please please feed the poor dog if your visiting and have a heart! A little food is not a huge expectation in life. I was delighted to see the hotel staff did not chase it away or mistreat it in any way. I'm sure they don't encourage it. Its obviously a stray and comes about 7 o'clock each evening. )
The location is probably not the most fabulous but I did enjoy its peaceful country location and it's surrounded by olive groves and vineyards. The town of mazara del vallo was ok. Nice central square but not overwhelming and a bit forgettable. We did struggle to find some nice restaurants even though we did ask for recommendations.
I would return to this hotel though. It was quiet, lovely pool area, country location, staff were very professional. Relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mantra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Set in the middle of the Sicilian countryside, amongst the fields and vineyards this hotel boasts immaculate marble decor, the most comfortable large beds I've ever seen and gorgeous layout and setting. Although it felt rather empty at first, we had checked in very early and it was only the start of the summer season. The staff were very attentive and the drinks in the lobby bar we delicious. The only disappointment was the dinner however the breakfast next morning was an amazing buffet with assorted Sicilian sweet treats among the huge variety on offer. Definitely deserving of it's five stars.

Room Tip: Floors on the 2nd floor looking inward of the courtyard offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at this hotel- looking for a high standard hotel with pool and connecting rooms/suite. We stayed in the suite which was lovely, well appointed, nicely decorated, spacious. Our children had extra beds in the living area which was separated from the bedroom by sliding doors.
The hotel is very pleasant, staff is also. The pool area is vast, there is a kids club which works well. the restaurant had really good food. so overall a really nice stay. Now why weird? its difficult to put a finger on it. I think its because it feels quite artificial. It is in the middle of fields close to no big towns. It does feel strange. It also feels like you could be anywhere so if you are looking for some authenticity, you should look for somewhere else!
Ah the beach... yes we did choose the hotel also with the idea of going to the beach. They offer a shuttle but honestly you would probably have a car if you ended up here! The beach is not really a beach, its a little cove, gold sandy/small stones. Lotes of stones at the bottom of the sea too, it opens out to the ocean very quickly so it does not feel like you can swim out far. there is a little cafe there which serves snacks for lunch. So again, if you are after some beach, you should stay somewhere else. Otherwise the Hotel in itself is really nice!

Room Tip: Its in the middle of fields so no problem with noises, no real views either. Our room faced the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kald06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Booked with Hotelsclick.com on a rate of £108 per room B&B which seemed a great deal for this hotel for a long weekend as we get really cheap flights.

Decided to take our 7 year old daughter also and this was no problem even though we had not booked her in. They made no additional charge and even upgraded us to a corner suite overlooking the pool which was absolutely fantastic.

Hotel is geared to business people off season but the hotel was very quiet and shuts at the end of October so seemed to be 'winding down'.

Great continental breakfast, good choice and the hotel itself does merit its 5 Star. Great pools indoor and outdoor and the hotel has a classy feel with a tyouch of exuberence but does not lose its friendly approach. Well done all around and a fantastic weekend break.

Room Tip: If you go low season there is a good chance of an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewDebbie35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights at the resort. Loved the staff attention, private beach, pool very inviting and quiet. Dinner was a beautiful event with wine, enjoyed every course. Rooms very comfortable, nice bath/shower. Spa looked amazing, will try next time. Hotel is in transition but it was still nice. Familiar with Kempinski and luxury. Perfect spot to relax and easy to get to nearby towns for day trips to Marsala or Greek ruins. Also, town is quaint and worth a stroll after dinner for gelato.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the water feature and pool from 2nd floor. I would suggest this view. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loneill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel this June
2013. We picked it because we were familiar with Kempinski hotels. We understood Kempinski was quite a bit more expensive than many other hotels but we were set to stay on four other more eclectic properties and navigating a perfect circle of Sicily we wanted to break into Sicilian life starting with more familiar name

Much to our surprise, even though we confirmed Kempinski two weeks before, we were told on arrival that hotel was not part of Kempinski family nor was it part of Leading Hotel of the World. This notwithstanding Kempinski logo scattered on many items and a prominent Leading Hotel Plaque on the entry. Because as members of the Leading hotels we were entitled to certain amenities, we asked if we were still getting them which receptionist confirmed after much fuss. For example we were supposed to get room upgrade which we clearly didn't. We got a standard room facing parking. Free interned had tone renewed every 12 hours with a new password which often didn't work. Fruit bowl never materialized.

Clearly hotel changed hands and was falling into disrepair. It was nearly empty, marble floors were stained especially in the bathrooms, air musty, gardens not tended and overgrown, and beautiful decorative pool and fountains on the court yard turned on only occasionally. Kempinski name in a few places, most prominently on the entry was simply blacked out with what seemed like heavy black marker.

Staff was skeleton, we counted perhaps slightly more than a dozen. When we asked for help in reservations, receptionist told us she wasn't a concierge and there was no concierge on staff. Night help consisted of one person manning the front desk.

One night an outside guest who came for a wedding, parked Ferrari that had alarm chirping under hour window well past 2am. When we asked the night staff member to have the alarm turned off so we could sleep, he refused so emphatically we were concerned for his health and safety. The spa while beautiful, was clearly build to accommodate far many more people with empty treatment rooms and lockers. When we booked two massages, we later found out hotel could only locate one masseuse.

Clearly this hotel located on the middle of what looks like nowhere industrial area needs major work and infusion of professional staff. Until then you would do far better in other surrounding locations which are stunning with warm, hospitable real people. Italian square in one of the small towns at night was like a throwback to 1950s, with promenading couples, giggling gelato scarfing teens and lively small restaurants. And not a word of English. Italy as it was. By comparison the
Giardino Hotel looked and felt like an empty Eurotrash palace dropped by accident in the middle of countryside, devoid of guests, staff and any semblance of charm and spirit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This Kempinsky property has only this month separated from the Leading Hotels of the World luxury hotel brand. Probably because "Luxury" is not the best way to describe its laid-back, understated, family-oriented approach. Still, here you will find spacious, cozy and perfectly appointed rooms that may not be the most stylish in Italy but will make a handsome and extremely comfortable stay. The service is most friendly, and the atmosphere extremely relaxed and welcoming in a mediterranean way. Lots of sicilian charm in warm summer nights at the outstanding Dubbesi, the restaurant serving fresh local fish and a variety of excellent sicilian fare in a nice patio cooled by the sea breeze (And discreetly harmonized by a most accomplished piano player) A first class Spa and very good fitness facilities may round the experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazara del Vallo
4.1 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
629 reviews
4.8 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
682 reviews
34.1 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
127 reviews
152.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
6 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Giardino di Costanza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino di Costanza Resort

Address: Via Salemi Km 7100, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range: £105 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Giardino di Costanza Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Giardino di Costanza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Giardino Di Costanza Hotel Mazara Del Vallo
Giardino Di Costanza Resort Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing