We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Hopps(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Bar/Lounge
Greta Rooms Hotel(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
D'Angelo Palace Hotel(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Visir Resort and Spa(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Giardino di Costanza Resort(Mazara del Vallo)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Disio Resort(Marsala)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
213
254
111
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
254
111
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinner courtyardswimming poolcentre of townlovely promenadewithin walking distancesea frontgood sizefishing porthard bedslovely hotelreception staffthe air conditioningstayed for nightsmasalafirst floorhotel is locatedbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you want to be in this area, then this is a far cheaper option than the Kempinski (half the price on Expedia). But there is something 'thin' about the experience. It's almost as if it's unfinished.
If they made a lot more effort they would make a really great 4 star hotel out of this unusual and potentially funky site. They have to contend with derelict factories and a dirty beach around it, but once you are inside, it's your own private oasis.
What did we miss? Well, diet coke in the bar for a start. Toiletries! A bath. The shower room looked as if it had been done out with a job lot of the cheapest tiles in Italy. If they had expended more on them, they could charge us more and get better reviews!
I couldn't work things like the "Do Not Disturb" till I had been shown by about the third day. If you are electronically challenged, don't go there.
Breakfast was okay, but just okay.
The pool is brilliant and I hadn't yet met the adjustable canopies over the loungers. They were great!
I think it would a fabulous place to go with a crowd of friends. You would be having such a great time that you wouldn't notice the shortcomings. There is plenty of room; that's for sure.
I have to recommend the staff at the desk. They were just fantastic. They spoke good English and one of them was particularly cool and intelligent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKSapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is very nice, quite and clean. Maybe a bit far away from the centre (a 15 min. pleasant walk on the sea side avenue). Rooms are quite large and basically comfortable. Breakfast is complete. So why is it not excellent? Well for a few shortcomings:
1) No WiFi in room nor free WiFi in lobby (not iPad friendly).
2) No fresh orange juice at breakfast (in Sicily which is a major orange producer!!)
3) Room could do with an armchair. There is a desk and a chair suitable for a business guest but not for a mature couple (we had to sit on the bed).
That said I don't think there is anything better in Mazara.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view to the sea (2nd floor)
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a modern hotel, built in the shell of the former John Hopps Marsala warehouse, about 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Rooms are comfortable, although lacking sufficient cupboards. The restaurant has all the atmosphere of a barn, but there are a few tables in the adjoining inner courtyard. It serves an adequate breakfast. The croissants are kept warm in a heated server, but the boiled eggs seem to be prepared early and are cold by 9.00 a.m. The dinner menu is limited, unexceptional, and uninviting, but there are many good restaurants in the town. The beach across the road from the hotel is rough, with the sand full of rubbish, but the hotel has a good pool, which seemed little used despite clean, serviced beaches being 10-20 minutes away by car.

We discovered that the hotel seemingly has a local reputation for being poorly managed, and, in our experience, that is well deserved. The hotel was not very busy, and may have been having financial problems. But that was no excuse for the chaotic organisation. Staff are not well informed, and offer inconsistent and inaccurate information about the hotel’s services - which makes them look bad, and must embarass them. For example, on arrival, on a Wednesday, we were told by the manageress that the bar was open all day, except 4 to 6 p.m. The next few days we had to get someone from reception to open it at about 1.30 p.m. On the Sunday, we were told by a receptionist that the only place to get a lunchtime drink was in the restaurant. On Monday morning, we were told by the reception staff that the bar was open 8 hours each day, but when we returned from an excursion at 2.00 p.m., the bar was closed and so was the restaurant, and we were told that we could not get a drink in the hotel until the bar opened at 6.00 p.m. On Tuesday, we found the bar open at 12.00 noon, when we came back from a walk in the town, but the barmaid said it would close at 1.00 p.m. We ordered some drinks just before 1.00, and noticed that the barmaid was still there, waiting to clear up when we finished drinking them forty-five minutes later.

The hotel, like most, is used for functions. Our sea-view room overlooked the outer courtyard where a wedding dinner was served on a Saturday night. We were first told that it would finish at about midnight, and that it was not a disco, with the implication that it would not disturb us. We were ‘entertained’ by a seven piece band and 2 singers, with our room shaking with the noise generated by their sound system and illuminated by their flashing lights. At 1.40 a.m., when we complained, we were told that it would finish at 2.00, and at 2.15, when we complained again, we were told by an apologetic reception clerk that they were on the last music. They didn’t finish until 2.35 a.m., and then it took the hotel staff and the band another couple of noisy hours to clear away the tables, chairs and sound and light equipment. A half-hearted apology from the manageress was read to us by one of the reception staff the following morning, with an unattractive and unacceptable offer of a limited meal in the restaurant. We eventually managed to get to speak to the manageress 2 days later, and, in effect, got the cost of the room for the night refunded – but we were still shattered by exhaustion. We had booked and prepaid for a week. Otherwise that would have been the final straw, and we would have moved on.

Room Tip: Ask if they plan to host any events, and, if they do, either go somewhere else or ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahara_Hotel, Owner at Mahara Hotel & Wellness, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

Dear Sir,

we are really sorry you didn't enjoy our services. Most guests do you didn't. Anyway all the critics are welcomed because help us grow.
What you are not allowed is to slander our company, suggesting some kind of "financial problems" we have. Are you disrespectful of other people's jobs or just unpolite?

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights while touring Sicily. This is a lovely hotel overlooking the sea in a beautiful resort. The whole atmosphere of the hotel is calm and welcoming, the staff are friendly and helpful and our experience was very positive. The rooms are a good size and tastefully furnished. The location of the hotel is a short level walk to the town centre, where there are some nice bars to sit at watching the world go by, and a visit to the Museum and the Dancing Satyr is well worth doing.
The hotel restaurant looked very nice with lots of local ingredients on the menu, but we didn't eat there as there are so many lovely restaurants in town, particularly in the old Arab quarter.
Would definitely recommend this resort and hotel, and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseandvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

But as always there is some trouble: the shuttle(bus) was stoping to go after 2130 so we have to take a taxi from palermo-mazara del vallo, the taxidriver could not speak any other than italian(so as 90% other there) so we took a very expensive drive, cost 1500euro. have we booked with the hotel it would cost 70euro...
When we came to the hotel the reseption gave us a warm welcome, and saw our hungry faces and guided us to a simple GOOD pizza resturant, bill for 1 beer, 1 water, 2 pizza, 18 euros.
Rest of our holyday was like an italiano dream, but you have to love the culure(they eat after 20.00) lots of people in the street at nighttime, nice people, nice city with 5 minuts from the hotel, good food(over 70% of the food is from the sea). we also took a boat trip cost 60euro pp. for a wole day of the wonderful sea around the egadi islands, wonderful!!
The beach, you have to take a shuttle(10min and free). wonderful beach, with nice staff in the lido baya verde bar.
They are fighting to get allowance to get people on the beach right outside the hotel, but they tought than in 2012 they maybe get green sone there aswell.
Minus: the infrastructure and international language, a bit hard beds, distanse from beach.
But this does not infect our perfect holyday, so this would just be like a litte ant.
Go here whenever, with whoever, you will absoloutley love it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TranquilityH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews