We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Courtyard Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Courtyard Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Although this hotel is situated on the promenade none of the rooms have sea views as they all face the large green courtyard with its attractive water feature, this gives it a peaceful feel. The bedrooms are comfortable with good balconies. The food is OK and the staff is very efficient and helpful. It is a pleasant walk along the promenade to the center of town, do not fail to visit the museum which houses the beautiful Dancing Satyr statue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    209
    97
    37
    18
See reviews for
90
234
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
227 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed in this hotel for business for two nights. The hotel was booked by the customer... and I do have mixed feelings about this place. Let's look at my thoughts:

POSITIVE POINTS:
Definitely the staff. Extremely friendly, and really go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one. Check-in and check-out was really fast - always a plus for me.

The hotel is in an old building but well maintained, with a lot of history in it. It is pleasant to walk about, and gives you a good feel of the area. It is on the beach front (beach is not nice though), with a nice promenade that is great for long walks.

The center of town and historic places are a short 10 minute walk from the hotel There are ample restaurants, bars and touristic places to visit. REALLY nice town.

Most of the rooms have a pleasant view onto the central courtyard, which I thought was nice.

NEGATIVE POINTS:
Everything in the hotel was nice, until I arrived in the room. It is relatively small and really feels dark, old and cheap. The bed is hard, and looks like one of those beds that are sold in cheap stores. There is no choice of pillows, and the only ones available are miles too soft for a comfortable sleep.

Internet was really poor - SLOW and IRREGULAR. I complained, and was told that it was a system failure that would be solved in 2 hours. I left 2 days later... and it still did not work properly.

Breakfast was poor, with very limited choices of food. The bar is very nice and pleasant... but closes at 21H30. I know it is winter... but... 21H30... really???

SUMMING UP:
I know that winter means less people... which in turn means less business for the hotel... which in turn means less service. The positive points were unfortunately counter-balanced by the negative point, and that is why I give this place a mediocre classification. Maybe in summer... with booming business... my opinion would have been different. However, to be as honest as always... these are my MIXED FEELINGS about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trave1Bandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package. The dinners and breakfast were very good and the staff helpful. The hotel overlooks the sea with a pleasent walk into the centre of town. The room was adequate without being anything special.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seemed better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nutkins47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

It's hard to convery the suffocating blandness of this hotel. It is adequate from a functional point of view, though our room was rather small and the fixtures and fittings are low spec. But everything about it shouts out 'I have no character whatsover'. The only redeeming feature is the friendly staff on reception - oh, and the fact that it's only a 10 minute walk into the old centre of Mazara, which is gorgeous.
There seem to be rather limited accommodation options in Mazara, but see if you can do better than this!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hackney-jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel was stated to be situated on a lagoon.The hotel is situated opposite a petrol station and slightly further down on the beach is sewerage outflow.The beach is unusable,covered with concrete,rubble and rubbish and litter.The old town is quite picturesque,but the rest of the town lacks any kind of character.

Room Tip: All rooms face onto a central courtyard,which does not allow for a lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luciemabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the town and is on the sea front. Most rooms look out onto a pleasant inner courtyard which has illuminated fountain at night. Our room 112 has a large balcony and comfortable balcony furniture though some of the rooms only had a small Juliet balcony. The swimming pool was a good size and there were sunbeds. The town was interesting to walk around with a couple of small museums and many churches.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Walking distance to the city center is a plus. The building was ok, the room was ok, the bed was ok, the bathroom ok. Breakfast was ok, although there was no fruit at all. They happily served eggs/omelette, although at an extra charge. The receptionist was helpful enough. The wifi worked only now and then, and was generally slow. One PC in the reception area.
The pool was not yet open for the season.

One night we were tired and didn't feel like going out for dinner. In the dining room there was a band playing full blast ("oh, until midnight, at least"). The bar was closed. So we ended up having room service, eating on the bed (at a surcharge for room service). Not quite what you expect at a 4 star hotel "with restaurant".

The hotel is in an old wine merchant's building, which would be interesting if they told you the story. They don't.

All in all a fair enough hotel - if you have other places to go and things to do.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea have a nice view, but you should avoid them if there's a party in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingebjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mazara del Vallo
2.7 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.7 mi away
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
MeliaResort Dimore Storiche
#4 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 mi away
Resort Parco degli Aromi
Resort Parco degli Aromi
#1 of 7 in Valderice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
35.1 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Greta Rooms Hotel
Greta Rooms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahara Hotel & Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahara Hotel & Wellness

Property: Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Address: Lungomare San Vito 3, 91026 Mazara del Vallo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Mazara del Vallo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Mazara del Vallo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mahara Hotel & Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahara Hotel & Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahara Hotel And Wellness
Mahara Hotel Mazara Del Vallo
Mahara Hotel & Wellness Sicily/Mazara Del Vallo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing