We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully done - the junior sister establishment to La Licorne”

Le Bistrot Du Grand Cerf
Price range: US$32 - US$56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautifully done - the junior sister establishment to La Licorne”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our aim was to lunch at La Licorne which is sadly closed at midday. We called from Rouen at late time to book a table. The maitre d´hotel was polite and upbeat, he kindly reserved a table and arranged for us to lunch at the late time (for rural france) of 13.30-13.45h.

The menu at Le Grand Cerf is short, unpretentious and well executed. There is a fair amount to game in the menu, following on the theme of the name and the location of the restaurant. We shared a delicious terrine de campagne and followed to a cote de sanglier served with a delicious matelotte presented in a pretty red small pumpkin. Admittedly the dish is not technically demanding, but it was well executed and beautifully balanced with a light yet flavourful sauce that offset well the gamey boar flavour. The service is kind, lively and attentive without overbearing.

We found the decor is fun, cosy and up-to-date. Clean lines, without being cold and quirky details that nod and wink to the name and location. The garden outside looked wonderful for summer lunches and dinners.

The village of Lyons La Foret is charming and both the restaurant and the village make it worth a detour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gastroturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    82
    40
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Had this not been the only restaurant open in town the night we were there we would have walked out. Why? Because the Maitre D was so exceptionally rude to the customers, and the other staff were only borderline polite, maybe following his example.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Freeway_Doggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“disappointment”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Restaurant in lovely location overlooking village square. Clean and simple interior. Waiter was overly fawning, waitress indifferent-really got the impression that there was no idea of repeat custom.Starters and main courses were pretty good although light on portions in relation to price. Cheese course was taken instead of dessert, but very disappointing- presented with a plate of 3 cheeses-all far too cold and unripe-pretty inedible We did draw this to the attetnion of the waitress who was entirely indifferent.No explanation or apology offered.In the heart of great dairy country and where cheese is prided this was a very poor example of what is available very close to the restaurant. Then waited about half an hour for the bill to be brought. AVOID.Can recommend Domaine St Paul just outside the village-more modest venue but good simple French food

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurent in a beautiful village”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We had a wonderful dinner this evening in Bistro du Grand Cerf. Set in the beautiful village of Lyons la Foret, this bistro overlooks the ancient square but has modern unfussy but delicious cuisine. The fish was especially exceptional. We would highly recommend this innovative cuisine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Service, Wonderful Wine, Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This beautiful restaurant offers a prix fixe menu, which appears to be a very good value, however, we ordered the Cote de Boeuf for two and we weren't disappointed. Paired with a great wine- the wine list is very extensive- and attentive service, we had a thoroughly enjoyable evening for a reasonable cost, considering the quality of our meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gopants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistrot Du Grand Cerf also viewed

 
Lyons-la-Foret, Eure
 

Been to Le Bistrot Du Grand Cerf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing