We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Licorne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Licorne
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lyons-la-Foret
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for one night in August, the room was fine, staff very helpful and the meal was truly excellent. When we thanked the Chef he said that he was aiming for a Michelin star. He deserves it! We had local wild mushrooms, turbot, a delicious strawberry desert and 3 Normandy cheeses. The wine list is excellent apart from the lack of a dessert wine by the glass.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    151
    57
    36
    10
See reviews for
45
271
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed in in Les Lions de Beauclere, and dined at Hotel le Grand Cerf, all part of the La Licorne operations. All are close by in the same street. We thought that the village of Lyons la Foret, the hotel and the restaurant were all excellent. The meal at Grand Cerf was one of the best we've had in many weeks of travel. We had breakfast at La Licorne, which was fine. The WiFi at Les Lions was out of order, so La Licorne came to the rescue here too. Incidentally this was only the second time in six weeks of travelling in Europe that the Internet was not easily available, and in every case the cost was included in the tariff. Obviously we weren't staying in any of the major chains! We thought that Lyons la Foret is one of the most attractive small villages in France. Isn't it interesting how people's opinions can vary so much. The night before we had one of our worst nights in France at a hotel that some of your contributors loved. Last night at La Licorne was tops, despite some mixed reviews from others.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked this for an overnight stay- Reception was unfriendly - The room had many faults eg plug in bath didn't work and having forced it to work the water pressure was so low it took several minutes to half run the bath- There was an electric plug 300mm from the basin taps ( illegal?) The loo door left just 250mm between loo seat and door . ( where does one put one's knees?) Bathroom door could not be opened if window was open and vice versa.
The restaurant was prohibitively expensive- The cheapest meal was two courses at 39 euro per person with no choice- effectively a plat du jour! A half bread roll was seved with this.( drinks extra) Breakfast was 18 euros each for normal continental buffet .
I don't mind paying if the service provided is good- but we just felt totally ripped off

Room Tip: For reference the room's had names not numbers- we stayed in Hetre Radieux
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent one night at the Licorne and I must admit that it was lovely.
It's a stylish and romantic little hotel in a small village, litteraly in the middle of nowhere. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was really good.

The size of the room was ok (considering the fact that it's a real old building), but the bathroom was kinda tiny... and there was no shower curtain, so the whole bathroom was wet afterwards.

But I'm glad we had found this cozy little hotel, it was the perfect place for a short romantic getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolaGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

La Licorne, together with Le Grand Cerf, is a stylish little hotel in the picturesque village of Lyons-La-Foret. Note, howver, that the place is in the middle of nowhere, with motorways far away and it takes quite a while to get there, even 50 minutes from "nearby" Rouen. The hotel is lovely, staff were very helpful and the Spa is small but nice. The restaurant serves excellent food, although a bit pricy. There are alternatives in the village though. Breakfast is 18 euros extra, we didn't take it and as there is an excellent boulangerie next door, didn't need it. So, a great place for a romantic, calm and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovy_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Decorator room with bathtub in room is decorator kitsch and really not practical. No way to bath without leaving room quite wet and humid. New decoration forgot hall and stairways so you feel like a two-character hotel.
Even though we had reserved well in advance and asked for table in main restaurant, there was none left and we had to beg for a table in a nearby restaurant! Not acceptable as this is a far away place with little other options.
Swimming pool is a definite plus.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilidebruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had booked this hotel as it had a diasbled access room. It was more like a dungeon. Dark grey walls, small, high, barred windows, which were impossible for a wheelchair user to open. The thick gravel would make it impossible for any wheelchair user to access other parts of the hotel independently. The mirror above the basin was too high to look into. The decor in the rest of the 220 euro 'suite' was basic. No fridge and no tea/coffee making facility in the room until requested. The over priced buffet breakfast- 18 euro per person - was overseen by a unwelcoming and unfriendly attendant. On our penultimate night the drains outside our room stank so badly we had to move rooms, unfortunately no other room offered diasbled access so had to be lifted in and out and was unable to use the bathroom without assistance. Would definately NOT return or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ross d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons-la-Foret
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
#1 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
14.8 mi away
Forges Hotel
Forges Hotel
#1 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Lions de Beauclerc
Les Lions de Beauclerc
#3 of 3 in Lyons-la-Foret
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
13.4 mi away
Moulin de Connelles
Moulin de Connelles
#1 of 1 in Connelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
21.8 mi away
Manoir de Surville
Manoir de Surville
#1 of 1 in Surville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Licorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Licorne

Property: Hotel La Licorne
Address: 27 Place Benserade, 27480 Lyons-la-Foret, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Lyons-la-Foret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lyons-la-Foret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Licorne 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Licorne, whose construction date back to 1610, has twenty delightful rooms around his sculptural staircase. Its complete renovation was undertaken in 2007 with the famous house decoration Flamant, the rooms being redone enjoying harmoniously combined with contemporary charm the historical aspect. A suite for the disabled has also been designed. Much attention has been paid to the well being of guests - a holiday in the Licorne is a source of tranquility and comfort. La Licorne is also equipped with four comfortable suites. All rooms have a view either charming historic Lyons Hall or on the patio of the hotel, and always in the background forest. Christophe Poirier, talented young chef, went through the most prestigious restaurants. It is a culinary soul he has instilled in these places, and professionals do not make a mistake in awarding him the quality of young talent Gault et Millau 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Licorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing