We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
167
64
24
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
64
24
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room nice hotel swimming pool three nights great service comfortable room laundry charges palacio countryside property spain shame menu cuisine
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Nice hotel in a nice historical and country side setting. Comfortable room decorated with good taste. Poor A/C on warm days. Breakfast definitely does not meet the expected quality for a Relais & Chateaux. Big investment results in guests poor satisfaction.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cma110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

We went to the Palacio de Luces for the final 3 days of our week’s holiday in northern Spain, and we had saved it for the end of our trip because it looked special. The hotel itself is striking; a modern extension to an old, walled property. It is comfortably appointed with a stunning, glass-walled dining room and a magnificent indoor pool. Because this is the low season, we were also upgraded to a suite, which was generous. But even so the room was small and stuffy, and the air conditioning ineffective.
At dinner, we opted for the 50 euro 5-course ‘Chef’s Menu’ which was a real disappointment from start to finish. The sauces were heavy and over-seasoned, and the beef cooked until it had the consistency of cardboard. The raspberry dessert was made with what looked suspiciously like tinned raspberries.
Breakfast was not a lot better.
It’s a pity because the staff all tried really hard, but this did not feel like a comfortable place to stay, and nor did it feel like the sort of quality that you expect from a Relais and Chateaux hotel.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sundancer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

The hotel is amazing with incredible rooms, especially the bed.

However the food is not to be consumed. We had four courses, and non was tasty at all.

A pity for such a wonderful hotel.

Hoping this will improve. All in all a place worth staying.

Jero and Edgar

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pjerotich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We came to a wedding at this venue which turned out nicely and fun, however It is a shame that such a beautiful place didn't have better management. The woman in charge Loly, if I'm not mistaken, is anything but welcoming and suitable to run a business where dealing face to face with customers is a daily task, she was sour, difficult and rigid, even though we hardly spoke to her the feeling she left was extremely disappointing. Our visit in general was fantastic thanks to the wonderful staff members, the dinner was held in a big salon beautifully set and the waiters serving us were extremely professional, we were very impressed with their service, a waiter called Nacho was exceptional, he made our dinner very enjoyable. The food was well prepared and the quality was excellent. My advise, do not visit this place until the management has changed.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank SaraBM-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed for 4 nights. The room we had was large and very comfortable. The service was good and breakfast was good. The location is excellent in a very quiet and beautiful location. Laundry charges were very excessive. The swimming pool was very nice.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EDW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews