We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, comfortable, clean and very near to Metro station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barakaldo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Istanbul
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Modern, comfortable, clean and very near to Metro station”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

You don't have to stay in city center if you want to walk around Bilbao, you can go by metro anywhere you want to go, so this hotel is not near city center but very close to metro station. The staff is very helpful. Rooms are big enough, the bathroom is very very clean and well designed. We did not have any wireless connection problem. We ate good food during breakfast, there were enough choices for drink. We liked this hotel, we had good time and good sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filizvrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovBio, Director General at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor further to your recent stay in our hotel. We always welcome guests comments to improve those points where we are not performing up to usual standard of service.

Thank you for your comment regarding our location which, if not in downtown Bilbao is very convenient to access the underground and thank you for pointing out the kindness of our staff as well as all the positive comments of our facilities. We always work to provide excellent service and these comments make us proud on the work we do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Jorge Lepe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    349
    182
    63
    25
See reviews for
404
169
36
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is one we have now stayed at on three occasions. It is very convenient for the ferryport and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The car parking is secure and the breakfast buffet suits all tastes. We will return as they welcome pets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jpkh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovBio, Director General at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience further to your recent stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you are a frequent guest of our hotel and that you appreciate our facilities. Thank you again for your time and fidelity and we look forward to welcoming you again in Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Jorge Lepe Muñoz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I've stayed in this hotel a few times on business, and always found it welcoming. The staff are friendly, speak English and always helpful.

The hotel is ideally situated for the Bilbao Exhibition Centre and there are various large retail outlets and cinemas a short walk away. The hotel is also well situated for business visits to the many industrial facilities along the river north of Bilbao (Sestao and its surroundings), which is what takes me there.

This probably isn't a good location for visiting the city of Bilbao, though it isn't far away - so a visit to the lovely city and its attractions is quite practical. I especially like Bilbao Maritime museum and the Guggenheim.

From Bilbao airport, the hotel is a 15 minute taxi ride, costing €25-€30 (for one passenger and little luggage).

The breakfast buffet is very nice - but pretty expensive. On this visit (October 2013), the room rate was very good, so the bed and breakfast rate worked out to be good value. (On previous visits, the room rate has been a bit higher, making the total rate a bit on the expensive side.)

Rooms in the hotel are consistent and very comfortable, with especially well fitted out bathrooms (separate shower and bath, spacious and very clean.)

Wireless internet access is free and reasonably fast and reliable. Rooms have tea and coffee making facilities and a small minibar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin97uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovBio, Director General at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We do appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay adn our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Jorge Lepe Muñoz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked the hotel for its location to the ferry terminal and the hotel was easy to find but the car park entrance was a nightmare to reach especially as it is next door to a massive shopping centre and poorly signed
The accommodation was lovely and all that was expected from a Novotel - the breakfast buffet was very good
However the evening meal was a disaster and poor value at 19 euro's - the food was clearly microwave per-prepared main courses and one starter of chicken dipper was cold and raw inside the coating - plus there was only 1waiter serving many tables - they stated they didn't expect many customers!
We would stay again but would certainly dine out in the evening

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuludan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovBio, Director General at Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel with other users in this community. We appreciate your words regarding our location and accomodation facilities. However, I am sorry to read about the experience during the dinner service. I would just like to point out that we always use fresh ingredients to prepare all our meals and these are of the finest quality we can obtain. Our meals, as all our guests can see, are prepared in a show cooking kitchen in front of the customer. We understand sometimes food does not come at a perfect cooking point but in the case it happens we redo the plate or change it for a different one. However we admit that we were not prepared to receive the amount of customers we had on that night and it caught us a bit out of guard and therefore the service offered on that night was not that of our usual standard. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused and we have corrected already that lack of forecasting for future occasions.
Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center.
Jorge Lepe Muñoz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barakaldo
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abando
NH Collection Villa de Bilbao
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center

Property: Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
Address: Rio Castanos, 2, 48903 Barakaldo, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Barakaldo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barakaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bilbao Barakaldo is located across from the Bilbao Exhibition Centre (BEC), 15 minutes from Loiu airport and 10 minutes from the centre of Bilbao. Easy to reach via the A8 Santander Bilbao motorway, the hotel is 200 m from the train station and close to the MAX CENTER shopping complex. This 4 star hotel is ideal for business or leisure travel and features 203 rooms, 6 meeting rooms, the Mediterranean restaurant Claravia and the Ibaia bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Hotel Barakaldo
Accor Bilbao Barakaldo
Novotel Barakaldo
Barakaldo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing