We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel with amazing gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sovana Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sovana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with amazing gardens”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Last stop on our tour and was pleasantly surprised. The town of Sovana was absolutely lovely. The common areas of the hotel are leery stylish, the room did not quite match up to this and the bathroom was very disappointing. Not sure why no upgrade when hotel almost empty. Gardens great. Pool for some reason had hazard tape all round it. Would definitely recommend for a low key break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    45
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
83
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I have never written a review before but I just had to after our wonderful 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Firstly, you are greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff. Then the hotel has a private car park. The walk from the car park back to the hotel is through their lovely garden and past the swimming pool that looks like a fantasy pool/fountain. My husband and our daughter kept saying, "This is amazing!" The common areas are comfortable with WIFI. Breakfast is out on their patio overlooking the rose garden. The breakfast offerings are extensive and good.

Our room was very comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking the main road and the Duomo. The bathrooms are modern, the A/C is good, the linens are of good quality. They provide discounts to the archeological sites and a local restaurant.

Sovana is a small town frozen in time and evidently off the American tourist map. We didn't meet any American tourists, European and British tourists, but no American. No tour buses, no cruise ship hoards, just beautiful country side, a free natural hotspring and amazing towns built out of the tufa rock. Just a one hour drive west from Orvieto and you are in an amazingly beautiful yet sleepy area. Totally worth a journey, and if you come stay at The Sovana Hotel and Resort.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We could not be more pleased with this place.
We had a view of the medieval church at the end of the village from our window.
The bathroom is spacious and so well equipped.
The bed was perfect and the linens of the highest quality.
The common areas are very tastefully furnished and there is free Wi Fi.
Breakfast is not the usual Italian 'only sweet' things style, there were eggs, fruit and a selection of local cheeses.
It is so tranquil here, definitely a place to come and be able to totally de-stress.
The only down note was the hairdryer which is one of those nozzle type things that's stuck to the wall. But then that is only being picky.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

--gorgeous grounds
--reasonable prices
--good breakfast
--hard bed
--minimal amenities
--nice bathrooms
--nicest property in Sovana
--10% off bill at restaurant

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbruceSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Sovana is off the beaten path and a very quiet and sleepy town. It was a perfect spot to slow down and appreciate the Tuscan lifestyle. If you are looking for a very quiet place off the beaten path, this is the spot for you. We were the only guests here during our mid May trip. The Sovana Hotel & Resort staff was very friendly. Breakfast was great. We also had a wonderful dinner Risotrante dei Marli. We highly recommend going to Pitigliano for the day if you can manage it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

This hotel turned out to be the most precious gem among all the alberghi on an impromptu five-day escape from Rome. It was late October, and we decided to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the capital and see la campagna, northern Lazio and southern Tuscany, with its peaceful landscapes and marvelous Etruscan sites. The main purpose of the whole voyage was to visit the magnificent Palazzo Farneze in Caprarola, and after visiting that magnificent palace and its astonishingly beautiful park, we were in search of a place to rest at night. The hotel turned out to be within one hour most pleasant drive.

Northern Lazio, a relatively undiscovered land, had adorned us with many wonders, including this very pleasant hotel in a town which I would not dream of visiting, since it is not overly famous. What a breathtaking surprise awaited us there! The town is tiny, perfectly preserved and maintained; its only street is lined with beautiful Tuscan style country mansions, adorned with flowers and small trees in pots. It was on that street, when gazing at one of those houses, that I saw a plaque denoting Pope Gregory VII Hildebrand birthplace. I was surprised that this fact is not at all advertised, and even my Alta Macadam Blue Guide for Central Italy, the one that recommended this hotel, did not mention anything about Hildebrand and Sovana. In any case, perhaps the town being so well-kept and organised is only a reflection of the personality of its citizens, including the famous Pope. This tradition of beauty and elegance extends to the hotel.

We arrived late in the evening, and the stately ruins of Aldobranseschi Castle met us at the entrance of the city. The hotel was easy to find - it was near an austere and proud 12th century duomo, devoted to St. Mamilianus. The road to the duomo is lined with ancient cypress tress, and the view on it from our room was absolutely marvelous. It was very quiet, and one feels embarassed driving through such a peaceful retreat.

At the hotel we were greeted with the most pleasant and courteous hospitality - something rare to find now, and therefore especially noteworthy. The room was very comfortable, even if not too big. There was a marble bathroom with shower, but no bathtub. The bed was luxurious, and the ceiling was high - the hotel is a converted old house, one of those elegant mansions lining the street.

The concierge made a reservation for us at the affiliated restaurant Taverna Etrusca, where I could finally try Maremma's specialty cinghiale – a wild boar dish. The food was fantastic, and the service to match. I especially liked Acquacotta - a soup which is also Maremma’s specialty. This dinner set dreamy expectations for the breakfast, which was to match.

At night one can enjoy the most quiet sleep imaginable, and in the morning the garden will delight the guest - there is a vast olive grove and a rose garden, and from everywhere one can admire a magnificent panorama with gently rolling mountains. It is hard to imagine that Sovana was ravaged by malaria - it sits in such a splendid mountainous location.

The breakfast was very good and generous, with fresh citrus juices and eggs. The service is excellent throughout, very friendly, courteous and efficient at the same time. I was also especially moved when we asked for wine glasses the previous night - we bought some reputable local wine and wanted to try it in the room. I was a bit hesitant to ask, because sometimes they are not very benevolent towards drinking and eating in a room. However, the concierge-Signora said to us: "Of course, with pleasure - would you like glasses for white or red wine?".

Service like this makes a difference.

I highly recommend this hotel; and for that matter, the whole surrounding countryside, which is quite unexplored while full of delights, like hill towns of Montemerano, Pitigliano, Capalbio, Etruscan marvel Vulci with its medieval tiny castle and a breathtaking bridge; Lago di Bolsena with its towns – Capodimonte, Montefiascone, and many, many more, where as always in L’Italia, each town has its own character and every turn gives a traveler endless reason to call Italy a land of endless fascination.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gradiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

A lovely hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful and it was lovely being surrounded by gardens. I was taken ill after one night and the hotel arranged an ambulance. The manager, Walter, actually drove to the local hospital to wait for my husband until he was ready to return to the hotel we were overwhelmed by their kindness and concern.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sb133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 2 in Sovana
93 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
4.6 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#4 of 7 in Sorano
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poggio Murella
829 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
4.1 mi away
Hotel della Fortezza
Hotel della Fortezza
#1 of 7 in Sorano
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovana Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovana Hotel & Resort

Property: Sovana Hotel & Resort
Address: Via del Duomo 66, 58010 Sovana, Sorano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano > Sovana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sovana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovana Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old country house, completely restored and sourrounded by a olive trees park. In the middle of the countryside and facing the Romanic S.Pietro e Paolo Cathedral of Sovana village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sovana Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing