We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sovana Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sovana
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“charming resort”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we spent six nights at this hotel. beautiful, peacefull small hotel. wide rooms, very clean. beautiful architecture. the staff was very helpfull and wellcoming. most of all the wonderful garden. breakfast was small but very nice.

Room Tip: superior room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    45
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
78
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Guided by good reviews we decided to stay here for 6 nights. Initial impressions were very good, with beautiful gardens leading to the entrance. The hotel itself is very well designed with beautiful artwork and an eclectic mix of modern and antique. Sadly, this is where the good news ended. The breakfast is very poor. No cooked options at all, no croissants or similar, poor quality yoghurt and dry tasteless cakes. The room whilst spacious, was not that clean. When we removed the bedcover there were clouds of dust and during our stay we spent of our time sneezing. No dressing gowns or slippers (which are the hallmark of a 4* hotel) either. So in summary, a good location and a beautiful hotel, but let down by cleanliness and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveller075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Sovana for a couple of days. It is a lovely resort, and a great getaway. Sovana is a fairly tiny town, some 2 hours away from Siena, so it is an ideal please if looking for some downtime to unwind.

Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMaria90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Last stop on our tour and was pleasantly surprised. The town of Sovana was absolutely lovely. The common areas of the hotel are leery stylish, the room did not quite match up to this and the bathroom was very disappointing. Not sure why no upgrade when hotel almost empty. Gardens great. Pool for some reason had hazard tape all round it. Would definitely recommend for a low key break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

I have never written a review before but I just had to after our wonderful 3 night stay at this beautiful hotel. Firstly, you are greeted by a very friendly and helpful staff. Then the hotel has a private car park. The walk from the car park back to the hotel is through their lovely garden and past the swimming pool that looks like a fantasy pool/fountain. My husband and our daughter kept saying, "This is amazing!" The common areas are comfortable with WIFI. Breakfast is out on their patio overlooking the rose garden. The breakfast offerings are extensive and good.

Our room was very comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking the main road and the Duomo. The bathrooms are modern, the A/C is good, the linens are of good quality. They provide discounts to the archeological sites and a local restaurant.

Sovana is a small town frozen in time and evidently off the American tourist map. We didn't meet any American tourists, European and British tourists, but no American. No tour buses, no cruise ship hoards, just beautiful country side, a free natural hotspring and amazing towns built out of the tufa rock. Just a one hour drive west from Orvieto and you are in an amazingly beautiful yet sleepy area. Totally worth a journey, and if you come stay at The Sovana Hotel and Resort.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We could not be more pleased with this place.
We had a view of the medieval church at the end of the village from our window.
The bathroom is spacious and so well equipped.
The bed was perfect and the linens of the highest quality.
The common areas are very tastefully furnished and there is free Wi Fi.
Breakfast is not the usual Italian 'only sweet' things style, there were eggs, fruit and a selection of local cheeses.
It is so tranquil here, definitely a place to come and be able to totally de-stress.
The only down note was the hairdryer which is one of those nozzle type things that's stuck to the wall. But then that is only being picky.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

--gorgeous grounds
--reasonable prices
--good breakfast
--hard bed
--minimal amenities
--nice bathrooms
--nicest property in Sovana
--10% off bill at restaurant

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbruceSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scilla
Hotel Scilla
#2 of 2 in Sovana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Relais Valle Orientina
4.6 mi away
Villaggio Le Querce
Villaggio Le Querce
#4 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hotel Resort Antico Casale di Scansano
4.1 mi away
Hotel della Fortezza
Hotel della Fortezza
#1 of 7 in Sorano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.0 mi away
Terme di Sorano
Terme di Sorano
#2 of 7 in Sorano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovana Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovana Hotel & Resort

Property: Sovana Hotel & Resort
Address: Via del Duomo 66, 58010 Sovana, Sorano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Sorano > Sovana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sovana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sovana Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old country house, completely restored and sourrounded by a olive trees park. In the middle of the countryside and facing the Romanic S.Pietro e Paolo Cathedral of Sovana village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sovana Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing