We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great start before flying to spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Neath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great start before flying to spain”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

arrived a little early room ready and very clean ,overlooking side of airport, hotel is very clean,the staff are all very friendly and the breakfast was ready at 3.30 am and was great,the food on the evening menu was limited but up yo you if you want to eat there ,the transport to and from the airport were first class ,overall a great experience and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonySWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your comments. All feedback is shared with the staff and the staff and management team will be happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering great service and we hope to see you stay with us in the future.

Rachel Ford
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    320
    140
    58
    43
See reviews for
251
308
51
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Clean and basic. It's a really good location after landing a CWL. Free taxi to the airport too. If you just need somewhere to sleep before or after a flight is fine - just don't expect good customer service!

The staff really couldn't care and was more evident when some off duty staff came in moaning about a mystery shop type guest that they had recently had in full view of guests.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am very dissapointed to read that you did not experience the excellent customer service that I would have expected from the staff. I can asure you that this is not the usual standard of service and I will be passing your comments on to all of the staff to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention and i hope this does not influence any decision you may have about staying with us again.

Rachel Ford
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed for one night before our trip from Cardiff airport and left the car there for two weeks. The hotel was very clean with everything you needed. The staff were superb from the reception staff to the drivers who took you and collected you from the airport. If we ever fly from cardiff again we will definately book this hotel. Thank you Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montydog29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next stay with us.


Rachel Ford
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel the night before our flight due to an early morning start. Couldn't fault anything about it, the staff were friendly and efficient. Room was spacious and clean also the bathrooms. The breakfast at 4am was very nice with plenty of choice, which was included in the room price. Taxi provided by the hotel to the terminal building at no cost.
Take Away food may be ordered form several local outlets for delivery to the hotel who will then will provide all the plates and cutely, this can be eaten in the bar lounge area.
The hotel was exceptional value for money and we will definitely stay there again I would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fly2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
thank you so much for your kind comments which I have fed back to my staff. Customer Service is our number one priority and we are pleased to have been able to serve you on your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

After our positive experience in December’s snow and ice we pre-booked a parking package through APH, which offered a better rate than booking direct. There is not much we can add to our previous review. The hotel is very well placed and the quadruple glazed rooms are very acceptable, although the mattress of the standard size double bed was a cheap and nasty “roll together” type which needs to be improved. The shower was still great, the bathroom lighting superb and the large fluffy towels were impressive. The continental breakfast items were still very good but the cooked scrambled eggs (probably powder) and sausages (probably soya) were still poor. As before, we just parked in front of the hotel in one of the relatively few empty parking spaces and as before we wondered what happens in the main holiday season. We’re happy to recommend this hotel, so long as we get a parking space on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Having tickets for the Wales v Ireland 6 Nations rugby match we looked for a hotel outside Cardiff centre due to the breathtaking prices hoteliers were charging We stayed at the Holiday Inn at the airport and had a fabulous 2 night stay. The staff, service, quality of room etc were second to none. Would definitely recommend staying there. Even though we overlooked the runway, you couldn't hear planes taking off or landing and it was nice to be able to see the runway from our bedroom.

First class stay - thanks to all

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegreen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you very much for your review and joining us for a great game of rugby! All feedback is shared with the staff and the staff and management team will be happy to know that you enjoyed your weekend with us. We pride ourselves on offering great service and we hope to see you stay with us in the future.

Just to remind you, we have complimentary transport into the city centre which can be booked upon check in.

Alyson Greening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala de los Gazules, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We were forced to stay at the Holiday Inn because the company we had booked a hire car from was closed for the night, despite confirming our booking (and taking our money) for a flight arriving at 10 pm! The hotel staff were friendly and efficient, and the room was clean and comfortable, but unfortunately the nice hot shower I was looking forward to after a long day's travel was not forthcoming; the water was lukewarm.

Breakfast was another disappointment. I'm not sure whether we were just there on an off-day, but I have never seen scrambled eggs quite the colour and texture of the ones served here. And as for the sausages, I suspect they had been reheated in a deep fat fryer at least twice, the skin was so leathery. There was no bacon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomorecamping4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDFAP-GSM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review of our staff and rooms. We appreciate all feedback and it is very important to us in ensuring our hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly. With regard to your shower experience, all our showers are fitted with temperature limiters which are set to 38 degrees C. This is done to prevent accidental burns which is so important, particularly with regard to young children and the elderly. This temperature can be overridden by the guest however by depressing the button on the temperature control adjuster.

I am very sorry that the eggs and sausages were not to our normal standard on the day of your stay and I have given this feedback to my breakfast staff. In addition my management team are taking steps to ensure that issues with quality are addressed in a timely manner so that we can continue to give our guests great service.

I look forward to seeing you again on your next stay

Alyson Greening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhoose
0.5 mi away
Celtic International Hotel
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
2.0 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
5.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
2.0 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Address: Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Rhoose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes from Cardiff International Airport and 10 miles from the Cardiff City Centre, our clean modern hotel is all you need for your business or leisure needs. We offer an inclusive continental breakfast with three hot items as well as a free shuttle service to Cardiff Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Hotel Rhoose
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Rhoose, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing