We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal choice for Cardiff Airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ideal choice for Cardiff Airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is the second time we've used this hotel to save us the early (very) morning drive to the airport. The first time we used their parking and transfers. This time we booked through a third party site, as more economical, and used the hotel but parked in the long stay 2 parking area at the airport. This was slightly more inconvenient before the holiday as we had to drive the car to the airport (no real distance) and repark there, but on our return was easier as we didn't have to wait for the hotel shuttle bus. The major disadvantage if you are a IHG Reward Club member is that you get no points booking this way.
The hotel itself is very clean, the room was comfortable and the staff were efficient and friendly. We had to leave at about 5am to go to the airport, but we were pleasantly surprised that breakfast started at 4am. Well done the hotel.
We will certainly stop here again should we have an early flight from Cardiff airport.

Room Tip: As they have smoking and non-smoking rooms, make your request accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMac89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your loyalty and for making the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport your hotel of choice whenever you are staying in the area.
I am very happy to read that all facilities and services offered have been consistently to your satisfaction and that the staff handled any queries efficiently.
Thank you very much for recommending us to family and friends and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    307
    131
    52
    38
See reviews for
236
293
48
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishguard, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

stopped here one night march 9th on route to our holidaY IDEAL HOTEL TO FLY FROM AND PARK YOUR CAR also stopped again i night on our return from hols as we live over 100 miles from airport and came in on a late night flight excellent as a stop over plus they put on complementary transport to airport=== breakfast we felt was vastly improved from our last stay here no complaints

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and for making us the hotel of choice when flying out from Cardiff Airport.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Holiday Inn last weekend as we had tickets for the Wales V Scotland match at the Millennium Stadium. We had tried to get somewhere located in the city centre, but to no avail. I'll be completely honest, I was dubious about stopping at the Holiday Inn. It seemed too far away.
How wrong I was.
We couldn't check in before the match as rooms were still being serviced. However we were able to store our bags safely and receive our key cards. As it was so busy, taxis were a rare commodity, but there was the T20 bus departing from the back of the hotel every 20 minutes, which dropped us right into Cardiff, near our gate for the match and right outsideThe Great Western public house. It was £5 return and we got straight back on the bus at the end of the evening. So location wise, it's excellent!
On the whole, staff were extremely helpful, polite and courteous (particularly Rachel, day duty manager and Carl, night duty manager) I do have an issue with the housekeeping staff. Although the next morning we were up and dressed for a Christening at 10am and very blatantly ready to leave, some of the cleaning staff were rather brusque with us and other members of the family/our party about us exiting the rooms. That's my only gripe. I appreciate it's a tight schedule, but the cleaners did not need to be so sharp with customers who were not holding them up in any way.
Me and my husband had a very decent meal at the hotel on the Saturday night, and breakfast was free and in plentiful supply.
The room was spotless, it was a very quiet and comfortable night. We had access to a laundry room with an iron which came in handy. Also there was free internet access.
I am so pleased we went here, and that my reservations about being too far away were unsubstantiated. We come to Cardiff a lot and we will definitely use Holiday Inn again.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience here on tripadvisor.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the location has been better then expected.
I am glad that the staff were helpful, polite and courteous and were able to accomodate your needs.
It would be great if you could get in touch with me via e-mail under deputy@hiexcardiffairport.co.uk to discuss the issues you have had with our housekeeping team.
Thank you very much in advance.
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWANSEA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Third time in a year excellent as always, staff helpful, transfers like clockwork, complimetary breakfast a bonus.A great way to start your holiday. Booking to stay and park costs not much more than airparks parking, refreshed and sorry I didnt book on my return flight for another night.

Room Tip: Doesnt matter what floor your on, triple glazing works a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEANO47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Sir,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your loyalty and for making Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport the hotel of choice when you are in the area.
I am glad that you consistently enjoy your stays with us and that all staff members have been helpful.
i hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Very pleasant helpful staff, a comfortable room with wi-fi, en suite and TV and a good selection for breakfast. For pick-up or send-off on flights, it's conveniently only 300 yards from airport. Car parkling at the hotel is a cheaper option than the official airport car park.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding you recent stay here on tripadvisor.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that all facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight after the Wales vs Scotland game. About 11 miles from the centre of Cardiff, about a 20 minute drive, hotel is situated next to Cardiff Airport.

Booked through Bookings.com and reservation was pre-booked and paid in advance. I use the Glasgow one on business regularly, so know what I am going to get. Good value.

Room was modern and clean, with flat screen TV as a third bed was put up as requested. Plenty of sockets to charge my lads mobile phones.

Bar area was reasonably sized with TVs showing sport. Had a reasonable selection of beers and drinks, but not a huge quantity.

Breakfast was standard Holiday Inn Express fare ,a reasonably wide selection of cereals, tinned and fresh fruit, yoghurts, toast, croissants and muffins plus scramble, sausages and beans. No bacon or egg variations- but they don't serve this at Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank U411483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments regarding you recent stay here on tripadvisor.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that all facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stay at this hotel quite frequently,since it gives me piece of mine that the airport is very close for an early morning flight. The hotel is at its best ferrying guests to and from the airport. very early in the morning, The staff are cheerful even at an early hour. However for the rest of the day you might be invisible for the amount of attention. One morning as I passed through the lobby a member of staff said ' Good morning Sir,' I was so surprised that for a moment I could not reply. Staff seemed to be so busy among themselves , guests seem to be a hindrance. Ask a question and the reply is short and curt, wishing that I had not asked in the first place. Check in is quick and efficient but impersonal., rather similar to the check in at any airport, where I am sure many staff worked at one time. I will be using the hotel again but over the years I know what to expect. My other irritation is that the hotel is close to the main road and the bus stop to and from the city yet it is fenced off and a long detour is necessary via the car park and a roundabout to reach the stop that is only yards from the building itself..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaggylamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thnak you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us here on tripadvisor.
Woud you be so kind to get in touch with me with the dates you have stayed with us so I can further investigate which memebrs of staff were around when you stayed as we normally get comments praising the staffs friednliness. Please send an e-mail to deputy@hiexcardiffairport.co.uk or call me on 01446711117
Thank you very much in advance
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhoose
6.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aberthaw House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#4 of 5 in Barry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Address: Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Rhoose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes from Cardiff International Airport and 10 miles from the Cardiff City Centre, our clean modern hotel is all you need for your business or leisure needs. We offer an inclusive continental breakfast with three hot items as well as a free shuttle service to Cardiff Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Hotel Rhoose
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Rhoose, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing