We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal if next day flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“ideal if next day flight”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night prior to going on holiday, It is basic which is what we expected and for what we paid was excellent value. The menu for evening was good, breakfast was limited but again was what we expected. It was quiet considering you could see the runway from our room. if we were flying from Cardiff we would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramboyandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind words and high scores.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all services and facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
Please be assured that I will share your comments with the whole team.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    324
    143
    59
    43
See reviews for
259
312
51
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a big wedding do in Barry. Room is quadruple glazed, entirely functional, well equipped, very clean. Excellent power shower. Air conditioning was a bit noisy. Breakfast is basic but fine - except for the coffee, which is horrible. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Don't stay here if you want charm or character, do stay here if you want peace of mind.

Room Tip: All the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephogrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction. My aplogies that you did not like the coffee offered during breakfast.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel meny times.when we have an early flight,it is only 1 night but its always very clean and the staff are great,its very quite when you think its next to the airport.You can have a good breakfast from about 3 30 and cooked after 6am what more could you ask for.we are O A P from the Rhondda Valley.

Room Tip: we always have non smokeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am very happy that all facilities we have offered you have been to your satisfaction.
I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This was a business trip and the hotel and room was fine. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were Clean and air conditioned which was essential due to the warm muggy nights. Breakfast is basic but then this is an express. Surprisingly quite even though it's next to the airport. I would stay here again without any hesitation. They also operate a parking eye scheme so ensure you have entered your reg number into the machine at check in to avoid paying a fine.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind words and high scores.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all services and facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
Please be assured that I will share your comments with the whole team.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here during 2013, and again had an early flight of 0610 hours so decided to look for a hotel & parking package. Must be popular as parking was a little tight, however the restaurant was not busy. Checkin was slick without any problem, the only minor buggerance is having to go back to your car to put a parking ticket in it - having this emailed would sort out the problem (plus save on costs as the customer would print it?)

The room was very acceptable, and looked really clean. Air con was welcome and it was a really hot day so we could cool the room down prior to settling down to a night's sleep. Not much has changed in the restaurant (why would it?) the food is basic but good and reasonable value too. Staff were all very friendly and polite. Th proximity to the airport is a real bonus with a transfer time of a few minutes but you do not suffer noise from the aircraft due to the really good insulation/glazing. Was a little worried on returning and speaking to the hotel - they had no driver so was sending a taxi, two others turned up waiting for a taxi too and one taxi was sent for 4 people with luggae. More by luck than judgement we all fitted into the taxi!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments and you high scores.
I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff have been excellent.
I am very sorry about the issues you have encountered during your airport pick up but please be assures that we do take our customer comments very seriously and I hope you will see an improvement the next time you are staying with us.
Thank you again.
Kind Regards,
Jessica
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After staying overnight last August and paying for the car park facilities before our holiday, this year myself, my wife and 3 children were looking forward to our return stay as it was the "start" of our holiday.
So we checked in on 20th July through Victoria and all was straight forward. We put our bags in our hotel room and were happy again with the standard of our room.
Our children were excited about going downstairs to use the play facilities, my son was looking forward to using the Xbox but we couldn't get the channel to play the game. We did mention it to the staff but no one seemed interested so we moved on to the pool table. My seven year old son used his own money to play pool (50 pence) but only one ball came out so back to the bar to mention this and was told by Victoria that we couldn't have a refund but we could have a 50 pence reduction off the next bar transaction....not the end of the world by a long shot but what if we didn't want to spend any more money at the bar (we had paid food for food and drink for all of us an hour before this)
So, "lets have a game of air ice hockey then kids" off we went to play and low and behold there was no puck.....back to the bar again and was told "yeah it's been missing for a few days" Grrrrrr.....what was an air of excitement beforehand turned into dejection for the kids...
I understand that the xbox and air ice hockey are free but there seems to be no urgency in getting things sorted.
I probably would stay there again as the room and 15 day parking are good value for £74.99 but when you got excited children with you its the little things that matter. Maybe a soft drink for each of the kids would have been a nice touch.
In my opinion maybe the area could do with another good hotel to keep the HI on its toes. Please don't tell me about the Sky plaza as we walked out of there after enquiring about a stay last year.
Transport going to the airport was fine though on return 04-08-14 around 17.30 we phoned for the return minibus but was told they didn't have any seats free but they would send a complimentary taxi...fair enough. Upon waiting for the taxi to arrive I approached a hotel minbus driver at the short stay car park asking was he mistakenly waiting for us and he told us there was only 2 on his minibus and for us to jump on....not a problem just poor communication.
Overall happy with the stay, food and drink but felt sorry for our children who were disappointed compared to our stay last August.
Cheers.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a bad room, though we had a view of the runway which was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay here on tripadvisior.
I am so sorry to hear that your stay has not been hassle free and that we have disappointed your son due to technical issues with the equipment offered to entertain our younger guests.
I can assure you that your comments are important to us and we have checked all equipment and they are now in working order.
Please accept my sincerest apology and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future to show you that the experience you have had is not our usual standard.
Thank you again for your comments.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here recently because we had an early morning flight the next day. No complaints at all, the room was plenty big enough and comfortable, staff friendly and happy with evening meal. Very happy they did a very early breakfast, it was continental but we filled up on cereal and toast ready for our early flight. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn Exp... M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind words and high scores here on TripAdvisor.
I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that all services and facilities offered have been to your satisfaction.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessica Gresens
Deputy GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhoose
0.5 mi away
Celtic International Hotel Cardiff Airport
2.0 mi away
The Mount Rooms
The Mount Rooms
#4 of 5 in Barry
47 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
3.3 mi away
Tadross Hotel
Tadross Hotel
#5 of 5 in Barry
145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport
Address: Port Road, Rhoose CF62 3BT, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Rhoose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rhoose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes from Cardiff International Airport and 10 miles from the Cardiff City Centre, our clean modern hotel is all you need for your business or leisure needs. We offer an inclusive continental breakfast with three hot items as well as a free shuttle service to Cardiff Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Hotel Rhoose
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Airport Rhoose, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing