We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Brandon B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“3 night break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

As by other reviews this was a 3 night break via KGB. the Bay Horse Inn is a place where to me you don't have to wander far for good food and very good priced drinks. The room we were in was spacious and we had the four poster bed.. it is slightly dated but it was clean, radiator worked and there was a heater if needed. Towels and bedding clean and room cleaned daily. the staff are all friendly and also the locals. The food was gorgeous and this was with a power cut on the first night which lasted into breakfast and you could see there was a struggle but the chef pulled this off.
Will definitely look to return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    140
    53
    26
    22
See reviews for
49
195
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was with some trepidation we travelled to the Bay Horse Inn, after reading the September reviews on Tripadvisor, but we were more than happy when we arrived and saw for ourselves. Our chalet was very comfortable, a large room, spotless bedding, plenty of tea/coffee and an electric heater to supplement the central heating. The bathroom was a bit musty, but only needs upgrading-plenty of fluffy white towels as mentioned by other guests. The welcome was very warm, the staff were extremely helpful. It was perfect to be able to park outside our chalet and wander in the back door of the pub. We ate here on the first night, the restaurant was warm and the food was tasty and plentiful-we couldn;t manage a dessert! We didn't eat breakfast, so cannot comment. We stayed on a Wednesday night, which was Quiz Night, so we joined in with the locals and other guests and had a fun evening - no, we didn't win!! We were on a KGB deal so this stay was great value for money, but has also introduced us to the area - we will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a kgb deal - excellent value. Staff very helpful, apart from one breakfast waitress who kept disappearing so we couldn't get more tea etc, and wasn't helpful at all. Food in the bar in the evenings was excellent, and really good value. Our room was clean and quite spacious, and everything worked. If they sorted out the problems with breakfast, it would be much better. We were not offerred any toast, apart from with our cooked breakfast, and there was no butter/marge put out to use - we had to ask for everything, and as the waitress wasn't always around this was difficult! Overall, a very good place to stay, and lots of places in the area to visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillianmufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a KGB deal and it was great value for money.The staff were always cheery & helpful.The accommodation was a chalet type room in the back carpark area and they were clean and warm,although in need of an upgrade, we loved the stay especially because we could take our little dog,and she came into the pub taproom where all the locals made a fuss of her (£2.00 a pint of Fosters was even better!)
Would not hesitate to stay there again,food and company were excellent! well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MULLY1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked a deal through KGB, which was very inexpensive- for what we paid the accommodation was great. Clean, large bedroom with en-suite. Lovely white towels. Close to many tourist areas including Durham, the coast and Beamish museum.The evening meals were also great value e.g. home made curry with rice/chips and popadoms including a free pint (£4.99). Fish and chips were delicious.Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Bay Horse Inn is an ideal base for exploring Durham and surrounding areas, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food (breakfasts and evening meals) was excellent. We have stayed here before (2012) but from some of the previous 'tripadvisor' comments I thought the place had gone downhill, this was not so. The rooms look a little tired but they were clean, the bedding was clean and that is a huge plus. The dining room was fine and the bar areas ok too.The Bay Horse Inn,for the price paid, was a really good 'deal'.We will definitely go again.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 and were able to park outside the room each night, the rooms are ground floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is not an hotel. It is an old coaching in set in a village on a rather busy road. That said, it is clean and comfortable albeit a little tired in the furnishings. The rooms are set in what appear to be converted stables and parking is outside your room. Free wifi is available in the bar. The staff are extremely attentive and efficient and nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is fresh and cooked to order. This is our second visit and we will certainly be visiting again. Booked through Groupon or KGB this is certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barneybee_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
2.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
7.7 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
0.3 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#2 of 2 in Brandon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Inn Brandon, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing