We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and it is good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Brandon B&B and Inns
Kirkby in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Second visit and it is good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was a two night stay on a discount [KGB] deal. This is always a friendly place and the staff are very helpful and do their best. Dinner on both nights was very good; their steak and ale pie is exceptional! I don't like the modern trend for huge chips but the portion was twice as large as I could possibly eat.

There are lots of things to do in the area. We visited Shildon Railway Museum [the main reason for the visit] and Beamish and the delightful church and castle at Brancepeth. There are plenty of walks and Durham is close at hand but we had no time for that!

The room was comfortable. Other reviewers have made comments on the rooms, not all favourable. I think the management should take one room at a time out for a day and blitz it. That should sort out any complaints! Room 7 had a nasty stain on the carpet. The shower head had lost parts of the adjuster. That is a for instance. Neither were serious, just a little off putting. This is a 2* hotel not the Ritz but easily solved. How long does it take to check a room?

However the place is delightfully friendly and welcoming such that all is forgiven! The staff are wonderful! Breakfast? Not the worst I have had or the best but adequate. I look forward to coming again!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 7 [see above!]
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirkbyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    141
    54
    26
    23
See reviews for
49
196
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasant pub/ inn . We had a discount voucher deal . The food and drink was good value for the money . It was located in a quiet village but was able to access many of the roads to Durham , Newcastle , Tynemouth which was a beautiful costsl town situated near Whitby bay .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy6627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Three of us stayed for one night 16/1/14 for £30 total including a breakfast we enjoyed (apart from the lukewarm coffee - apparently the kettle is old but that is no excuse. The room was clean, the portable heater efficient and we had a double and two singles - ideal for our purpose. It was generally quiet as apart from the inn and set back from the road. They only gave us two bath towels but we had taken some ourselves. They let themselves down by little things which could be easily fixed.

Room Tip: Our room - 6 - may have been a bit bigger as it was in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdrop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a 2 night KGB deal starting on 9th January 2014. Having read previous mixed reviews we were a bit apprehensive as to what we would experience. From the moment we arrived at Reception we could not have wished for a more pleasant stay. The staff were lovely, the room was warm, clean and very comfortable.

We were entitled to a main course meal and bottle of wine for the first night but as we were having a curry, the young lady taking the order suggested we pay for the pubs Thursday night special curry and pint for less than a fiver each and saving our meal and wine for the next evening which we did. This gave us a bit more cash to spend in the lovely city of Durham which is very welcome for us pensioners.

We had 4 star service all round. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smiler658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Superb food, huge portion, freshly cooked and great value. Yes rooms are basic and in need of a makeover however it was clean and certainly value for money. We paid £59 KGB deal for 2 nights including a main course, it really was great value. Beer cheap. Portable heater needed but worked really well, room warm in half an hour.
I would like to thank the staff in particular the Chef - brilliant.
Stayed 10.01.14

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed 10/01/14 in room 10 ( the one with the four poster in )
Great staff making you feel welcome as soon as you arrive, the rooms were clean and comfortable they are chalet type situated at the rear of the pub car park.
We only stayed overnight but we dined in the hotel bar and ordered the pie of the day ,my wife had scampi.The meals were delicious all seemed to be home made.To follow a pint of Theakstons which was superb.

For a budget stay it was great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 10 seems to be the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelsleeper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

It seems this place has not updated its rooms in at least the last two years judging by previous complaints. I should like to add my complaint. Chalet dirty, cold (5 degrees outside and dropping) with central heating not working - probably for some time. We asked for it to be turned on but after 30 minutes there was no sign of warmth so we were given a portable convector heater which was as much use as a candle.
The smell of rancid oil from the kitchen was enough to gag a camel, and the menu consisted of 5 dishes typical of a greasy spoon.
The only staff was a barmaid/receptionist who could not do anything for us so after 40 minutes "stay" we left for home.
If this appears on kgb offers DO NOT BUY IT. You only find out what it's like after you have presented your voucher and kgb don't want to know.
Those who found this place so wonderful must have very low expectations.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brandon
2.4 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.1 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Inn

Property: The Bay Horse Inn
Address: 8 Brandon Village, Brandon, Durham DH7 8ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham > Brandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bay Horse Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Inn Brandon, Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing