We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel fro which to visit Loire Chateaux” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Marcay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Marcay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good hotel fro which to visit Loire Chateaux”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Fine hotel Friendly staff, keen to ensure your comfort. Nice pool area, good views and pleasant gardens. Great self cook buffet breakfast. Less expensive rooms in the annexe around the courtyard. Very good restaurant for dinner, which with good weather is outside.
A good stopping off point while en route through France, worth staying the extra day

Room Tip: economy leads to the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMONDARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear SIMONDARMSTRONG,
I am pleased that you've enjoyed your stay at the Château. Thank you so much for your nice comment that I will not fail to share with the rest of the staff. We hope to see you soon at the Château,
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    140
    34
    16
    5
See reviews for
74
313
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Chateau de Marcay for only one night, unfortunately, but found it superb. The room was large and very well appointed with a bright, modern bathroom and lovely amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the windows could be opened for fresh air.

The public areas of the Chateau are very comfortable and the staff could not be more welcoming and helpful with any request.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and it was delicious. The presentation, the portions and the food was perfect. The setting of the restaurant is very considerately laid out in that the tables are far enough away from each other that it is private yet the room still felt quite intimate. Again, the wait staff were excellent.

The breakfast room too is bright and airy and the options for breakfast were varied. Again, the food was very good.

We will definitely return to Chateau de Marcay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank modenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear modenn,
First of all, thank you for having taken the time to let a comment on our House. I am pleased to see that you've enjoyed the Château and its unique setting and its gastronomic restaurant. We work hard every day to make our guests stay unforgettable... I hope we will welcome you soon again,
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I can not possibly say enough wonderful things about our stay at Chateau Marcay. The heart and soul of Chateau Marcay is Stephanie Mollard and her most gracious and lovely staff. We traveled with our two children (ages 8 and 12) and I will tell you we all fell in love with all of them. They treated our children like family, they took care of us at every turn, they laughed with us, and in the end all we could think is "How fast can we make it back here!". Although we traveled through Europe for nearly a month and saw much beauty....this was the highlight of our trip. I have never recommended anywhere with this much enthusiasm. Our room was perfect, the food was remarkable, and the grounds calming. We reminisce about our time there, we miss their sparkling Rose, the beauty, peace, and the wonderful new friends we met at the Chateau....until we meet again! The Abdalla Family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Camile A,
It was with a great pleasure that I discoreved your kind comment on our establishment! And I am so glad that you've had an unforgettable stay with us. I will not fail to share it with my staff. It is always gratifying to have that kind of feedback because we really work hard to make the story of the Château become yours! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you this Winter to maybe finally meet the White lady!! Anyway, thank you again especially for that nice picture of us at the restaurant, it is really heart warming... The horses, Twitter and Diadème say hello to the children and also hope to see them soon!
Sincerely yours, Stéphanie Mollard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is one of the best places I have stayed in my life. I can't even describe how beautiful it is.
Be prepared to use a car or something because it is quite out of the way. Perfect for a romantic trip. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Dimitra P,
Let me thank for having taken the time to comment our house. I am glad that you've spent a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely yours,
Stéphanie MOLLARD,general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

If I had known how lovely the Chateau de Marcay was, we would have stayed longer! We only had one night in Chinon, so we spent it at the Chateau, and I am so glad we did.

The staff was positively lovely and spoke great English. Our room - Room #2 - was large (a bedroom, a sitting room, and a bathroom) and even though there was no AC, we found we didn't really need it. The "shower" was really a bathtub with a handheld shower nozzle, which probably would have been annoying after a few nights, but we didn't really mind it for the night we were there.

The grounds are absolutely GORGEOUS - so picturesque and serene. We had drinks out on the lawn shortly after arriving and I don't think I've ever seen my boyfriend so relaxed.

We had dinner and breakfast there as well, and both were delicious. For dinner, we did their lobster tasting menu out on the terrace and having that incredible meal while watching the beautiful Loire sunset is one of my favorite memories of our entire two week trip.

My boyfriend is already dying to go back, and I'm right there with him.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgirl53015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear kedler224,
I want to warmly thank you for your kind comment on our House. And I am glad that you've spent a such wonderful time in Marçay. Just let me apologize for the handheld shower, please be sure that we would have done something if you had told us. Anyway, I am relieved that it didn't spoil your stay with us and we will be pleased to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours, Stéphanie MOLLARD, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here last night, 7th September on our way back up from the dordogne to st malo so a perfect halfway point.
The Chateau is beautiful in a lovely quiet location and the gardens/pool are lovely.
The room was very warm with no air con and also very small with no shower. The walls must have been pretty thin as I could hear the man next door snoring all night, needless to say I didn't get much sleep.
Not the hotels fault but there were an incredibly rude American couple eating next to us in the restaurant who commented children shouldn't be allowed in that type of restaurant (we had our 1year old with us) so we ended up eating our dinner in our bedroom and staying cooped up in there for the evening.
So sadly for us we didn't enjoy it as much as we should have, shame as we would have paid for an extra night otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear AnnaDavies,
First of all I wanted to thank you for having taken the time to let a comment on our House. We are glad that you've enjoyed the Château location and its swimmingpool, it is indeed a quiet and peaceful spot. Concerning the air coditionning, we unfortunately don’t have it in our bedrooms. It is a big and difficult project that we are working on but it is not easy to install that in that kind of establishment. Still, Regarding the bedroom size, you booked a standard room in the West Wing of the Château with a little private terrace. Our standard rooms are all 30m2 and some of them have a shower and a bathtub or only a bathtub with shower. We are very sorry that you haven't slept much during the night because of one of our clients, but the walls of the Château are quite thick because they are made of stone. Be sure that if you had have mentionned that to us, you would try to find you a another room. Finally, we are also sorry for the incovenience you had at our restaurant. We indeed asked you if everything was fine when you've asked to finish your meal in your room: we could have put you at a more secluded table... And children are very welcome in our restaurant! And this is because we want our House to have a relaxed and family atmosphere. We really hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again to make your stay unforgettable.
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful chateau. Rooms were spacious and unique. Bathrooms were up to date.
Clean and elegant. Food was delicious and wines were superb. Nice pool and tranquil atmosphere. Staff was professional and curteous.

Room Tip: If summertime - no AC so ask for high floor so you get the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear nina m,
Thank you so much for your lovely comment about our House. I will not fail to tell it to our staff. It is always motivating to read this to continu to do our best to welcome you. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay the Château and appreciated its location. We hope to see you back soon,
best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, Directrice générale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
21.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
24.9 mi away
Chateau de Beauvois
Chateau de Beauvois
#2 of 2 in Luynes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Marcay

Property: Chateau de Marcay
Address: Route du Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon > Marcay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Marcay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau De Marcay is located in the village of Marcay. The hotel has extensive gardens and an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and gastronomic restaurant. The 15th century Chateau offers large guestrooms with traditional upholstery and free Wi-Fi. The Chateau De Marcay's restaurant serves gourmet cuisine with seasonal ingredients from the kitchen garden. Guests can tour the Chateau's 12 000 bottle cellar and sample the fine wines. The Chateau De Marcay is 8 kilometres from Chinon's ancient fort on the river Vienne. It's also an ideal base for hiking and cycling routes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Marcay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Marcay Chinon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing