We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path but worth it”
Review of Chateau de Marcay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau de Marcay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but worth it”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's sometimes hard to add anything new when a place gets so many nice reviews that we agree with but I would add the following: Stephanie the GM cares about the property with an obvious passion and it shows. She was kind enough to introduce us to the horses which was just really sweet and my daughter just loved it. Sebastian the sommelier could simply not be any better and the tasting was fun and informative despite our 20 plus years of tasting. The food was so good that we ate there all three nights. Our only complaints would be that the walls are thin if you are in the main chateaux and the decor is moving past it's prime. Nevertheless, the bathrooms were very clean and modern. This property is also good if you are visiting the western side of the loire (west of Tours) but a bit far from the Chambord side of the Loire unless you're prepared for some extra driving.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear AmericanCurmudgeon,
Thank you very much for your nice review and for your kind words about the team. I'm glad you enjoyed our cuisine, our château... and our horses! It is true that you have to drive a few kilometers from Chinon but this is the condition for access to this so privileged environment...
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Stéphanie MOLLARD, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    146
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
79
328
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We recently stayed here for a Family wedding and were blown away by every aspect of our stay here. The property is absolutely heavenly and gorgeous, the rooms are adorable, the food and drink phenomenal, and the staff just like family. We did NOT want to leave, EVER. This is an absolute MUST for anyone travelling to the south of France!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denvergrl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Denvergrl3,
Thank you very much for this nice comment that you took the time to write. I am delighted that you enjoyed the family atmosphere that reigns in the Château de Marçay, our greatest hope is that our guests feel "at home".
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again for next opportunity.
Best regards,
Stéphanie MOLLARD, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

When we arrived at Chateau de Marcay, the spectacular setting and beautiful chateau took our breath away. Our room was very large and well appointed with private terrace and lovely views. The staff was warm and welcoming. We had a tour of the wine cellar with their sommelier, Sebastian. We would highly recommend it! He is not only very knowledgable, but you can see how much he loves what he does everyday. Dinner was served in a lovely setting with attentive and highly professional staff. Of course, Sebastian is always there to help with wine selection. The grounds are so peaceful and charming...it's the perfect place for tranquility. I was so sad to leave, but hoping to come back someday!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Rose G,
I want to warmly thank you for your lovely comment about our establishment. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated the unique setting of Château. I will not fail to share it with the entire staff. It is always satisfying to see that our work bears its fruits! We hope to welcome you soon again,
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Fine hotel Friendly staff, keen to ensure your comfort. Nice pool area, good views and pleasant gardens. Great self cook buffet breakfast. Less expensive rooms in the annexe around the courtyard. Very good restaurant for dinner, which with good weather is outside.
A good stopping off point while en route through France, worth staying the extra day

Room Tip: economy leads to the courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMONDARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear SIMONDARMSTRONG,
I am pleased that you've enjoyed your stay at the Château. Thank you so much for your nice comment that I will not fail to share with the rest of the staff. We hope to see you soon at the Château,
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at Chateau de Marcay for only one night, unfortunately, but found it superb. The room was large and very well appointed with a bright, modern bathroom and lovely amenities. The bed was very comfortable and the windows could be opened for fresh air.

The public areas of the Chateau are very comfortable and the staff could not be more welcoming and helpful with any request.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and it was delicious. The presentation, the portions and the food was perfect. The setting of the restaurant is very considerately laid out in that the tables are far enough away from each other that it is private yet the room still felt quite intimate. Again, the wait staff were excellent.

The breakfast room too is bright and airy and the options for breakfast were varied. Again, the food was very good.

We will definitely return to Chateau de Marcay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear modenn,
First of all, thank you for having taken the time to let a comment on our House. I am pleased to see that you've enjoyed the Château and its unique setting and its gastronomic restaurant. We work hard every day to make our guests stay unforgettable... I hope we will welcome you soon again,
Best regards,
Stéphanie Mollard, General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I can not possibly say enough wonderful things about our stay at Chateau Marcay. The heart and soul of Chateau Marcay is Stephanie Mollard and her most gracious and lovely staff. We traveled with our two children (ages 8 and 12) and I will tell you we all fell in love with all of them. They treated our children like family, they took care of us at every turn, they laughed with us, and in the end all we could think is "How fast can we make it back here!". Although we traveled through Europe for nearly a month and saw much beauty....this was the highlight of our trip. I have never recommended anywhere with this much enthusiasm. Our room was perfect, the food was remarkable, and the grounds calming. We reminisce about our time there, we miss their sparkling Rose, the beauty, peace, and the wonderful new friends we met at the Chateau....until we meet again! The Abdalla Family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Camile A,
It was with a great pleasure that I discoreved your kind comment on our establishment! And I am so glad that you've had an unforgettable stay with us. I will not fail to share it with my staff. It is always gratifying to have that kind of feedback because we really work hard to make the story of the Château become yours! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you this Winter to maybe finally meet the White lady!! Anyway, thank you again especially for that nice picture of us at the restaurant, it is really heart warming... The horses, Twitter and Diadème say hello to the children and also hope to see them soon!
Sincerely yours, Stéphanie Mollard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is one of the best places I have stayed in my life. I can't even describe how beautiful it is.
Be prepared to use a car or something because it is quite out of the way. Perfect for a romantic trip. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at Chateau de Marcay, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Dimitra P,
Let me thank for having taken the time to comment our house. I am glad that you've spent a wonderful stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Sincerely yours,
Stéphanie MOLLARD,general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marcay
4.7 mi away
Hotel Diderot
Hotel Diderot
#1 of 15 in Chinon
910 reviews
13.4 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
283 reviews
21.3 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 4 in Villandry
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel De France
4.6 mi away
Hostellerie Gargantua
Hostellerie Gargantua
#7 of 15 in Chinon
185 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Marcay

Property: Chateau de Marcay
Address: Route du Chateau, 37500 Marcay, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon > Marcay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marcay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Marcay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau De Marcay is located in the village of Marcay. The hotel has extensive gardens and an outdoor swimming pool, tennis court and gastronomic restaurant. The 15th century Chateau offers large guestrooms with traditional upholstery and free Wi-Fi. The Chateau De Marcay's restaurant serves gourmet cuisine with seasonal ingredients from the kitchen garden. Guests can tour the Chateau's 12 000 bottle cellar and sample the fine wines. The Chateau De Marcay is 8 kilometres from Chinon's ancient fort on the river Vienne. It's also an ideal base for hiking and cycling routes nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau de Marcay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Marcay Chinon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing