We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed cottage with lovely garden...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Marcay, Chinon, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bella_Gaz...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed cottage with lovely garden areas”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four throughly enjoyed our weeks stay at Domaine de Beauvais. The house is beautifully decorated to a high standard with a good size lounge area with two zones, one for reading overlooking the open fireplace and one for TV. The kitchen is well planned with quality appliances, including a good quality coffee machine. Both bedrooms are a good size and very comfortable with quality linen and each with a stylish ensuite. The only note to make is that the bedrooms are at opposite end of the house, this worked fine with our kids as they are confident on stairs and not too fussed being too far away from us, but I would exercise caution with very young children. The dining room is large and great for meals with glass doors opening onto a paved outdoor eating area and huge garden. We also had use of the laundry which was useful. Jacques our host was incredibly helpful and had a great knowledge and printed resources covering the area and what it has to offer. Each day we took a trip (chateaus, nearby towns, the zoo, wine tasting, tank museum) and by night we enjoyed sitting by the fire relaxing. There was so much to do in the area that we really could have done with and extra 2-3 days.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate presentation and cosy atmosphere. The garden in summer will be fabulous!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate both the area and the Domaine de Beauvais. Your remark regarding very young children is noted, we will be sure to warn potential customers when we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sylvie15b
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A highly recommended 'secret' escape”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having stayed at The Domaine de Beauvais twice before, visiting again this year was such a treat for us. The immaculately restored cottage is full of charm and elegance. Beautifully decorated in-keeping with the style of this extraordinary property which has history going back to the Middle Ages. Relaxing in the gardens and admiring the views over the countryside is a must. Our lovely friendly hosts, Sandi and Jacques, are always extremely helpful and knowledgeable about their beautiful area. Their recommendations of the many places to visit, local activities, festivals and markets, restaurants and food and wine tasting have always been spot on.
Whichever the season we chose to visit, the area has so much to offer and we keep on returning time after time. The Domaine de Beauvais offers, not only comfort and beauty but also its location is an ideal base to explore Chinon (and its surroundings) and the Loire Valley on its door steps with all it has to offer including the most amazing Chateaux. Although the car is a convenient way to travel around, we also discovered walking and cycling paths that exist in many places on the way.
It is truly a pleasure for us to know such a place… we cannot wait to our next visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort, the elegance, the charm of the Domaine and the friendliness of the owners
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndarcoo...
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Cottage, wonderful stay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautifully decorated cottage. One of the best we have stayed in. The cottage was exceptionally well equipped and in a very peaceful setting. The owners were friendly and obliging with nothing too much trouble.
We had full use of the gardens, including the barbecue and all in all had a very relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the interior decoration
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
758granda...
Chinon, France
1 review
“Magnificent Beauvais”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is an absolutely splendid holiday retreat. The location allows extensive views of the French countryside and at the moment we are surrounded by fields of very tall Sunflowers. The host, who lives next door, made us feel very welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. Without a doubt, this is one of the best holiday cottages we have experienced.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern luxury in the middle of the French countryside.”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Very French surroundings with a very modern renovation. There is lots of character in this completely renovated old French farmhouse. Low beam ceilings are complimented by the modern kitchen and bathrooms. Situated in the middle of the Loire valley Chateau area and just 5 minutes drive outside the ancient city of Chinon. A tremendous place to relax, or to use as a base for visiting the history of France and sample the wine.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankand2...
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxurious and comfortable base for our Loire Valley holiday”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Domaine de Beauvais provides luxury and comfort and became our base for a most relaxed holiday exploring this beautiful and friendly part of the Loire Valley in the Chinon-Marcay area. The cottage, which has been tastefully restored, oozes history whilst providing a very luxurious and comfortable standard of modern accommodation with all the facilities we required.
The hosts, Sandi and Jacques, made us feel very welcome right from arrival and provided the "local knowledge" and guidance that made our exploration of the area such a great experience. We didn't allow enough time to do and see all the area has to offer this visit so are planning to return, and will again base ourselves at Beauvais, given the thoroughly enjoyable experiences of our recent stay. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, friendliness of hosts,location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing