We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly perfect”
Review of La Table de Marcay

La Table de Marcay
Reserve with
La Table de Marcay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Marcay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$140
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This restaurant offers a beautiful setting with excellent food and wonderful service. We were traveling with two daughters age 9 and 11 and they prepared some perfect options for the children which was a nice touch. We ate there three time during our stay at the chateaux as the food was so good and it was nice to end the day with dinner at the chateaux after all day in the road. My only complaint would be that the pot au feu was a bit tough. Other than that, everything was spot on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmericanCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie_MOLLARD, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear AmericanCurmudgeon,
Thank you very much for your positive comments about our restaurant. The Château de Marçay is a family and friendly place and it is with pleasure that we receive children with menus specially prepared for them by our Chef.
You are welcome to your next visit in Touraine.
Best regards,
Stéphanie MOLLARD, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

We reserved a table at 9 pm. We arrived at 9:03. Our table wasn't ready. We were asked to have an aperitif outside in the 'bar terrace'. Fair enough, we had a glas of home made sparkling rose, which was good, we ordered our food while sipping our aperitives, then the amuses came. Frozen melon with bits of bacon, aubergine with parmazane crust and tasteless parma ham with melon. In one word, aweful. The frozen melon with bacon lacked any flavour, and i was totally puzzled how anyone could find such tasteless parma ham. Supermarkets have better stuff.
45 minutes later we were lonely, thirsty and hungry and no one around to ask any questions about the status of our table. We decided to walk to the reception area to ask around. Everone seemed to have forgotten about us. At 10 pm we were seated at 'our' table. Waiters were frantically racing around, not knowing what they were doing (which continued troughout the evening) Finally we were greeted by a guy with a basket of bread, but weren't offered any bread. Twenty minutes later the somelier came with the wine list and dissapeared immediately in a very non-professional way, we ordered a bottle of Fontenelle from Saumur, very tasty. A waiter came to us to ask us very complex questions about the butter with our bread. Which was odd because we received bread but we never got any butter...
Meanwhile it was time for our 'degustation tomates' to be served. You probaby made it better at home. Tomato with mozarella (5/10), tomato icecream (4/10), tomato tartare (really disgusting =0/10), green tomato with balsamic oil gazpacho (really disgusting). Not a very good start, definately not after the dissapointing amuses. No more bread was served, even though waitors were running around at very high speed.
The highlight of the meal was the cod steak, well cooked, medium flavoured. Unfortunately the sauce served with the cod was anything but memorable.
We ordered a bottle of red wine after the cod was finnished, the second bottle came after the rabbit was served... The rabbit was a huge dissapointment. Not thoroughly cooked, accompagnied by a single carot (someting which is particulary mentioned in the anouncement of the dish...) and a maize cake... Mediocre!
We were then offered cheese, there was no explanation. The cheese was good, but the 'fruit' served with it wasn't. Too bad.
We received a second amuse. Something with tapioca in a bamboo cilinder, really realy disgusting (and i have lived i asia with tapioca dishes and i do drink bubble tea...i never gagged before at a fancy restaurant, but that night this 'premiere' occured. The desert consisted out of mango, gelatine and some sugar figurines. This dish also made me gag.
This meal ,in this setting , was not the worse of its kind, but one of my worse culinary experiences ever!
280 euro poorer we left I in a hurry and swore we would never go back.
Bad food, totally clueless unprofessional service and totally overrated prices. This smells like a very expenive tourist trap! Worth a while if money is no issue and you enjoy slapstick comedy over good food (and good service).

3  Thank BartP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were staying at the hotel and having eaten here once, we found much better food and service in nearby Chinon.

2  Thank dph1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Client,
As I said in my response about the hotel, I am sorry to read your two comments and I regret that we do not have all discussed during your stay about the inconvenience you have experienced.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Amazing food, wonderful wine. Very friendly service and staff. The Maitre d' was charming and coaxed our 6 year old into not only trying the food but eating everything put in front of her!

1  Thank chrisdid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Clients,
Thank you very much for this so nice comment, it was a pleasure to welcome you at the Table de Marçay.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The food was great, but they were overwhelmed by the half full room on a Saturday night. Nobody stopped at our table for drinks, menus, or any other reason for 30 minutes after we sat down. Then a harried waiter ran up and said "ok ready to order?". "Not really as we don't have menus, and we'd like a drink first". This elicited an annoyed look and the waiter just walked off. So you can tell where the meal went from there... Food was very good, even though we didn't get the amuse bouche. It appeared the two French groups did get that amuse bouche, so I guess the other 4 tables in our room that were tourists just didn't qualify for the better treatment. Overall, for 200ish Euros, I expected far, far more.

Clearly, we didn't eat there again on the subsequent 3 nights of our stay at the hotel due to this train wreck. All they would have had to do is apologize a bit and work with us, but instead we got massive attitude all night. I guess the lesson is go there on a night other than Saturday, because the other nights we looked in there it was pretty much empty, and the feedback we heard in the lounge afterwards was pretty good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bwlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chateau_Marcay, Directeur général at La Table de Marcay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear client,
We take good notice of your claims on Château de Marçay and on La Table de Marçay Tripadvisor accounts. We replied to the last comment of the six posted. Please take a look at “Bwlove” on Château de Marçay Tripadvisor page for our responce. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table de Marcay also viewed

Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 
Chinon, Loire Valley
Chinon, Loire Valley
 

Been to La Table de Marcay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing