We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different - in a good way!”
Review of Eagles Flying

Eagles Flying
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ballymote
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Eagles Flying is a scientifically run Wildlife Sanctuary specializing on Birds of Prey and Owls. We focus on "hands on" interaction between our well trained animals and our visitors. During our educational flying demonstrations members of the audience can have a bird of prey land on their hand or have Eagles, Falcons, Hawks or Vultures stoop inches over their heads while Scientists inform in a friendly and fun way. Our visitors can also visit our unique "Touch-Zoo" where they can play and pet "Tui & Alan" our Foxes, get pick pocketed by "Grizzly" our tame Raccoon, have "Monty" our 4 meter Python around their shoulders or get up close and personal with any of the other unusual animals. Get closer than you have ever been to the masters of the sky. Eagles Flying really is an unforgettable experience and a must see for people of all ages and interests.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something different - in a good way!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I went here last week with my nephew but I was very impressed.

The staff were very friendly and informative and showed us around the entire facility and made sure both adults and kids alike were equally entertained.

The stars are of course the birds of prey but there are also other interesting creatures like the baby donkey and the rescued ferrets. New indoor display area means that bad weather wasn't an issue when heavy rain erupted halfway through the show.

Will be back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingViking1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    23
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My in-laws live nearby and took us there on a early spring afternoon. If you don't know about it, you won't find it. It is remote. The staff, from all over the world and who live on site, were very friendly and know what they're talking about. We had a nice walk around to see all te birds in the cages before we watched the show. The show was very entertaining, interesting and interactive for kids and adults alike. They had birds of all sizes out and the let them land on your hand or shoulder. Afterwards we also spent some time at the petting zoo. Really worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank belgiantravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Attraction”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Eagles Flying is a wonderful demonstration and educational experience that is 100 times better than I was expecting. The relationship that the owner (s) have with the range of wonderful birds is amazing and as a result the eagles, owls, and other birds of prey respond to provide an unforgettable experience. Apart from all of this, the educational value of the performance was of the highest order. As the owner/ presenter says they are scientists supporting a positive future for a range of animals (including the birds) in Ireland and the result in a must see attraction. Great value for money as well - be prepared to spend at least 3 hours there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Best experience of our trip to Ireland”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We sought out this attraction on our recent four week trip to Ireland, alerted to it by a hotel brochure in Dublin. We had no preconceived ideas on what to expect, but it turned out to be the best single attraction of our trip. We heartily recommend it.

There is a car park just inside the front gate when you arrive, followed by a 200 metre stroll to the main gate where tickets are purchased. The cost was Euro 9.90 per person. Visitors with a mobility parking permit can drive to the main assembly point. The main gate did not open until 10.30 am for the 11 am show and while waiting, visitors can inspect and photograph many of the birds on/in their perches and shelters.

It's worth noting that it's not just about Eagles. It's about raptors or birds of prey, so you'll see falcons, owls and other raptors as well as several eagle species. It's easy to get great photos too.
At the beginning of our show our group of ten visitors were taken on a short walk where we were told about the different sorts of raptors, their characteristics and behaviour.

Then it was up to an area of tiered seating, where individual birds were released and visitors were given ample opportunity to look at them at very close quarters. Access to the exhibition area is an unsealed pathway, but is still accessible for wheelchairs. One of the staff volunteered to push my wife in her chair.

Many birds were released fifty or more metres away and then encouraged to fly directly to the visitors, whooshing their heads as they flew low and fast back to the handlers. Some were then encouraged to perch on visitors' arms and it was also possible to feel the soft feather texture of a couple of species. Several of the birds are BIG! It is a dramatic show to be sure, as well as informative, exciting and safe for everyone, from little children to adults. We had been there for two hours and the show still wasn't finished. The operators are obviously keen to both entertain and inform, with ample opportunities for photographs and for questions - you couldn't help but be engaged. Afterwards, visitors can inspect a number of caged exhibits as well.

Quite simply, we were enthralled by the whole experience. We learned a lot, the birds and their handlers were totally impressive and it's excellent value.

Seek this one out - you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2ozgypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A must see!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Myself and my Boyfriend visited here only last week..... what can I say only that this place goes above and beyond in what they do here. The gentleman that gave the show is an absolute character (which was appreciated on the winter like day), he has such a grá for these animals and it is so obvious by the way he handles them and they treat him. Its lovely to watch. All employees there have a huge knowledge of all the animals there. I wasn't brave enough to have the eagle fly to my hand but I did let the owl and it is a fabulous experience.
After the show we went to the shed where there was more animals and if you only went to meet the pig and the racoon it is worth the visit. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gingga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagles Flying also viewed

Ballymote, County Sligo
Sligo, County Sligo
 
Roscommon, County Roscommon
 

Been to Eagles Flying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing