We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New management of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballymote
Certificate of Excellence
South Ockendon essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New management of hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I haven't visited this hotel for a couple of years, I have heard that this hotel is under new management and due to reopen soon.
Good luck to them maybe somebody will visit and review.
I cannot review as not visited lately.
Thanks.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank susan5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
45
22
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Had a room booked here since the summer, on arrival it was closed, would have been nice to get a call or email, have stayed here before and it changed hands recently so I was hoping for an improved experience

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craftypaddy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ockendon essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Hi,
After a bad experience staying in this hotel in 2011........while in Ballymote again this year we called into the Coach House after a recommendation that the food was very good.............
We tried the food and on both occasions we could not fault the food at all.........Compliments to the chef,also the service at the dining tables and in the bar was very good and friendly.
We hope they continue to make a good go of this business.
However we didn't stay in the rooms but were assured they have been upgraded since the new management are there now.The toilets certainly were better.
Good luck Tricia & John...........

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Having been invited to a house party celebrating the engagement of some friends we knew we'd need to book a room locally, our friends gave us the name of The Coach House Hotel. I phoned a couple of days in advance to check availability and rates but for various reasons didn't make a booking (I foolishly thought that a small town hotel couldn't possibly be full). We arrived after a 3hr journey to discover that the hotel was almost fully booked - two single rooms left or the Honeymoon Suite! We were offered the Honeymoon Suite for the same rate as a double room and I was grateful that for once I hadn't been organised enough to prebook. Having shared a good laugh with Tricia and some other staff members at Reception about the Honeymoon Suite we also got directions to the house and a list of local taxi numbers for later.

On opening the bedroom door we were delighted to find a bright, spacious room with a four poster bed complete with drapes. There was also a dressing table, chest of drawers, wardrobe and blanket box in matching wood together with the night tables and touch lamps. The room had the usual tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock, phone and a small tv. The en-suite is the biggest hotel bathroom I've ever encountered - a large corner bath, his and hers sinks, toilet, a fan heater and a long window which opens. In addition, there was a selection of toiletries and plenty of towels. Although returning late from the party we were drawn into the bar for a final night cap by the sound of music playing. There had been a DJ playing and there was a great atmosphere in the place. As locals were leaving to go home they all acknowledged us with a smile and "goodnight" - made me sorry we weren't staying a second night to soak up the local vibe.

Our bed was lovely and comfortable and not just because of the late hour. The following morning we were late going down to breakfast but that didn't cause a problem. Juice and cereals were laid out buffet style and the hot food (including porridge) was cooked to order so we were able to specify exactly what we wanted on our plates. Tea, coffee, toast and a wonderful brown bread were plentiful.
The sofas in the large reception area looked very inviting and I'd have loved to settle down to read the Sunday papers but we needed to get on the road for the journey home.

This hotel is a fine example of a small town hotel, where friendliness and personal attention are the order of the day. I'd like to wish Trish and John continued success in The Coach House.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craftycavangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at Coach House for two nights last weekend. Nice friendly staff, good food well cooked - in fact no complaints at all! Room and bathroom were clean and tidy. A request for an iron and ironing board was dealt with immediately.

We liked it and we liked the owners.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building and we didn't hear a sound all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supernanauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

When we arrived into our room the bathroom was uncleaned with wet towels all over the floor. The shower was hanging off the wall, I had to hold it in my hand to use it. Cups provided (for tea/coffee) were used and uncleaned. Beds didn't seem clean. The overall look of the hotel is shabby. I would be less reluctant to accept it if it was a cheap and cheerful no frills hotel, but it was 90 euro per room. Other four star hotels within a half hour drive away are charging less than this for first class service and they don't have a night club next door that keeps you up for half the night. I would recommend staying elsewhere until the service standard and cleanliness is improved. We were given the excuse that the hotel had only changed hands a few weeks beforehand and that the cleaner had just left and their replacement cleaner wasn't very good. But I would think that these are reasons for the management to make a greater effort to ensure everything is in perfect order. If you know a cleaner isn't good, then have a policy to double check the room before you let a customer into it. If you're just starting out in a business, and the hotel is in need of repair, then you should put your heart and soul into keeping customers happy and at the very least fix the things that are easy to fix (reattach fixtures and fittings that are hanging off, give shabby rooms a lick of paint etc.). It doesn't cost a fortune to do this. I don't like to give a bad review to a young couple that is starting out, but a little more care and attention (plus more realistic pricing) would make all the difference. Most of what I describe above is avoidable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniFromDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Myself and my boyfriend were deciding to take a nice weekend away in Ireland, threw a dart and landed on Sligo where we found the Coach House Hotel, it was everything and more we could have asked for, extremely friendly and helpful staff, brilliant food and a gorgeous room. The decor was just so warm and friendly we instantely felt at home, to make things even better the atmosphere at night with music was just the perfect end to our weekend

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymote
13.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
14.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
15.2 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
12.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Grattan Street, Ballymote, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballymote
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballymote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing