We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Champs is #1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The Champs is #1”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Staying at The Champs is like staying with family. From the moment you land at the airport, to the moment you leave Dominica, you are family and loved as such.
Coming each time is like coming home.
The restaurant & bar are first class. The staff is first class also.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else.
A perfect place for parents of Ross Medical School parents to visit.
Lise & Hans make sure your visit to Dominica is filled with what you want to see & do.
Always look forward to returning to The Champs & one of the most beautiful islands ever.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for sending us such a great, well organized review. We are happy to know that you feel at home when you stay with us at The Champs Hotel.

We were very happy to serve you. Thanks for the compliments of all our staff. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    57
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
142
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Dominica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I am currently a student at Ross University, so I am very familiar with De Champs. I stayed there when I was visiting the school in June of 2013 and have eaten many dinners there as well.

What makes the hotel and restaurant so amazing is that fact that the owners, Lise and Hans, are extremely involved in the business. Whether you are staying there for a week or only coming up for dinner, they make you feel like family. The rooms are very clean, with great air conditioners, and modern, Western bathrooms. The shuttle service and phone service is invaluable. The hotel will arrange islands tours, dive trips and even fishing trips.

Two of the best things to do when staying at De Champs is to have breakfast in their "breakfast nook" and eat at their Friday Fine Dining.

The breakfast nook gives you the ultimate relaxation. You hear the birds chirping, feel a gentle breeze, and have your choice of breakfast cooked right then and there. Your hot breakfast will be accompanied by fresh local fruit and tropical juices. You can see the gorgeous bay, the historical Fort Shirley, as well as the occasional hummingbird flitting about.

The Fine Dining at De Champs is probably the best food on the island. It is elegantly made by Chef Eric. There are paired wine choices, succulent steak and an amazing chocolate torte. You will also have a view of the sun setting over the Caribbean sea, truly perfect!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. They all have a porch with deck chairs that are perfect for quietly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 22 December 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for such a great review. It is good that you could write such a very excellent review about your time spent here with us.

We are happy to know that you loved our view, enjoyed our extensive breakfasts, and was a part of our Friday Fine Dinings. You really seemed to enjoy every bit of the service that we provided you with.

It would be good to have you visit us again in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Outstanding experience. With Dominica being a nature-island, more travelers' support is needed which De Champ does an excellent job providing! This includes airport pickup, travel in and about Picard, and outstanding island tours. They will schedule all your activities for you, such as diving and fishing. The concierge/duty manager of the day takes great care of every detail; you're never left without total support on the island. Restaurant on site is outstanding. Food is always good, in particular Friday night fine dining and Saturday brunch is a must! Best food on the island. De Champ really increases your enjoyment of the island considerably. It's a great value for all you receive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear George K,
Thanks a lot for you raving review. It is always a pleasure to receive compliments from our guests.
We will try hard to keep our standards at the highest possible level.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel was great. Lisie was a fantastic host. The rooms are clean, the atmosphere is great and the view is amazing. I had spent time on Dominica in medical school and this hotel is a fantastic addition to the area. I would stay there again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Sal S,
Thank you for your great review and for indicating that the Champs is a great place to stay for anyone who visits Picard, Portsmouth in relation to Ross University, School of Medicine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My wife and I made a reservation and had to cancel because of emergency eye surgery. We cancelled our reservation as soon as possible which was 10 days in advance. Even so, they kept one night's charge. Buyer beware. We could not have done differently so be prepared to lose money if you have an emergency.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear William K,
We are very happy that you managed to come and stay in our hotel a few days later than planned so we could deduct the 1 night you paid before.
We always send our cancellation policy together with the reservation confirmation and we try to be flexible in applying this policy, like in your case we offered you to keep the 1 night cancellation fee as a credit on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at Comfortel De Champ while bringing our daughter to Ross Medical School. Hans and Lise and the entire staff truly treat you like family from the moment you arrive. The rooms are clean, well equipped and offer great views. The food is great! Our departure from the island was delayed due to hurricaine Issac, but Hans, Lise and thier staff were wonderful and let us stay on until we were able to leave. I would definetly stay there again and highly recommend this place to anyone. Along with medical school families, there were also people staying there to experience the diving and snorkeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thanks Bopus for your great review. We try hard to be of service to the parents and new students of Ross University.
The January 2013 students are coming soon. We will do our best to give them the same experience as you had {but without the hurricaine difficulty :-) }
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, USA
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Everything was nice. Nice clean rooms. Good place for family! Very helpful staff. We felt like we were at home.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 26 December 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your excellent review on our Hotel. We are happy to know that you felt comfortable at our place.

It would be good if you could come again in the near future to enjoy some leisure time with us.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
488 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
855 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
147 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
227 reviews
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Property: The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing