We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hotel.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Southbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than a hotel.....”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed at The Champs on two occasions to visit our daughter at Ross Univ. Medical school. The view is beautiful, the staff is very accommodating, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Lise (the owner) is an outstanding host always treating us like family. My daughter became ill at one point in the semester, needed some help, and Lise helped out as if she was her own. The restaurant serves some of the best food we had on our visits. The complimentary breakfast is excellent. Lise provides a shuttle service since the hotel is up the hill. Very convenient and worth the trip just for the view. She will also provide advise about the island, and getting around. Looking forward to going back for our next visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 December 2014
Dear Tom,

We felt very honored to serve and accommodate yourself and your wife and would also like to thank you for such an excellent review.

It is good to know that you were happy with the advice from outstanding hostess lise. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your extensive breakfasts, the view and everything about our accommodation.

We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel on your next voyage to the island.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    58
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
142
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed 5 nights at The Champs during our December tour of the Leeward Islands of the Lesser Antilles. This was our favorite lodging by far. Lise and Hans (the owners) made our stay like staying with close friends. I cannot say enough about how great our stay was.

Our arrival date changed at the last minute, because LIAT could not land due to wind. However, Lise was very accommodating with the changes to our schedule. It could have been an uncomfortable arrival on Christmas Eve when the bar and restaurant were shut. However, One of the drivers, Don, not only picked us up from the ferry but also made certain that we had everything that we needed. He gave us a ride to the supermarket for some snacks, suggested restaurants that were open, and even found someone (Chen) who would rent us his car on Christmas.

All of the staff is friendly. On one of the days of our stay, Jackie gave us a wonderful tour of the island. He is easy going and a pleasure to talk to. It was nice to have someone else to drive for a day, and we felt like we saw much without rushing. One of the evenings, we had one of Chef Eric's fabulous meals; his food is definitely worth trying.

Lise helped us plan our day-trips with several great suggestions, and asked us how our day went when we returned.

If you want to stay at a place that is like a home away from home, we highly recommend The Champs.

Celeste and Brian

Room Tip: Rooms # 1 - 3 are on the second floor and have great views. But no worries, even if you stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 December 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for such an extensive and fabulous review. We always like to know that our guests love our level of service. Thanks you for highly recognizing Lise as a great hostess and Don and Jackie as two professional drivers.

We work as a team to ensure that our guests are highly satisfied. We do hope that you will come again to have another taste of Chef Eric's Gourmet dishes.

We do hope to welcome you again at our Hotel.



Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Pending review
5 of 5 stars

Our last trip was Dec. 14-20th and was the best yet!!!
Even though they are usually closed on Sunday evenings, knowing we were coming with a big group, they had dinner & karaoke for us & a party started.
Lise & Hans always make sure that when you are with them, you feel "loved" & at home.
One of my favorite places ever!!!!
Thank you for the love and attention we were always given.
Texas will always be in love with The Champs Restaurant & Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you Chari, it feels so good when your guest becomes your friend. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2014

De Champ Hotel, Bar, and Restaurant was like my home in Dominica for the last 16 months I stayed in Dominica. Lise and Hans (the owners) treated me like a family. Staff is very friendly and welcoming. Must try Friday Fine Dinning, the steak and the tuna are great, they also have a very nice selections of wines. The view is great from up the hill, beautiful sunset and rainbows while dinning or in the Jacuzzi.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Trip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 December 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure accommodating you and we would like to thank you for your great review. We are happy to know that you felt satisfied with our service.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed yourself in our remarkable dinner setting, while eating our excellent gourmet dishes and sipping on our fine wines.

We would be happy to have you here again with us and anticipate your return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Always a pleasure to stay at the Champs with Hans, Lise and their welcoming staff.
Comfortable, air-conditioned rooms. Excellent breakfast every day. Sumptuous Fine Dining with Chef Eric Subin at the weekends. Neat Spa Area with Jacuzzi. Always great advice and help in organizing hiking, fishing, diving and whale watching activities.

Excellent accommodation, good food, efficient staff, great value.

Any time I visit Dominica I stay at The Champs.
Over the years I must have stayed here over twenty, yes twenty, times

Room Tip: With just five rooms you will always get a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JCRF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
It is always a pleasure having your as our guest. Please keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

If you're looking for pampering in a luxury resort, move on. Those who become impatient easily, or who travel with an attitude will do better in a high end hotel. But if you love interesting conversations, if you have a sense of humor, if you value human connection, this is the place for you. You can have a personal interaction with Lise and Hans that makes you feel you've been invited to the home of your best friend's aunt and uncle on an island paradise, because that's the degree of interest and enthusiasm they show in trying to make guest happy and comfortable. Guests who will especially enjoy staying here are those who are flexible and patient, who love adventure, a personal touch, and who want to learn about their surroundings on a deeper level. And I should mention the view: It's truly a million dollar view. You could easily spend several wonderful days just sitting on the porch in front of your room or on the higher floor in the breakfast area or the restaurant, just staring at the ocean, the sky, ships and sailing boats and the lush greenery. Read a book, take a nap, practice laziness, turn off your screens. Or finish your novel without interruption. Ask Lise or Hans or one of there staff dozens of questions about whatever is on your mind--they will never be impatient with you. Or they will gladly connect you with the best people in the area for a car rental, for a tour, or they will advise you about where to find an easy morning drive, an afternoon hike, a swim, or whatever you're looking for. When you're ready for a unique and wonderful hike through the mountains, ask Lise or Hans to connect you with Gregory. Spend a day hiking through the jungle with Gregory, slow down your talking, and open your mind to his knowledge of the plants, birds, the larger ecology, the history, and local culture. You'll never be the same. Gregory is a treasure. The comments of some other guests about occasional plumbing issues or noise should not be a significant issue for most guests. We also, like most people, enjoy a quiet sleep and a clean room. We weren't disappointed at all. We were a family of four staying in two rooms side by side for four nights, and we all agreed that we will eagerly return to the Champs for our next trip to Dominica.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise v, Manager at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
It was nice having your at our hotel. I loved the interesting chats we had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The Champs has 5 well-appointed, air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant, and a bar. The owners, Hans Schilders and Lise van de Kamp, go out of their way to ensure that your stay is comfortable and pleasurable. Before making a reservation, I had read complaints on Trip Advisor about noise from the bar. I mentioned this to Lise and told her that I would be going birding early in the morning. I also asked for a superior room as far from the bar as possible. She had told me about their Taco night on Tuesdays, but assured me that the noise would come to an end at about 10:30. I was later told that she had also asked the bar to turn down their volume at 9:00, which apparently they did. I had no problems at all with noise. The next day, I mentioned to them that there had been a loud hum from a TV transformer in the room, which, though it did not particularly bother me, might bother others. Lise told me that they would replace the transformer. By the time I returned from birding the next day, they had not only removed the transformer, but had replaced the entire TV with a larger model. The story is more complex than I am making it, but I use it as an example of how hard these people work to make sure that their guests are comfortable. They do not have a beach, so if you require one, The Champs will not work for you, but if not, this is an excellent choice. The superior room (low-season 2013) cost US$150.00/night including taxes and breakfast. They packed a bag breakfast for me for the first two days. These were brought to my room at ~7:30 the previous evening. The Champs is ~8km from the turn-off to the Syndicate Estate. All in all, a great place to stay for a birding trip to Dominica.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the superior (upper floor) rooms. Better view, and for birders, one can look directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpstateNYBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise v, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thanks for your review. And indeed this part of the Island is perfect for bird lovers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
492 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
865 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
19.4 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Property: The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing