We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Comfortel De Champ for a night while my parents were visiting the Island. My husband is a student at Ross U so we live on the Island but this was a nice break from daily life! Lise and Hans are very friendly individuals and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good visit. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the view is amazing! Lise serves a great breakfast in the mornings as well which overlooks the Caribean Sea. Overall a great experience and will recommend it to all our visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tricia_duggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and your compliment of Hostess Lise. It is good to know that your time spent with us was well spent.

We hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2008

This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly people Hans en Lise.
We stayed there for 14 days. They have very nice rooms, excellent big beds, with beautiful design bathroom. Breakfast is very good!!! View is perfect on the caribean sea. Very well located on the island. They pick you up at the airport. We have done already many countries but this country is very special. The people of dominica are so very friendly. They like very much talking to you, they are pure and natural like the nature of dominica. The nature of Dominica is so very beautiful.
I can highly recommend this hotel and Dominica!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so haopy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the the pickup from the airport.

Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Our party of 4 - father with two daughters and middleaged lady stayed at the Champ for 2 days. Rooms are very nice: large with a large bed, wonderfull bathroom with all amenities. Lies and Hans were extremely friendly, maybe because we are Dutch. The certainly made the girls ( 9 and 11) to feel very much at home, showed them DVD's, made individual breakfasts and were extremely helpfull. They even allowed us to use their Skype to call home and this without charge.
The view of the hotel is fantastic, location is good and once the Tapas bar will be ready it hopefully will become a favourite spot for the local students.
The only disadvantage is the very bad road leading up to it, however, I am sure this will also be improved upon.
It was like staying at a friend's house.
I can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swissdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review. I’m delighted you found that your stay at The Champs Hotel was the right decision and you and your family had such a good time.

We trust you will all enjoy the rest of your travels here just as much! Thanks again for the feedback and choosing our Hotel.

Kind Regards
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We met Hans and Lies a year earlier diving with Cabrits Dive Center and had followed the progress of their construction of the 5 guest room Comfortel de Champs on their website. The construction still is underway for the new bar and hot tub area. Without a doubt the de Champs has the absolutely best view of all Portsmith. The guest rooms are very comfortable , new and the bathrooms are to die for. The showers are the kind where there are multiple spray nozzles. Clear glass double sinks. AC is new and efficient with a well stocked refrigerator in the each room. Breakfast and an evening cocktails are on the upper level with a spectacular 180* view of the bay. Hans has a fantastic Spanish red wine that is perfect for the end of the day. Would we go back - in a heartbeat!

Thank cvhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay at our Hotel was very pleasant.

Thank you for your positive comments and your compliments on Hosts Lise and Hans. I hope your next stay with us is just around the corner.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The view is SPECTACULAR.
The rooms are spacious, clean and bright.
Very reasonable prices.
Excellent service and knowledge of the island.
I plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PghGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our place.

We do hope to have you here with us again.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Lovely Hotel with high standard of rooms and facilities, but still retaining the warm feel of a smaller establishment. Owners were really nice people - extremely helpful and very friendly. Rooms were large, attractive and well equipped. Incredible view, especially from the upper floor - where you can have a delicious breakfast overlooking Picard, Portsmouth, the bay and the Cabrits national park - and even Guadaloupe in the distance. Could not reccomend it highly enough - and will be returning at some point to see what the new tapas bar, gardens and hot tub will be like!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank howard00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you felt so comfortable and happy to be at our Hotel. It is always a pleasure to know that our guests enjoyed every moment of their stay with us.

Thank you for the compliments of Hosts Lise and Hans. We are anticipating your return to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
499 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £96 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing