We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manicou River(Portsmouth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Secret Bay(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Calibishie Lodges(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calibishie Cove(Calibishie)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (330)
Filter reviews
330 results
Traveller rating
257
63
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
63
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsross universityfine diningcell phoneplace to staymade to order breakfastshuttle serviceevery morninghot tubrental caryour choicecomfortable roomsteep hillmake you feel at homevisited dominicaprince rupertfresh fruitcaribbean sea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 330 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2008

My husband and I stayed at Comfortel De Champ for a night while my parents were visiting the Island. My husband is a student at Ross U so we live on the Island but this was a nice break from daily life! Lise and Hans are very friendly individuals and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good visit. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the view is amazing! Lise serves a great breakfast in the mornings as well which overlooks the Caribean Sea. Overall a great experience and will recommend it to all our visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tricia_duggan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and your compliment of Hostess Lise. It is good to know that your time spent with us was well spent.

We hope to have you back with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

This is a beautiful hotel with very friendly people Hans en Lise.
We stayed there for 14 days. They have very nice rooms, excellent big beds, with beautiful design bathroom. Breakfast is very good!!! View is perfect on the caribean sea. Very well located on the island. They pick you up at the airport. We have done already many countries but this country is very special. The people of dominica are so very friendly. They like very much talking to you, they are pure and natural like the nature of dominica. The nature of Dominica is so very beautiful.
I can highly recommend this hotel and Dominica!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so haopy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the the pickup from the airport.

Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Our party of 4 - father with two daughters and middleaged lady stayed at the Champ for 2 days. Rooms are very nice: large with a large bed, wonderfull bathroom with all amenities. Lies and Hans were extremely friendly, maybe because we are Dutch. The certainly made the girls ( 9 and 11) to feel very much at home, showed them DVD's, made individual breakfasts and were extremely helpfull. They even allowed us to use their Skype to call home and this without charge.
The view of the hotel is fantastic, location is good and once the Tapas bar will be ready it hopefully will become a favourite spot for the local students.
The only disadvantage is the very bad road leading up to it, however, I am sure this will also be improved upon.
It was like staying at a friend's house.
I can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Swissdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your review. I’m delighted you found that your stay at The Champs Hotel was the right decision and you and your family had such a good time.

We trust you will all enjoy the rest of your travels here just as much! Thanks again for the feedback and choosing our Hotel.

Kind Regards
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2008

We met Hans and Lies a year earlier diving with Cabrits Dive Center and had followed the progress of their construction of the 5 guest room Comfortel de Champs on their website. The construction still is underway for the new bar and hot tub area. Without a doubt the de Champs has the absolutely best view of all Portsmith. The guest rooms are very comfortable , new and the bathrooms are to die for. The showers are the kind where there are multiple spray nozzles. Clear glass double sinks. AC is new and efficient with a well stocked refrigerator in the each room. Breakfast and an evening cocktails are on the upper level with a spectacular 180* view of the bay. Hans has a fantastic Spanish red wine that is perfect for the end of the day. Would we go back - in a heartbeat!

Thank cvhjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that your stay at our Hotel was very pleasant.

Thank you for your positive comments and your compliments on Hosts Lise and Hans. I hope your next stay with us is just around the corner.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

The view is SPECTACULAR.
The rooms are spacious, clean and bright.
Very reasonable prices.
Excellent service and knowledge of the island.
I plan to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PghGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our place.

We do hope to have you here with us again.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews