We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
ithaca new york
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Comfortel de Champ gets gets our highest recommendation. Great place! Clearn, fun and beautiful with a stunning view from all the rooms and bar/restaurant. Proprieters Lise and Hans really go the extra mile to make sure all guests are welcomed and comfortable. We would definitely come back! Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 12 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to say a special thank you for your great review. We are happy that you had a great stay at our Hotel.

Thank you for your compliments of Lise and Hans. It is good to know that you loved our ambiance and service.

We do hope that you will come again to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    56
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
79
142
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2009

De Champ was beyond all expectations. A lovely breakfast was waiting every morning overlooking the ocean and harbour. The room was spotless and extremely roomy and comfortable. Hans and Lise are not just terrific hosts... they became my friends right from the beginning of my stay. Do yourself a favor and stay at De Champ.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djkraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 13 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review. Its always good to know that our guests enjoyed their stay with us.

Thank you for your compliments of Lise and Hans. We hope that you will come again in the near future to spend some time at our Hotel again.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fkashef
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband and I came back from Dominica two weeks ago. Lise, Hans and crew made our trip a wonderful experience. They took best care of us during our stay, from providing reliable transportation to/from airport to delivering our late/lost luggage, helping find the lost passport (left in the airport at the airline counter,) and arranging island sight seeing. The rooms were very clean, well connected and furnished with a European touch. We would definitely stay there again if we go to Dominica.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fkashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 14 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you greatly appreciated what we did. We are always very happy to help our guests in any way that we can.

Thanks for the compliment on Lise and Hans. It is always good when you can feel comfortable while you are away from the comfort of your own home.

We hope that you will come again to our Hotel when you visit the island again.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and I went to Dominica to secure housing because we are moving there in January to start school at Ross. We were advised to stay at Comfortel de Champ by Ross, and we absolutely fell in love. The hotel offers a great view and location to get the feel for the island. The owners are so accommodating and helpful. They really make you feel at home. All of the staff is spectacular. I would recommend de Champ for anyone planning a vacation or visiting Ross. All of the staff can give great advice about living or what to do while you are in Dominica. We loved everyone and de Champ so much that we are planning to spend our anniversaries, while on the island, at their bar/restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjjh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 19 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you fell in love with our entire ambiance and service. Thank you for your review.

It is good to know that The Champs Staff could be so helpful and accommodating. We always love to ensure our guests feel contented when they stay with us.


We hope that you will come again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Ct
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I found Champs to be one of the best hotel I have stayed in and I have been to many great hotels around the world. The reason I say this is because of the friendliness, patience, care and concern of the owners Lies and Hans. They did everything they could to make my stay, as well as excursions fun, exciting and safe. The hotel is accommodating with amenities, the breakfast fantastic (esp the eggs), the bar is lively and the bed is extremely comfortable. All this plus a super view....what more could anyone want?

I highly recommend this hotel while staying in Dominica.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netrailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 20 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always great for us to know how people spent their time at our place. We are happy that you found our ambiance and service to your liking.

Thanks for the compliment of the host and hostess; Hans and Lise. We hope that you will come again to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Our stay started with a little transportation issue. Hans, Lise & crew took absolutely the best care of us possible. Between their enthusiastic welcome to the insight of where to go to delivering us up and down the hill. It was absolutely with out a doubt the best value for the $. The Champ is known by all locally and carries a sense of you are in the best place. No suggestions except "sit back and enjoy it". Hans and Lise will handle all the details. Traveled to North & South America, this is a must stay location if you find yourself in Dominica. Gonna book my kids a room next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalebank2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you felt so comfortable even after a bit of transportation issue. We are always keen on knowing how our guests spent their time with us.

We felt happy to be able to help in any way that we could. It would be great if you would come back again to our Hotel in the near future. Thank you for the compliments of Hans and Lise.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

New, bright, clean. Wonderful views to the ocean and over the town. Hans and Lise really made us feel like we were visiting family.

The only negative thing I can say about the place is about the road going up to the guesthouse. It was quite an adventure! However, if we would have rented a 4 wheel drive vehicle (and one that didn't have bald tires) I don't think it would have been as bad. The road was being worked on while we were there, so it might be good now.

The guesthouse bar is frequented by the local college students, but they added to the atmosphere. There was also a good wine selection and tasty local drink creations from the bartender.

Hans and Lise are full of wonderful advice and tips about the area, and Dominica in general.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaM-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are always keen on knowing how you spent your time at our Hotel. We are thankful to your for your compliments of our wonderful service and views.

Thank you for your compliments of host Hans and Lise. We hope that you will come again to visit in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
146 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
225 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Property: The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing