We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dominica (CW) Wow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
detroit
2 reviews
“Dominica (CW) Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This isn't Cancun, sandals, or anything resembling the banality of the money grabbing tourist hot-spots in the Caribbean. The island has little of the comforts a City boy from Detroit is used to, but is such a nice breath of fresh air. No one tried to sell me anything like horseback rides, or island lunches, but that was never my style.

In Dominica you are on an adventure, and whether it be driving on the wrong side of the road or climbing a volcanic mountain in the jungle, it is a very special treat. The De Champs facilities was the perfect place to recover from the high impact, 90 degree heat and constant exploring.

Breakfast reservations were required, but the layout was WONDERFUL. Waking up to early was rewarded by making my way to the dining area, and being greeted not by a line, but a set table with fruit already sliced presented nicely in a bowl (under a screen, awaiting my fork.) Coffee and an omelette's seemed to make the whole day better.

Dinner and drinks were had in the open air bar/lounge. I recommend the "bitter balls" appetizer, and a bacon cheese burger (jimmy buffet was right!) Order a few Kabuli (local, island made pale ale) and enjoy a conversation or two with the two dutch hosts that operate the hotel. They are the type of people i'm happy to meet on one of my very few opportunities i get in life to vacation!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nufsaid8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and most of all that you enjoyed your vacation on the island.

We do hope that you will come again to the island, for a greater chance to explore it even more. Thank you for the compliments of our breakfast and entire ambiance.

We do hope that you will come again to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    54
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
77
133
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston, ma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

Feb 14-20 , 2010 Comfortel de Champ was the place to stay in Portsmouth, Dominica.
Hosts Lise and Hans were 5-stars for their welcoming hospitality and calming ways in a new and initially anxiety-provoking place.
The soothing cocktail (choice of entire drink menu) when we arrived from the MelvilleHall airport on Valentine's Day was just in time to make the stress of a long trip melt away into the beautiful Dominica sunset over the lovely Caribbean Sea...beautiful.
Our accommodations were very nice, comfortable for the three of us, with nice bathroom, flatscreen tv, minibar, internet access, and a front porch with a million dollar view of Picard, Portsmouth, Ross University School of Medicine, banana trees, hummingbirds, bananaquits, the surrounding hills and the Caribbean.
The Montserrat 2/11/10 volcanic ash that covered everything was quickly cleaned - up and Comfortel de Champ stayed very neat and clean throughout.
Morning breakfast on the dining deck was a tasty mix of fresh fruit and egg dishes and was a good convenient way to start our sightseeing days.
We did not utilize the sunset bar as much as we would have hoped for but there was just no more time or energy to do so. However the bartender Ike was great and the drink menu quite extensive with a good wine/champagne selection.
As a Ross University School of Medicine 4th semester student, we had a fantastic tour guide in our daughter. We visited many of the beautiful sites throughout Dominica.
At days end, Comfortel de Champ was there on the hillside as a beacon welcoming us home for rejuvenation before our next wild nature adventure.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urossdominica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that your felt so delighted upon your welcome at The Champs.
Its good to know that you loved our ambiance and enjoyed every bit of your stay with us. We felt very happy to know that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast every morning.
We hope that you will come to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

This place is a steal at $125/night for a king size bed, modern bath, and a (shared) porch with a fantastic wide view of the Caribbean. The Dutch couple that run Comfortel are vivacious and a lot of fun. The staff overall is very helpful and friendly for whatever your needs are. The area has good roads, so be sure to rent a car here, which you can do in the little town of Picard. Breakfasts at the hotel are passable, as are the local restaurants. Don't expect gourmet food. The town isn't much except a student hangout (Rose U. Medical School), and the students may descend upon the bar at Comfortel, upping the noise level. We were lucky when we were there as it was during exams, so not many students showed up. The bar is open-air and also has a fabulous view of sunsets on the water. We felt mixed about Dominica overall. The natives can be great or they can be sullen and downright rude. The snorkeling was only average when we were there because of murky water. The weather was sunny and gorgeous and the swimming wonderful. We especially enjoyed the hike (nature walk) at Syndicate both for the forest and river itself but also for a glimpse at the famous parrots (go at dusk). Many of the activities do take awhile to reach, and many of the hikes are strenuous all-day affairs. The capital Roseau is interesting, with its teeming markets, a bit third-world-y, and often overrun with cruise shippers.But if you do decide to go to northern Dominica, stay at Comfortel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trufflecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 25 February 2015
Dear Guest,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your great review. We felt honored to have you.

It is good to know that you had some great time snorkeling, and that you could also get a chance to hike a trail which is close to our Hotel.

We would be happy to have you at our Hotel again as a guest in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, CA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Comfortel while on vacation in Dominica, and we can't recommend it enough. Hans and Lise go the extra mile to ensure your stay is pefect, and they are a willing and friendly fountain of information about the island. They set up a 6 hour island tour with Jackie that was exactly what we were looking for. Transportation from and to the airport was right on time. Breakfast was relaxing, drinks in the evening at sunset were delicious. A quick walk down the hill takes you to the beach, Ross University, and several other restaurants.

Did I say sunset? The view from high on the hill overlooking Portsmouth and Picard is easily the best of any hotel on Dominica. Each room has the same view. We saw, two nights in a row, the most spectacular sunset green flash we've ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 28 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your raving review. We are always happy when we know that your time spent with us was an excellent one.

It is good to know that your travel around the island was just what you were looking for. We do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Hans and Lise don't really need any more praise, since they're already established as the most popular accommodation on the island. Nonetheless, our short stay at "The Champ" deserved a glowing review even if it is typical of the service they provide their guests.
Everyone in Portsmouth knows their location, so one can reach the Comfortel easily by either local taxi or the transportation provided to their clients on a moment's notice. The distance between it and central Portsmouth is made up for by the spectacular view from its restaurant and guest patios. The rooms, local area and restaurant provide everything that a visitor could possibly want. What makes The Champ so special, however, are the staff.
List and Hans went out of their way to provide anything we could think to request. When we failed to reserve supper on the busiest day of the year, they made arrangements for a meal and a ride. The guidebooks and local knowledge we couldn't find before the trip were conveniently available to us in the breakfast room. On a holiday when no taxis or buses would be available, they rented their personal vehicle and driver from dawn to dusk. When I forgot my camera in that vehicle, they had it ready to mail to me before I even reached home.
Jackie is not only a prompt and knowledgeable driver, he is easily the most fun and energetic guide we've ever met.
There is no reason to stay anywhere else in Dominica, since Comfortel de Champ has achieved perfection.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOneCarryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed, raving review. We are happy to know that you appreciated our efforts. This is what we do for every guest.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come again to visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

This was our second trip to Dominica and we brought another couple with us. The first night arriving anywhere is always very difficult. Not when you are staying here. We rented our own car and arrived in the early evening.
The restaurant was great to have. After quickly getting set up in our room we were able to have a nice meal and some drinks.........bonus! This made even our first night great.
The rooms are clean, roomy and new. Just like in the pictures. This is the first time we get exactly what we see in the pics.
The hosts, Lise and Hans were warm, friendly and always very helpful.
The only minor problem we had was the internet use. It was not yet set up in our room so we had to use it in the bar or the breakfast area. It will be set up everywhere soon.
Breakfast was marvelous.
The view is spectacular.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you felt very comfortable at our place. It is good that you felt comfortable at our Bar as well.

We would be happy to accommodate and welcome you again to our Hotel. We were honored to have you here with us.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

We had the most wonderful time. The welcome of Leis and Hans was so warm, the view incredible, the rooms clean and bright, the sheets--I wish I could find some for my own home they are so comfortable. The whole package was wonderful.

I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaibee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your review and we would like to thank you for it. We are happy that you liked our ambiance and service.

We do hope that you will come again to visit our Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Property: The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing