We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2010

New and clean, comfortable, nice view, friendly owners and staff. If you are coming by bus (like we did), be aware of steep uphill of 100 meter or so, if you call the hotel they may pick you up from the main road. Restaurant serves pub style food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you liked our service and ambiance. Its good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have you spend sometime at our Hotel again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2010

My mother and I visited for a vacation and were very pleased with the time spent at Comfortel de champs. We dealt mainly with Hans and Lise (owners) and Jacqui (tour guide) and we enjoyed the time spent there thoroughly. Everyone was pleasant, informative and helpful. This made a huge difference for our trip because they knew exactly how to make it better and easier for us to get around and have fun. Breakfast was wholesome and delicious. The bar was a fun to hang out. The rooms were quiet and comfy most of the time, except for some noise from the nearby construction during the day, but this is short term. If we had any questions, Lise and Hans took care of it and organized everything for us. We loved it and we love the folks there also! we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raebans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us. We are always very happy to help with questions and information of the Island.

It is also good that you felt that our Tour Guide was of help to you. Thank you for your compliments of Lise and Hans.

We will be happy to have you here again with us in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Our trip to Dominica was for our 15 anniversary and I invited another couple to go with us. I had no idea what I was doing when I chose somewhere to stay on Dominica.

The Comfortel De Champ was perfect. Lies was so welcoming and knowledgeable about things to do and what was going on. She was so willing to set up breakfast around our dive schedule. Hans was always available and friendly. Everything was clean and beautiful. The drinks and food were great.

In general, a fun, relaxing place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eldridge72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your 15th anniversary at our Hotel. We were happy to serve you and felt honored to serve you.

Thank you for your personal compliments of Lise and Hans. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your entire stay here and we hope to have you back again with us in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

From the time we entered we were greeted so lovingly by the owners. Just one step and we felt special. The owners..Lise and Hans have a great way of making you feel at home and relaxed.

We had dinner on the first night of our stay and even though the bar was FULL, they never forgot about us or neglected us. Everyone kept asking us if we're okay. This place knows what customers service.

The bedroom's theme is great! I love the bathroom also. Great designs. And the bed is very comfortable.

This place is recommended to anyone who just want some alone time with their mate. You won't get it any better.

I spent one night here with my girl and I'm already thinking of when I will return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentonHilaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Brenton,

Thank you for your great detailed review. We are happy that you got to enjoy yourself at our bar. We were honored to have you here with us and we are happy that you loved the service that you received.

Thanks for your compliment of our ambiance. Its good to know that you loved the designs of our rooms and that you felt our bed comfortable.

We do hope to welcome you back at our Hotel together with your mate in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Friendly owners provided rooms with beautiful scenery, quiet setting. Difficult parking situation was manageable. Morning of departure, the plumbing leaked water all over bathroom. An error in communication left the room unlocked and a $1000.00 dollars stolen in a few minutes! Great place to stay; but never forget to lock up money in a safe!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2010

Dear Guest,
Thanks for the review of your stay in Comfortel De Champ in July 2009.
- The difficult parking situation was due to the construction of the new road to the hotel. Nowadays it's very easy to reach the hotel and to park on the guest parking.
- Following our recent email contacts we would like to apologize once more for the unpleasant experience. For readers of this review: All rooms have personal safes and we have changed some procedures in effort to improve guest safety and comfort.
Kind regards
Lise & Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My wife and I are well-traveled, but never have we experienced the level of service and care given to us by our gracious hosts, Hans and Lise. Your every need is catered to and they are so helpful. Hans even made a mini travel guide that he prints out for guests with driving directions to many of the local attractions. The guide has pictures of landmarks and signs to accompany the directions so you won't get lost driving. They also provide you with a cell phone and just make you feel extremely welcome. We stayed in room 3 which is the largest room and has spectacular views of the Caribbean and the Cabrits mountains. The rooms were very comfortable with cold A/C king size bed, hot shower, and flat screen tv with satellite. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms and shower are super nice. A full breakfast is included and it is delicious!

This is the first place I have stayed that I feel is truly deserving of five stars. The only negative is that the bar upstairs can be loud on Friday and Saturday nights when the students from Ross are partying. I brought earplugs (as I do on all trips), so this didn't bother me too much. We originally planned to split our time in Dominica between Portsmouth and Roseau, but we liked Comfortel de Champ so much that we stayed there our entire 8 days on Dominica. That should tell you something. Do yourself a favor and stay there...you won't regret it! BTW Dominica is fantastic!!! One of the best trips ever. Thanks Hans and Lise!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chefinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lengthy and excellent 5-star response. We do appreciate the fact that you did such a detailed review.

We are happy that you enjoyed every bit of your vacation at our Hotel. We were more than happy to help you in every way that we could. Thanks for the compliments on both Lise and Hans.

Thanks for recommending our Hotel as one of the best places to stay on the island. We are happy when we know that your stay was comfortable with us. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Comfortel was a beautiful, small & homey hotel. Han & Lise are wonderful hosts. The rooms are beautiful and the view is spectacular. It is a short (if a little steep) walk to beaches, shopping and restaurants. There is also a shuttle (provided by Comfortel) in the evenings if you didn't want to walk back up the hill. There is a medical university nearby which means most of the restaurants etc in the area cater to an american style student population. We couldn't find much in the way of "local" foods. One thing to note when booking is to check with Comfortel on the university schedule. The students like to party at the Comfortel bar after exams (held four times a year we think) and there were a couple of nights that the bar was rocking until 2 -3 in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wshn4gills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you and provide you with great service.

We are also happy that you could get some leisure time at the beach and different attractions in the area. We do hope that we can welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.3 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
12.1 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
8.4 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
226 reviews
19.4 mi away
Castle Comfort Dive Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar

Address: Blanca Heights | Picard, Portsmouth, Dominica (Formerly Comfortel De Champ)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £101 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high upon the Picard hillside is the Award Winning Hotel The Champs. While you stay in your perfectly sited 3-star room with sea view and balcony, our smiling staff will provide you with 5-star personal service. This remarkable place overlooks the calm Caribbean Sea, the colonial town of Portsmouth and the gorgeous green hills of the Cabrits National Park. The beach is just 5 minutes down the hill. Its hospitable treatment to clients brings guests from far and wide to its welcoming doors. Combined with this mini paradise is its highly popular restaurant and cocktail bar, lush flower garden, relaxing leisure and jacuzzi area, parking lot and local shuttle service. A perfect place for adventure vacations, couple escapes, visitors to Ross University, business trips and a gem for weddings and honeymooners. Begin each day with our delightful breakfast-to-order; spend each day experiencing another island activity; end each day sipping on a cocktail gazing at the magnificent sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfortel De Champ Hotel Portsmouth
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing