We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Not a bad place to stay if you have reasonable expectations. We were taking a long Caribbean vacation to a few different islands and on a budget. We weren't booking high-end resorts. We were pleasantly surprised with the room, actually. It had a nice view of the sea (which was unexpected) and a little balcony to sit on. The staff were friendly. The restaurant (La Flambeau) was nice. We were early arriving so were welcomed to sit at a table on the beach while we waited. Very relaxing to sit and have a drink looking over the water! It was a nice walk up to the main road where there were markets and other restaurants. We especially enjoyed the strip of street vendor-type businesses (on the other side of the university) where we were able to purchase very good and inexpensive food and fresh fruit juices. One vendor was so appreciative of us coming back the second day that he really piled the food on for us. (2 large chicken kabobs and a huge helping of red beans and rice for about $5 or $6US)

On the negative side, we went to the reception desk to inquire about booking a tour of some of the sites (Emerald Falls, Indian River). My husband came back and told me the price she had quoted and it was a MUCH higher quote than the driver who had brought us from the airport had quoted so I asked my husband to go back and see if the quote she gave included all entrance fees. She then told my husband that it did so we agreed to it. Well, when we got to Indian River and the guide told us the cost we went back to our driver to tell him our understanding was that our agreed upon price was to include this. This was not worked out between our hotel receptionist and the driver as we had been told it was. He called the hotel and we paid the additional cost of the Indian River tour. I believe in the Caribbean that there is often an agreement between people who work in the hotels and drivers (often relatives) and there is an agreement where the receptionist gets a portion of the price charged (15% in this case). I felt like we had been bamboozled and it really left us unable to enjoy the tour. Our driver did try to make it up to us but it soured me for doing any more site seeing on the island. I do recommend that travelers check pricing and arrangements carefully before doing anything in Dominica. Unfortunately, this one negative nearly cancelled out the many positives of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sunlovingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Brabant Province, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

very helpful people
beautifull place
lovely view on the sea

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I just stayed here as we accompanied my daughter to Ross University Medical School. Having done extensive research before going I purposely chose this facility. The first thing you need to realize is Dominica is not like any other Caribbean resort destination. In fact if it weren't for Ross I doubt seriously very many people would visit this island.
With that said, the hotel was better than I expected it to be. Now it's no Hilton, but it was clean, the air conditioner worked well, and the TV received many more channels than I expected. The place does serve as a housing facility for some Ross Students. In fact the Ross Housing Office shares a driveway entrance with PBH. There is a sidewalk from PBH that enters into the backside of the campus which is a significant short cut.
The shutters in our room closed well and the screens kept out any bugs. The balcony was small but nice, and the breeze at night was wonderful. Ceramic tile floors through out help keep the room cooler. The stove, mini-fridge and microwave all worked fine. There was even an electrical converter in one of the sockets so I could use my laptop with no problems plugging it in.
La Flambeau Restaurant is onsite (see my rating elsewhere) and seemed to be a popular hang out for the Med Students who were waiting for the semester to begin. The beach was very popular among them in the afternoons.
The best thing about this place is the personnel. They were fantastic. They were always friendly, always willing to answer questions, make suggestions, and they even called the KFC for us one night for delivery. As with most places on the island this is a gated community and the security guards were always checking to make sure if we needed anything.
The only negative thing I have to say about the place is that the internet service was poor. I usually had to sit on the balcony to get a decent signal.
Will we stay here again? Probably. If possible we might try out the Picard Beach Cottages which is the companion property simply to avoid the stairs..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eke_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

The Portsmouth Beach Hotel is more than a hotel it is a "dormitory" for Ross University students.

The rooms are rustic, with no glass windows only shutters with a maybe it works air conditioning unit to help keep one cool. Most all rooms have a nice view of the ocean which is a plus. There are only stairs. Each room has, sort of, a kitchen, a propane stove and small refrigerator and a table. A balcony is there and it was nice to sit out there in the evening. (Take bug repellent).

The staff was very helpful and friendly which is also a plus. It is very close to Ross University and actually right next door.

Would I stay here again? I sort of doubt it as we upgraded to the Picard Beach Cottages which are MUCH nicer and part of the same property. Worth the extra $25 USD per night. See my separate review.

Room Tip: All roms are the same. Make sure there is plenty of electricty credit on the electric meters. No roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Great location. Shops and restaurants within waking distance. The staff is very friendly and always willing to assist with any help you need. There is a restaurant in the hotel right on the beach with nice food. But in hoel prices of course.
Don't miss soca room and grapefruit juice in the bar.
Go on a ride on the hobie cat with Clint. You'll find him a short walk down the beach.
Enjoy a trip up the Indian river or a fishing trip with Alexis. He can also take you bird watching or hiking if you wish. He is knowledgeable and pleasant and fun company.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mette_MarieMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
0.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.0 mi away
Evergreen Hotel
Evergreen Hotel
#5 of 7 in Roseau
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portsmouth Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portsmouth Beach Hotel

Property: Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Address: Picard Estate, Portsmouth, Dominica
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portsmouth Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portsmouth Beach Hotel is located just next door to the Picard Beach Cottages on Dominica’s longest sandy beach on the north-west coast of Dominica, just half a mile from the second town Portsmouth. Set in tropical lawns and garden this tourist class hotel offers 80 air-conditioned rooms and studios all with en-suite bathrooms and private balconies. Amenities include, telephone, refrigerator, cable television and complimentary Wifi.Portsmouth Beach Hotel is an informal and relaxing place which can be used as the ideal base from which to participate in any of the many adventures offered on the island, all of which can be arranged for you by the team of friendly and helpful staff all waiting the pleasure to share their Dominica with their guests.Choose to simply just stroll on the beach to enjoy the sand, sea and sun swimming and snorkeling on our coral reef just in front of our restaurant or for an exciting contrast, enjoy mountain hikes including along the Waitukubuli National Trail, island tours across Dominica, Historic & Cultural walks to the Cabrits National Park, guided row-boat tours up the Indian River (of Calypso’s river haunt fame in Pirates of the Caribbean 2), snorkeling off our reef just steps away, scuba diving in the Cabrits Marine Reserve, Whale Watching, Bird Watching in the Syndicate Parrot Preserve & Morne Diablotin National Park, trips to Secret Bay, and a plethora of other activities like river & waterfall bathing, kayaking in our Freshwater lakes or visiting various hot & cold springs, the Boiling Lake, tropical rainforest and more! Dining is in the friendly, relaxed atmosphere of Le Flambeau Restaurant at Beach Bar. Our well-stocked bar and lounge offers an extensive variety of tropical cocktails and the restaurant serves an eclectic menu of Creole, American and continental cuisine. Our produce and ingredients are sourced locally and organically wherever possible. Dining begins at 7am for breakfasts and the last dinner order is taken at 10pm. With the menu available all day, Le Flambeau is the ideal Beach spot on the island. Our Rates are Year-round with some specials during summer and festive seasons.En-suite Hotel Room: Our en-suite air-conditioned rooms are situated facing the sea only 150 meters away from the water’s edge and are equipped with one double bed, Telephone, Refrigerator, microwave, Cable TV, Wireless internet access, bathroom with shower and a private balcony.Studio: Our en-suite air-conditioned Studios are accommodated in our 3 storey building adjacent to the beach overlooking the coastline, beach and mountains views. They are all equipped with one double bed, Telephone, Kitchenettes with a refrigerator, microwave, and stove, Cable TV, Wireless internet access, bathroom with shower and a private balcony.Long Stays & Study AbroadLocated on Dominica’s longest sandy beach with its Le Flambeau Restaurant & Beach Bar only steps from the sea, Portsmouth Beach Hotel, PBH has for 3 decades provided the best location for University students & Study abroad programs in the North of the island. Set in a tropical garden and lawns is the 80 room Portsmouth Beach Hotel, strategically located as a premier location for students attending the adjoining Ross University or for those wishing to study abroad or attend medium to long-stay trips from 1 to 12 months. All our guests are given the same service and attention to their needs as we recognize the importance of safety, security, comfort and quiet relaxation is vitally important for successful studies. The added amenities of privacy, open fresh air balconies, telephone, high speed internet access, Cable TV, air conditioning, and kitchenettes add to students comfort while away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Portsmouth Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portsmouth Beach Hotel Dominica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing