We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful”
Review of Manicou River

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manicou River
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This is a beautiful place in nature with incredible views. We liked that it was ecological with no electricity, rain water fed, natural materials, etc., but the water bed was quite uncomfortable to sleep on and i had to ask for a regular mattress to be put on the floor. The owners at first seemed to be friendly and accommodating but when we left, we received a shocking email from them accusing us of not finalizing our bill and requesting additional charges (even though we paid full amount before coming), of leaving dirty dishes in the kitchen (which we never did) and pointing out that they drove us to town (as we shared a ride one day) and brought me a mattress (because i could not sleep on a water bed) free of charge. We were really shocked by this surprising and inappropriate reaction. It is a nice place but it's a shame that the management is not at all professional. Please be aware of that issue.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank margo015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2011

Manicou River Resort is a very precious part of the Dominican landscape. The resort homes are unique, built from local hard wood trees cleared to make way for the roads through Everton Hall Estate and trees from the North of the Island. As Dominica has a strict conservation plan these are some of the very rare 100% local wood homes built this century. The styles are in keeping with the landscape and blend into their woodland home.

Therefore the fire and subsequent burn damage, breakages and mess left during a reckless party at our luxury villa ‘Casse En Bwa La’ with all the guests in this group (included “Stay Away” reviewer) was a shock and has left a sad reminder of careless peoples actions.

We have very few “rules” at Manicou River Resort but this party managed to break ALL of them. We stick by our decision to refuse their planned return.

Sometimes guests arrive on a late flight and there is no time to shop so we offer help if needed. In this case we did not charge your party for: eggs, milk, butter, bread, jam, coffee, tea, sugar, grapefruits, oranges, mangos, cooking oil, rice, 5 days use of 2 full sets of fins, masks & snorkel, trips to town, collection from the bus and a drop off on a hike 15 miles away, an extra bed in the cottage and subsequently moving into a larger cottage that sleeps 3.

Manicou River Resort is not a faceless corporation but a small family business with two very lovely, loyal staff. We are here building the resort, setting the organic gardens, clearing trails and supporting a local youth training program. If you want what we have and are willing to walk amongst people that love Dominica please come and say “hello”.

Theresa Hunneybell & Manicou River Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

First of all it's the first time in my life that I felt the urge to write a review to warn other fellow travelers about this place. The owner of this place was the most unprofessional, rude, openly hostile, and poisonous person that I have ever come across with in a hospitality business.
We were both respectful and calm. While staying in the cabin for quite a few nights every little request was met with open hostility and anger.

If you are someone how likes positive energy around them during their vacation, I would very strongly advise - STAY AWAY from this place

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ASapritsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

The guests were given a warning about completely unacceptable recreational behavior after only 2 nights stay. Our mistake was not demanding they leave our premises immediately.

The result was:
1. Large burn damage to the red wood floor not paid for.
2. Outstanding bill
3. Damage to bedding.
4. Breakages.
5. Rudeness to staff and other guests.
6. Cleanliness.

Our team work hard here to make our guests as happy as possible. We have learned a valuable lesson and look forward to our usual lovely happy customers who love the beautiful Island of Dominica as much as we do.

The Hunneybells, Mrs Christmas and Mr Valentine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed here on a visit to Ross University and stayed for 3 nights.

I must adsmit that I booked the place without knowing what I was getting myself into. I was so pleasantly surprised. The views ARE spectacular and the cottages are lovely and cosy ... all true ... but the best thing was the bed. It was a King sized water bed. I had to put on an alarm to reach my meetings. If I could I would have put the sleep quality as a 6.

Wonderful place ... get there as soon as you can.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrentonTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Imagine living in a tree house with a breathtaking views, completely off the grid. This is a place to truly escape from it all. No electricity, but hot water when the sun is shining and some solar powered lights for after dark. Make sure you pack a flashlight or headlamp unless you want to read by candlelight. Also pick up ice en route -- cooler provided -- to store perishables. A 4wheel drive vehicle is essential to climb the hill to this amazing retreat. Light sleepers might want earplugs until they are able to adjust to the sounds of the forest. Most importantly, Tess and Kevin are incredible hosts who truly care about your experience. Tess, in particular, was a lifesaver for us on this trip, refunding us a night's stay when our travel plans were disrupted by weather so that we were able to use that night at another accommodation that we had booked that was not as accommodating. Kevin also set us up with a great day's hiking/boating/snorkeling excursion. Try the Purple Turtle Beach Club for wonderful fresh local food and amazing sunsets, if you can bear to leave your room!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecely02130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

if you like great views of the sea, candlelit evenings swinging in a hammock, and peace and quiet, this is the place. The lodges are spectacular. Tess and Kevin were great and set up a trip where we did a 4 hour hike through the mountains to the ocean, were picked up by a couple local guys on a boat and went snokling and fishing and who dropped us off on shore about 1/4 mile from our car. The owners will be happy to point you in the right direction for adventure, but don't hold your hand and let you experience it for yourself. The long 4x4 steep driveway was fun especially after a few rum punches, and we didn't even mind when the solar shower didn't warm up. It rained hard each night on the sheet metal room, but it kept us soundly asleep. This is a great place to stay if you want to do your own exploring around the island, plus only 15 mins from Portsmouth and their grocery stores and fruit markets. Snorkling in douglas bay, visit the beach at Toucari (good snorkling there too), hike Cabrits, and four days just wash away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2011

The pleasure was all ours I assure you.

If we had to design a template for the ideal customer for our resort ... it would end up looking just like yourselves.

We have since fixed the solar shower and hot water is flowing again .... a little late for yourselves I am afraid, but I am sure that you can return to test it out. Again please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

The access road is indeed fun after a few rum punches. The only way to get people (even local businessman) to say "You have the best view in Dominica" yet be so close to the sea, is to have a road that goes "UP" quickly. It's all part of the adventure as you well understand.

Thank you for the great review and come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Our stay at Manicou river resort was too short!!! The cottage is great, the view is wonderfull, the nights with the candles were so romantic.... We'll come back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madinina34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

This place was a lot of fun to stay at, it had a great view and it was very peaceful. Should let people know in advance that there is no power so that might bother some after staying more than a couple days. The couple that run the place were also very nice and accomidating but I should let you know that most of the pictures that are shown on the website are of their cabin not the one you would be staying at. Oh and get a 4x4 if you want to get here it's up a steep rough road.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abrownsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2011

Thanks for your input and review. We are glad that you enjoyed
your stay with us. It really helps future visitors to get a fuller picture of the resort.

From the outset Manicou River Eco Resort made it policy to keep the environmental impact to a minimum. We decided not to supply electricity to each cottage. Fans and A/C are not needed, as we are elevated with mountain breezes. There are 12v car chargers available for IPhones and Blackberry. Most people staying here love the candlelight and find it both romantic and very relaxing. We now offer solar lighting for those who need more.

We would like to point out that we do not offer TV, much to the relief of our guests.

The views are beautiful and in order to have them one must drive up a steep hill and a 4x4 car is essential as it is for other spectacular Dominican sights.

The photos on the website are of both the villa and the cottages that are for rent all year round. The award-winning villa dominates, as it is our flagship accommodation. We hope that you return and rent villa to get a truly unique Dominican experience.
Regards
Theresa Hunneybell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
4.1 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
500 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
3.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
874 reviews
8.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
226 reviews
7.6 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manicou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manicou River

Address: Tanetane, Portsmouth, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: £185 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manicou River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE APRIL 2013. Manicou River is a collection of hand-crafted wooden cottages perched on the mountainside high above Douglas Bay and the Cabrits National Park on the beautiful, pristine island of Dominica. Our view is one of the best on the island, taking in mountains, the Caribbean Sea and the small town of Portsmouth below. We offer a simple, relaxing, nature experience with just the right touches of luxury. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manicou River Eco Hotel Portsmouth
Manicou River Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing