We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manicou River is a great value in pristine setting”
Review of Manicou River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manicou River
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Manicou River is a great value in pristine setting”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Manicou River Resort is one of the best choices for the value minded traveler interested in a natural setting just a stone's throw from Portsmouth and a short drive from the best beach's on the Island. You can find more luxury for five times the cost but you will not find another resort in this setting at this price. The owner's bent over backwards to see that our needs were accommodated. While on the west coast overlooking the breathtakingly gorgeous Cabrits park and Caribbean coast ,which offers swimming/snorkeling, you're just an hour drive from the beautiful black and white sand beach's along the east coast road to Calibishie, a must-do day trip if you're in the area. Another 15-20 minutes will take you into pristine rainforest , and from here it's less than an hour to the Carib territory , another great day trip from the resort.

The owner's have lived on the Island for some time and were were very knowledgeable about the local culture and interesting things to do as well as the caveats that go along with any third world travel. If you're looking for a quite , reasonably priced resort, immersed in nature, not far from a number of top spots to visit, with kind and responsive service then Manicou River is well worth a week or two or even more if you have the time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ByronMulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
100
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2011

The time we spent here was the best of our whole trip. The views and accommodation are absolutely stunning. Our 4 year old little boy totally loved going on adventures in the woods and took a real shine to our hosts Tess and Kevin who were wonderful, very accommodating and helpful. Absolutely idyllic. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This is simply the best holiday we have ever had!! And we have had a few !! They made us feel so welcome and are friends for life - I cannot speak too highly of this place - if you have one holiday - have it here - beautiful place - hosts - everything was wonderful !!! Thankyou - we will be back !

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siearthdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I am a pro eco traveler and this resort went above and beyond my expectation! This is the holiday of the future where the staff are not only friendly but appreciate the land they have built on (you don't get this often) would advise to any visitor to the beautiful island!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesEcoFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoiry, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This is a beautiful place in nature with incredible views. We liked that it was ecological with no electricity, rain water fed, natural materials, etc., but the water bed was quite uncomfortable to sleep on and i had to ask for a regular mattress to be put on the floor. The owners at first seemed to be friendly and accommodating but when we left, we received a shocking email from them accusing us of not finalizing our bill and requesting additional charges (even though we paid full amount before coming), of leaving dirty dishes in the kitchen (which we never did) and pointing out that they drove us to town (as we shared a ride one day) and brought me a mattress (because i could not sleep on a water bed) free of charge. We were really shocked by this surprising and inappropriate reaction. It is a nice place but it's a shame that the management is not at all professional. Please be aware of that issue.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank margo015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Manicou River Resort is a very precious part of the Dominican landscape. The resort homes are unique, built from local hard wood trees cleared to make way for the roads through Everton Hall Estate and trees from the North of the Island. As Dominica has a strict conservation plan these are some of the very rare 100% local wood homes built this century. The styles are in keeping with the landscape and blend into their woodland home.

Therefore the fire and subsequent burn damage, breakages and mess left during a reckless party at our luxury villa ‘Casse En Bwa La’ with all the guests in this group (included “Stay Away” reviewer) was a shock and has left a sad reminder of careless peoples actions.

We have very few “rules” at Manicou River Resort but this party managed to break ALL of them. We stick by our decision to refuse their planned return.

Sometimes guests arrive on a late flight and there is no time to shop so we offer help if needed. In this case we did not charge your party for: eggs, milk, butter, bread, jam, coffee, tea, sugar, grapefruits, oranges, mangos, cooking oil, rice, 5 days use of 2 full sets of fins, masks & snorkel, trips to town, collection from the bus and a drop off on a hike 15 miles away, an extra bed in the cottage and subsequently moving into a larger cottage that sleeps 3.

Manicou River Resort is not a faceless corporation but a small family business with two very lovely, loyal staff. We are here building the resort, setting the organic gardens, clearing trails and supporting a local youth training program. If you want what we have and are willing to walk amongst people that love Dominica please come and say “hello”.

Theresa Hunneybell & Manicou River Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

First of all it's the first time in my life that I felt the urge to write a review to warn other fellow travelers about this place. The owner of this place was the most unprofessional, rude, openly hostile, and poisonous person that I have ever come across with in a hospitality business.
We were both respectful and calm. While staying in the cabin for quite a few nights every little request was met with open hostility and anger.

If you are someone how likes positive energy around them during their vacation, I would very strongly advise - STAY AWAY from this place

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ASapritsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManicouRiverResort, Owner at Manicou River, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
The guests were given a warning about completely unacceptable recreational behavior after only 2 nights stay. Our mistake was not demanding they leave our premises immediately.

The result was:
1. Large burn damage to the red wood floor not paid for.
2. Outstanding bill
3. Damage to bedding.
4. Breakages.
5. Rudeness to staff and other guests.
6. Cleanliness.

Our team work hard here to make our guests as happy as possible. We have learned a valuable lesson and look forward to our usual lovely happy customers who love the beautiful Island of Dominica as much as we do.

The Hunneybells, Mrs Christmas and Mr Valentine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I stayed here on a visit to Ross University and stayed for 3 nights.

I must adsmit that I booked the place without knowing what I was getting myself into. I was so pleasantly surprised. The views ARE spectacular and the cottages are lovely and cosy ... all true ... but the best thing was the bed. It was a King sized water bed. I had to put on an alarm to reach my meetings. If I could I would have put the sleep quality as a 6.

Wonderful place ... get there as soon as you can.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrentonTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
4.1 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
487 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
3.4 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
224 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
842 reviews
17.2 mi away
Beau Rive
Beau Rive
#1 of 2 in Castle Bruce
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manicou River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manicou River

Property: Manicou River
Address: Tanetane, Portsmouth, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manicou River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT SINCE APRIL 2013. Manicou River is a collection of hand-crafted wooden cottages perched on the mountainside high above Douglas Bay and the Cabrits National Park on the beautiful, pristine island of Dominica. Our view is one of the best on the island, taking in mountains, the Caribbean Sea and the small town of Portsmouth below. We offer a simple, relaxing, nature experience with just the right touches of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Manicou River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manicou River Eco Hotel Portsmouth
Manicou River Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing