We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Watch Your Credit Card!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picard Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Picard Beach Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Watch Your Credit Card!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We stayed here for four nights in early June. There were only two other cottages occupied, so it was a quiet and serene vacation. The AC had to work pretty hard, but we were cool enough. BUT ---- returning home our VISA bill had a $54 charge on it, separate from our deposit and final charges at check out. I have tried and tried to get the property to remove this charge, but they tell me "We have no record of charging your card for this". If you go, you should be aware of this. I have seen a couple of other reviews mentioning mystery charges. I would suggest you stay elsewhere and avoid the problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RuttaB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    23
    6
    11
    6
See reviews for
23
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washingotn, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

I lived in Dominica for two years and know the place well. Picard Beach Cottages are a great bargain (economy accomodations are tough to find in DA) and aare wonderfully comfy place to stay. The beach as a stones throw away yet the place is quite private. The staff was great and the cottages are very comfortable/clean. Wish I was there now...... As someone who knows the island very well, I fully endorse this establishment.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MistaWheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

We came to visit our son who is attending Med School and this was the closest hotel to stay at within walking distance. We stayed in one of the cottages and the view was fantastic, nice to have porch to relax at night, but surprised at the accomodations. The cottage could be very nice if they were updated. Holes in the walls/windows for the bugs to come in and was pretty hot in the rooms unless y were in the bedroom..not very much water pressure, but Cecelia was our maid and she was fantastic!!! Whatever we needed she would try and get for us & always a smile on her face. Restaurant was not open (under construction or something)..whole area could be kept up better & it could be a very nice place to stay in the future. Not any other choice to stay if y want to be close to y student.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstahly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

These aren't the most luxurious of cottages, but the location right near the beach is great. We got a free upgrade from a standard to a superior cottage (though we didn't have a beach front, just a "beach view," which consisted of a glimpse of the sea between two other cottages). We enjoyed walking along the beach and going out onto the pier to watch the sunset in the evenings. We also liked sitting out on our cottage's porch (but bring your bug spray -- we got chewed on by mosquitoes).

Our cottage had a TV, fridge/freezer, gas stove, dishes/utensils, and sink. There was a window air conditioner in the bedroom that could be used to cool that room or the entire cottage. (It worked well for the former, but wasn't quite strong enough to cool the whole place effectively.) We had to get maintenance (aka the security person on call) to fix some lights, the stove, and our TV during our stay -- an inconvenience, but the repairs were made promptly. Otherwise we had a lovely time here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soliteyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete,Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2009

There are only three things going for this place - location right on the beach,Celia - cheerful housekeeping genius and Lexie efficient reception staff.Our "standard" beachfront shack was woefully tired and investment to keep it maintained was missing.Although we were five yards from the beach,it was generally thronged by partying medical students from the university,all times of the day and night,therefore noisy with no privacy.
It advertises itself as a diving and whale watching centre,but we had to drive 45 mins to Roseau to the anchorage hotel to get on a boat to watch whales(which was awe-inspiring),but,nothing to do with the Picard hotel.It seems the title "eco cottages" here means lacking in facilities,maintenace and investment.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Given the rave write-ups of this hotel I was greatly disappointed when finding the rooms, especially the bathrooms, dirty and in desperate need of maintenance. Each and every coffee cup had dirt rings inside. Other than the premises also speaking of management neglect, the setting of the free-standing bungalows is lovely - right on the beach with large trees and lovely flowering plants.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMPStMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2009

We travel with a small group of scuba divers and had just recently stayed at the Picard Beach Cottages....we had a fantastic time! The views from our porch were breathtaking, the cottages were tidy and spacious and the landscaping was just incredible. A short walk from local markets and "the shacks", we had a great time deciding on what to enjoy for dinner after a great day of diving with Cabrits Dive Center and exploring beautiful Dominica! We also enjoyed our morning breakfast very much at the restaurant located next to the hotel, the food was great and the staff were very accommodating to our early morning schedule. There were several people passing through with dogs and I saw no sign of cruelty from the staff! The dogs seemed very welcome and happy to visit with you.
Dominica is one of the cleanest islands I have ever encountered and it's beauty is unbelievable! The people were very very friendly and kind. I would highly recommend Picard Beach Cottages and a visit to Dominica to anyone that loves nature! A week was just too short a stay! Also, there is a very well written guidebook on Dominica by a scuba instructor named Paul Crask...if you go to Dominica, be sure to read his book first and make a checklist of his must do's!!!!! Happy traveling!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoralReeferArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.9 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
0.5 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
18.6 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
3.5 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picard Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picard Beach Cottages

Property: Picard Beach Cottages
Address: Picard Estate, Portsmouth, Dominica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Picard Beach Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picard Beach Cottages, being & healing with Nature. The only Beach Cottages in Dominica where you literally step out of your cottage and onto the beach. Where you are literally 25 feet from a dip in the Caribbean Sea. Where you can sit on your porch and watch your children play safely in the sand or experience some of the most amazing romantic Sunsets. Where you HAVE to walk among a profusion of flowering and fruit trees and shrubs and our 500 year old Samaan Tree all vying for the attention of the countless birds just to get to your cottage. Where your locally built accommodations celebrate traditional 18th century style wooden bungalows which would have speckled Dominica's coasts and villages in those days. Where all the Team are just naturally sweet and courteous and really happy to be here at Picard Beach Cottages to be able to host you in Dominica. And where the owners are 100% local having spent 41 years and now 3 generations working as Pioneers of Dominica's Tourism Industry. As recipients of the Responsible Tourism Award in both 2012 and 2013 we continue to work in all aspects of our operations to be guardians of our heritage through various community and environmental activities and mentor-ship programs. Nestled on the shores of the old Picard Coconut Plantation on the North West coast of Dominica, the Nature Island of the Caribbean, fringed by Dominica's longest sandy beach, Picard Plantation is just south of Portsmouth and Ross University School of Medicine, in a quiet suburban area originally called Ayohayo by the island’s first settlers, the Arawaks. Our eighteen one bedroom en-suite air conditioned hardwood cottages each contains one queen bed, bathroom, kitchenette and living/dining area and private veranda. There is a daybed in the living area, a TV with over 50 channels of Cable television coverage, free wireless internet and iron & board. You will be supplied with local herbal & organic teas and cottage amenities. The Beach Front cottages are just steps away from the beach and the Beach View cottages have glimpses of the beach through the flowering and fruit garden. The Kitchenettes in the Standard cottages have a hotplates, fridge, kettles and coffee makers and our Standard Beach views have shower in the bathroom while the others, Superior cottages have kitchens with standing stoves with oven, fridges, kettles coffee makers and microwave on request (at a small daily fee), as well as a bathtub with Shower. Due to our strategic location you may choose to spend your time relaxing on our beach or in the gardens but we are also ideally located to take advantage of many of the natural attractions and restaurants in the area. We can arrange them all for you, these include; Scuba diving and snorkeling, whale watching, visiting the Cabrits National Park, taking a ride up the Indian river, where parts of the film, ‘Pirates of the Caribbean 1 & 11’ were filmed (a number of the executive crew members of the movie were also our guests), Bird Watching at the Syndicate Forest Reserve, visiting the Carib Model Village & Territory or anything you would like to do on the island. Our Wellbeing Pavillion is situated in our forested paddock where Pilates sesions are booked by appointment or various retreat sessions and meetings are held. Our therapists offer various health & beauty treatments by appointment for our guests. At Picard Beach ‘Wellness Eco’ Cottages we offer wildlife & adventure tours, Scuba diving, honeymoon and wedding packages and invite our guests to join in our wildlife preservation and environmentally sensitive operations and projects. Le Flambeau Restaurant & Beach Bar is situated right next door on the property of the Portsmouth Beach Hotel where meals and snacks and of-course beverages are available from 7:30am to 10pm while there are numerous other interesting places to eat in the vicinity. Many neighborhood taxis can take you around Portsmouth, Dominica's second town, should you wish to do some grocery shopping, if you choose to rent a vehicle, we can assist with all these arrangements too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Picard Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picard Beach Cottages Hotel Portsmouth
Picard Beach Cottages Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing