We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Magic! Like living within a piece of artwork...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
32 reviews
View from the bed
Indigo Tree cottage the room
Indigo Tree cottage bedroom
Indigo Tree cottage the bed
The outdoor toilets' entrance
Almost arrived
Tree cottage bedroom
By the road to Indigo
The hammock in the tree cottage
Bouquet in the tree cottage to welcome the new guests
The wall of fame in the kitchen gallery
Art Gallery ' s visit , the fruit snack and cocoa tea
''Paint with the artist '' A half day private painting course at Indigo
By the main road
Indigo Tree cottage, the hammock
Orlando Bloom in the art gallery
Sunset at Indigo
View from the loo on morne Diablotin
The Crusoe cottage to host your friends or your family,to stay five persons at Indigo
View on the royal palm
Kitchen view at Indigo Tree Cottage
The entrance
The sign at the bottom of the hill before to reach at Indigo
Orlando wrtting an autographe in the Art Gallery
Celebrities 's wall in the kitchen
Caterpillar on a frangipani leaf
Bananaquits and lemon
''le petit coin'' the loo
Sunset
Johnny 's letter for us
Indigo cottage the view from the shower
le petit coin the loo
Room with a view
In the art gallery
Art gallery
Flower's bouquet
Art gallery
The room
Up the road
Mr Bullfinch in the kitchen
In the kitchen gallery
The steps to the gallery
Full moon
In the  art gallery
Domino players under the moon
Clem's carving in the kitchen
Keira Knightley on visitors' book
Basil and passion fruit's flower in the gallery
Picasso's shack
Basil in front of the Crusoe cottage
Bullfinch at (their) home
The cactus is growing high
Budha in the kitchen
Picasso's coconuts trees
Coral sink made by Clem and the money goddess
Art studio
Clem's carving on a chair
In the outside shower
The Art gallery from the path to Indigo tree cottage
Flowers in the gallery
The sofa's corner in the tree cottage
The sign by Betty the neighbour
Lemongrass tied on the bed
Local herbal soaps ( aloes, bayleaf, cinnamon, patchouly,sulphur ...)
View from the loo on Morne Diablotin
A half day private painting course at Indigo, with the choice of different media as watercolors, oil pastels, acrylic...
Claire and her canvas finished
The view from the tree cottage
In the outside shower
In and out the tree cottage , a loft in the bush with only three walls
morne Diablotin from the outdoor toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish, Dominica

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
999Debora...
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magic! Like living within a piece of artwork created by nature, and artists that appreciate nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we stepped into Indigo Cottage we were mesmerized by its magic. It was the way it was situated on the side of the hill amongst beautiful trees, shrubs and flowers, having a view of the hills and the valley to Portsmouth. The sounds of Dominican roosters and dogs in the morning. And the sweet birds that flew in and out of the cottage to peck on an orange or look inquisitively about us. We loved the ubiquitous lizards, Clems and Maries artwork everywhere and the outdoor shower and toilet. Bring a flashlight for the walk up the hill at night.
Dominica is beautiful as are their people and the country. Indigo Cottage was part of our fall into love with this Island.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA, US
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
katmadhu
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A magical place - unique and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Absolutely lovely place. Even the toilet was spectacular. - a golden throne over-looking the rain forest, Marie's banana jam, the finches flying through the room, lizards off all sizes eating the bugs - everything was unique and special.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the total experience
Liked least: the mosquitos - come prepared. (Sand fleas on the beaches too)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2013
Thank you Catherine ,I am very happy that your stay at Indigo gave you the pleasure I like to share with my guests. Mission accomplie si j ose dire , vous etiez des hotes tres agreables aussi .Merci et peut etre a bientot . marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessamine...
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MAGICAL, secluded spot in tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

What an incredibly special place. We were privileged to stay here, completely surrounded by Nature in the three-walled cottage made from curved tree braches and decorated with Marie's playful, bright paintings, cooking in the outdoor kitchen, washing in the outdoor shower, and using the outhouse with most spectacular mountain view! We were greeted with fresh flowers and fruit, and woke every morning at dawn to bright sun and birdsong. We'd watch as all sorts of birds came swooping down in front of our open porch to fight over the grapefruits in the bird feeder. We'd make fresh juices with the fruit Marie left in a basket every day, cook breakfast on the hot plate, then head out for some of Dominica's incredible hiking and sightseeing. At night, after a picnic on the beach or an awesome grilled fish at nearby restaurant Monty's, we'd come home, mix up some rum punch, and relax in the hammock by candlelight. We barely needed the mosquito netting on the bed, but enjoyed how it looked, and the cool mountain breezes kept us perfectly comfortable. The dogs, Basil and Tiger, were enthusiastic companions and protectors. We had actually booked another place that promised "eco-luxury" for the last few days of our trip, but after one miserable night there, we returned to Marie with our tails between our legs-- nothing could compare.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2013
Thanks a lot for this wonderful and so honest comment, hope to see you again one day, Basil and Tiger missed you and stayed in front the tree cottage for the all day after the day you went .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodebra
Snowshoe, WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like living in a painting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Indigo Cottage was absolutly perfect. From the moment of arrival we were over-whelmed by the beauty in this little spot. Flowers everywhere, brids clamoring for attention, Marie's grace and beauty and the surreal cottage, it was perfect. The outdoor shower with the geicos and birds was wonderful as was the outdoor loo with a beautiful view of the bush and mountains of Dominica. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen just big enough, and the cottage design and comfort was like living a dream. Marie love for this island and the life she has created is reflected in everything; the kitchen, the gallery, the cottages, the flowers, the paintings and the artistic touches. The dogs, Basil and Tiger are friendly and happy, the birds are everywhere and make you smile every moment. Marie knows the best places for a sea bath, a river bath, a hot sulphur bath and a french lunch! I wish I could have stayed longer. Absolutely the best place to stay in Dominica.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The birds
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2013
Thank you so much, Jo. It was also ''merveilleux'' to meet you and David ,hope to see you back one day .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2013
Hi Nico and Stephanie ,
Thanks a lot , hope to see you again one day,
a bientot j espere
One Love
Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
british columbia
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Jan 2013
Thanks Shelley,
You was the perfect independant traveller enjoying the atmosphere of Indigo,and I am looking forward for you to come back and try the bathtub with hibiscus and aloes .One Love
Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$75
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing