We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Tastes to Please Any Gormandize on the Nature Isle”

The Champs Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Picard, Dominca
1 review
“Classy Tastes to Please Any Gormandize on the Nature Isle”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I have dined at Champs on numerous occasions.
Their Friday Fine Dining is easily some of the best food on the island. Chef Eric Subin never disappoints! Their dinners are only rivaled by their Saturday Brunches and Sunday Jazz Brunch accompanied with "do it yourself" mimosas or a fresh brewed cup of coffee with a shot of Baileys.

Any other day of the week is also delicious and fun. Every night has a special and it's a great place to grab a burger, bucket of beer and watch the game or simply a glass of wine and watch the sunset over the Caribbean sea-Which is never a bad view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2015
Dear Brittany,

Thanks for such a great review. Thanks for your compliment on our meals, view and Fine Dining. We are happy that you loved our ambiance.

It is good that you could have been able to sample our weekly Dinner menus occasionally. We do hope to welcome you at our Restaurant again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel & nice people!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

great stay in dominica and the champs make's you're vacation complete
they have everything that you need from jacuzzi to a nice bedroom from bedroom to an excellent bar from bar to great food keep going with the good work Hans&Lies!
in the weekends they hire a chef you will be amazed with what you get nice price good food
Hans&Lies can help you with everything book a trip, go snorkeling, rent a car just ask it!

thanks for a relax vacation!

Gr.Marcel

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank marcel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 January 2015
Dear Marcel,

Thanks for a well written review. We highly appreciate your efforts of writing this. We are happy that you enjoyed everything that Champs had to offer.

We were happy that we could accommodate you and give you all the help you needed to make your vacation an enjoyable one.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back at The Champs again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The champ,

First of all: you have a great view if you're eating on the porch over Portsmouth! When the sun is going down you enjoy the first beer! Staff is friendly and you get a good answer!

The Food: Taco Tuesday, Wings Wednesday have we experienced! For a very nice price a nice good food to eat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank 19Stanley87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise v, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thanks for your nice review we are happy you enjoyed the view
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Dominica
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique view, Excellent food , Friendly and hospitable folks”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I am at The Champs everyday, because this is the only place around where you get full comfort from staff. Another home away from home. Thanks for being so hospitable Hans and Lies. I think that you all have the best chef as well; Chef Eric Subin, who makes me look forward to what I'm going to eat next.

You want something filling and good tasting to eat? Visit The Champs Restaurant. Just name the days. On Saturday there is Brunch. The menu is different EVERY Saturday. On Tuesday there is Taco ( the best I've ever tasted) On Wednesday, there is Fried wings in so many different styles. I am not spilling more!!! There's also vehicle pickup up and down the hill!

Champs also Rocks the Boat on Sundays live Jazz Brunch, which only happens once a month.
Guys thanks for all of the good food, hospitality and entertainment

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Shard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 December 2014
Dear Shard,

Thank you for your great review. We do appreciate the fact that you could have detailed your review in such an excellent manner.

Thanks for your compliment on our Staff and excellent food and service. We hope that you will come back to dine with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good job Lise and Hans”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed a 5 nights in The Champs and we had a wonderful time. We have enjoyed our time to the fullest and the owners and staff were all very friendly and helpful. Thanks for our super vacation and we come back for sure!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana1911556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Diana,

Thank you for a great review. We are happy that you found our place very wonderful. We are always happy to know that our guests lived and felt contented upon staying with us.

We would be happy to welcome you to our Hotel again in the near future.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Champs Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 

Been to The Champs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing