We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Criel-sur-Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Easy driving distance from Tunnel along coast road. Nothing here apart from the hotel ,an excellent restaurant on the beach, and the sea.
Very peaceful. Cliff walk to Crieul sur mer where there is another interesting restaurant.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on courtyard give a distant view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    61
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for a prolonged week-end celebrating our wedding anniversary. And we loved it!
I highly recommend taking a sea-view-room, as you really see (and hear) the sea from the room (we had room 119). The hotel is located on the cliffs overlooking the sea and backed by huge old trees. The rooms open to a patio with a wooden veranda surrounding it, where you can sit in the shadow and read. The room was furnished in a very cosy and romantic style and everything was tidy and cleaned well every day. The rooms have wifi for free. The bathroom also is nice and clean.
Someone wrote here the hotel reminds him of an hercule poirot story and this really hits it. It really is a romantic place. You only have to take a short walk to the beach, but due to big stones there I recommend bathing shoes when having a swim - this is even in august something for the brave due to the water temperature, but very refreshing! In the same park as the hotel is a camping place, but far enough away. We did not feel disturbed by that, but you have to know that the campers have their sanitaries at the hotel, in a separated isle.
Breakfast was fine: Croissants, different jams and cheese, fresh fruit, joghurt, apple puree, baguette etc. You serve yourself at a buffet and we asked if we could take our breakfast outside as there were also tables. It was no problem, thus we sat in the sun looking at the sea, which was marvellous. Stuff were always friendly and helpfully.
If you want a calm and romantic place for your normandy trip, this is it!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnhem
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

It is more or less built on top of the cliffs and has a beautiful English style facade with the office and breakfast room in the main building. Behind this there are two wings with hotel rooms. It is very quiet. The interior has not changed since I came here for the first time but I like it so much! A walk of a couple of minutes brings you down to the cobble beach with beautiful views on the coast line. Here you'll find a restaurant that is only open in the weekend in the off season. Many French come here for dinner

Room Tip: the west wing has a view on the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Just dreadful, we booked three courtyard rooms in advance on a bed and breakfast basis. Upon arrival the owner advised that regular visitors had taken the rooms instead. He then offered 3 different rooms which he then charged an additional 40 euros per room for plus he then had the cheek to charge us for breakfast as well. His attitude was appaling, the rooms were average and the service was the worst i had ever experienced.
Dont touch this place with a barge pole

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank egerton186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criel-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
Hostellerie de la Vieille Ferme
Hostellerie de la Vieille Ferme
#2 of 2 in Criel-sur-Mer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Le Treport-Mers les Bains
2.0 mi away
Hotel de Calais
Hotel de Calais
#1 of 5 in Le Treport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel la Villa Marine
Hotel la Villa Marine
#2 of 5 in Le Treport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.8 mi away
hotel LA COUR CARREE
2.2 mi away
Hotel Le Maritim'
Hotel Le Maritim'
#3 of 5 in Le Treport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 1 rue de la Mer | Mesnil Val Plage, 76910 Criel-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Criel-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Criel-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing