We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit”
Review of Etna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Etna Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giarre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a lovely little gem and this was our third visit. We are welcomed like family. Our room as always was excellent. Service is excellent for the small team of people they make sure you have a good holiday. Set in orchards You will need a car for convenience and getting to restaurants at night. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but in Riposto and surrounding areas there are good basic restaurants and of course top restaurants in Taoramina but that you have to pay for. Good base for going around Etna . However the town of Giarre is one of the bigger village set around Etna. Has a lot of shops and goes down to the marine at Riposto.

Room Tip: Beaches are reached by car or bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this charming hotel. The staff is friendly and service oriented. The good bottle of red wine that we received upon arrival was a charming start of our stay here. A great breakfast can be used on the terrace outside. The swimming pool is good for a fresh start of the day. The room and the building itself have an authentic atmosphere while the room is also comfortable with a small place outside each room to enjoy the evening with a good glass of wine. Different rooms have Etna-view and we were surprised by a glowing Etna when we returned to the hotel after dinner. The restaurant next to the hotel is not the best one we tried in Sicily with respect to the food.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel next to lemon orchards , very clean , good breakfast with tasty coffee, great swimmingpool with view on the Etna, Some rooms next to busy road, location is not great you really need a car and quitte a difficult drive

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ineke1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

An absolutely delightful hotel emerges out of a rather run down but perfectly safe part of town. Oozes character and charm; peaceful and relaxing so unlike the mass market offerings. Excellent breakfasts with delicious pastries. Only disadvantage is long distance from eating places although restaurant on site serves a good if slightly limited menu.
Don't miss out on a ramble through the citrus groves, especially if you've never seen avocado trees laden with fruit.
All in all an excellent base to explore from; we did 1400km in a week.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful unpredicted experience at the Etna Hotel! We decided to travel all around the island by motorcycles and one night we randomly reached Giarre, so we stopped at this hotel. Even if we had no reservation, the staff welcomed us really kindly, speaking in German, too!

We got really nice rooms: clean, cool, perfumed, with really nice furniture… The next morning we had a great breakfast and we relaxed couple of hours at the wonderful swimming pool.

Unfortunately we stayed just two night, but it was enough to recommend this lovely hotel to every traveller, who wants to visit the east part of Sicily !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cattany d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great hotel/restaurant on the edge of town. Stayed as part of a walking holiday. Superb, spacious, clean, modern, quiet, air conditioned rooms. Lovely central courtyard for relaxing/socialising. Good outdoor pool and surrounds. High quality, reasonably priced restaurant. Very attentive staff keen to please (when we said we wanted to go on the Circumetnea railway the manager jumped in his car and gave us a lift to the nearest station - superb service/attitude).

Pity about Giarre - a dump. Also, the hotel is on the periphery of the town so a taxi ride is necessary to get to the centre where the station and shops are located - you certainly wouldn't want to walk!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EAWDidsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EtnaHotel, Front Office Manager at Etna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Sir,

It's a pleasure for us to read such a positive review. We are glad that you appreciated our hotel and the service we provided: customer satisfaction is our priority.
At the same time, we are sorry for your thought about Giarre, but we were living a critic situation because of a temporary strike of the urban cleaning service. We really hope you will have the opportunity to come back and live a different experience, because that situation is definitely getting better now.

Kind regards,
Luisa
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our staying in the hotel was simply wonderful since the very beginning! When my husband and I arrived, the lovely staff welcomed us with an unexpected bottle of Prosecco.

Our room was really nice: well decorated, cool and with an amazing view of the volcano Etna! What we enjoyed most was sunbathing at the swimming pool, drinking wine and enjoying the view of the volcano!

The only problem of the town is the lack of a good system of public transportation: we had to call cabs several times, so it’s better (and cheaper!) to rent a car in advance.

We’ll never forget our wonderful holiday in Sicily !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCWOOD L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giarre
2.4 mi away
La Terra dei Sogni
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
481 reviews
6.2 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
886 reviews
2.0 mi away
King's House Hotel Resort
King's House Hotel Resort
#3 of 4 in Fondachello
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
6.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
416 reviews
19.3 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etna Hotel

Address: Via Continella 10, 95014, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giarre
Price Range: £59 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Etna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Etna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etna Hotel Giarre
Etna Hotel Sicily/Giarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing