We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful House in beautiful Lower Swell”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Swell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Orla M
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful House in beautiful Lower Swell”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in Troutbeck on a family re-union holiday. We were delighted with the location of the house in Lower Swell. The house itself was large, spacious and very well equipped. The bedrooms were bright and airy and very comfortable.

The kitchen was perfect for a large family gathering. Every utensil needed was there, and we really appreciated the landlord's kind gesture of leaving tea and biscuits out for us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, spacious, perfect for a stay in the Cotswolds
Liked least: some difficulty with the lock on the door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astonest
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely well equipped home in quaint village”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a group of friends over the Easter weekend. We organised a sainsbury delivery for the day we arrived and the house had everything we needed to cook for the weekend. The rooms were spacious and tidy and Chris was very accommodating. We particularly enjoyed sitting in the conservatory and playing games in the afternoon. A short drive to Stow on the wold which has some lovely pubs and a Tesco to restock supplies.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahara123...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Cotswold Cottage”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Troutbeck as a group of six during Christmas 2013. We explained that some of the party celebrated Christmas on the 24th and Chris arranged (with no hassle) for us to arrive earlier then planned so we could get the celebrations started.
We arrived to find not only mince pies but also a Christmas tree! This was such a nice touch and really added to our stay.
There was more then enough room for six adults and a cat and we found the house had everthing we needed and was really comfy and homely.
The village is nice and small with a great local pub and country walks. It is an ideal location in the Cotswolds being near bigger villages & towns but in a quiet countryside location.
Troutbeck is a great place to stay and would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlinger13
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable , well equiped and spacious home from home”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We all had a fantastic time at Troutbeck - 4 friends, 4 kids and 1 dog and still loads of room to relax and enjoy this wonderful, well-equiped house. We are already planning for our next visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms, and well-equiped kitchen, and cosy conservatory
Liked least: having to go home back to reality
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house in a gorgeous location!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely, well cared for spacious house with everything we needed for our stay. Gorgeous surroundings with plenty of lovely walks on the door step. Extremely helpful owner, would highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigcol
Doncaster
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Don't look any further”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Troutbeck is an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds. It is only a mile from Stow and Bourton on the Water and Moreton on the Marsh are only 10 minutes driving away.
The house is excellent - very clean and set up with an eye to detail. Bedrooms are large, beds comfortable, towels thick and soft.
The kitchen is well-stocked with cooking utensils and all types of meals could be cooked easily (if you wanted to). There is a dishwasher, as well as a washing machine and tumble drier in the adjoining utility room. The owner kindly left milk in the fridge and chocolate biscuits by the kettle - just one indication of the attention to detail.
The living room and adjoining conservatory is spacious and it is easy to relax there. The enclosed garden, with gas barbecue, is an added bonus.
The ground-floor en suite bedroom is the icing on the cake, especially for anyone with mobility issues.
I would return to this house without hesitation and recommend it unreservedly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucylucyl...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely feel with hotel touches”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Myself and 7 friends have just returned from two nights at Troutbeck and had an absolutely great time and all came back feeling so relaxed. Everything we needed was catered for and we were made to feel really welcome. The house felt really homely but we also liked the fact that guest towels and toiletries were provided for us. We wish we had stayed for longer! Thank you for having us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing