We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Stow”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swell, Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible value for money”
Reviewed 5 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed at Benfield for Cheltenham race week. I ve been attending the Cotswolds for this week for the last 25 years and have never been so ôvercharged, so misled and utterly disappointed with the accomôdation facilities.
Firstly forget the initial photo of the property exterior, that was taken before the War,there is no climbing ivy nor the picturesque floral display that is portrayed.
Now we paid in excess of £1600 for a week, yes i'm a mug, but we wanted a right royal treat, as members of our party had endured a horrendous year, how my booking let them down for the cost.
There is not one en suite facility, off the two only washing rooms, only one has a shower.
There was a urgent need for a downstairs toilet as a friend is severly handicapped by his busted and arthritic hip, the current downstairs wouldnt suffice for any Adilt who needs to sit down...shall we say, tiny doesnt do it justice, so he had to leave after one night.
The beautifully walled patio...my Ar@# its a shady damp area, barely big enough to swing a cat and full of garden equipment and dead plants.
DONT TAKE CHILDREN !!! The photo i referred to, doesnt show that you are right on the main drag in and out of Stow, you step out of the front door straight onto the main road.
The photos of the front lounge which are shown in repeated fashion dont display a plethora of discarded travel pamphlets and other literary miscelania in their multitude, an appalling mess, no table space at all, as this mess consumes the room.
We were a gambling party, which was well known, heavens to betsy if you wish to look at gaming sites as there is an over 18 filter on the house which cant be overidden.
In the bedrooms they have these ..what can be best described as 'traps'..overtly long and winding , totally ridiculous in length curtains which wrap themselves around you when your not looking like a Triffid. Wear your crash helmet..
If you like cushions and pillows well this place is 5 star, beacuse this is the place where all the cushions in the world go to die....its take 20 minutes to rid the beds of them, then trip on them in the morning, we placed them all in the bath.
Their selling point is quirky !! i live in an Elizabethan house, i know quirky, this place is a rip off and there are hundreds more better places within the great town of Stow..

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2018
We are sorry the guests did not enjoy their stay. However I believe they were unhappy as we would not give them any refund on their stay as their reasons were not validated. Firstly there were no creepers on the front because it was March and they had not flowered yet. We do not describe the cottage as ever having an en suite or a second shower. The downstairs toilet is small but perfectly adequate in size for a downstairs toilet. The garden area is not at its best in March simply because the flowers are not yet in bloom. Regarding the cottage many guests find it charming and the soft furnishings an added touch of comfort.
Unfortunately this negative review was posted simply because we would not give them any refund on their stay as there was nothing wrong with the cottage and most guests love the experience in staying in such a beautiful historical cottage in the centre of Stow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in the heart of Stow”
Reviewed 23 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My family and I recently stayed at the beautiful Benfield. The pictures online really don't do this fabulous property justice. It was super warm and cosy and immaculately presented.
It had everything you could want and need and all of the rooms, especially the kitchen, were extremely well equipped. We even managed to grapple with the aga!
We'd highly recommend, the perfect family getaway in a stunning location - we'll definitely be going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer, Alaska
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing