We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot wait to go back ..”

Woodlands Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Swell B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back ..”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

When we drove up to this lovely place we were happy from the get go. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The lady who ran the place (sorry her name has left me) was very welcoming and helped us with restaurants as one of our party is a vegetarian. She even rang and booked for us. One of our party was unwell and stayed behind. When we returned she had been give home made chicked soup. Could not of asked for a better place to stay. Would return there in a blink.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    21
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 rooms with my parents, my husband and I and 13 year old son. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. Amanda gave great recommendations for dinner and things to see. The location was convenient, just outside of town. We also did a day trip to Oxford, an easy drive. Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Woodlands Guest House is in a very beautiful location and ideal for the Longborough Opera Festival.
We booked and paid a deposit some months in advance but when we arrived were told we would have to move rooms after one night.
The first room (ground floor, front of house) was dark and very small. Our second room was very pleasant with a nice view and good size bathroom. We assumed there would be a reduction for the first night but when we paid the balance at the end of our 7 nights stay were told the first room was the same price, which makes it very overpriced.
We were going to pay the balance of £535.00 by the same credit card we had paid the deposit of £76.43 but were told there would be an extra charge although there is no mention of this in advance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 888Christopher888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

me and my other half stayed here as we were attending a wedding in stow, and only booked for one night, upon arrival we were greeted by Rob who as soon as we had settled brought us tea and biscuits, bliss. we were in room 5 on the ground floor and was very clean and provided everything we needed, and overlooked the front garden, lovely setting. breakfast was freshly cooked to order and it was delicious. Rob and amanda are very friendly hosts and nothing was too much trouble, my only regret is that we didnt stay longer, highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasmum107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lovely B&B with very friendly hosts. Really good breakfasts, and extremely well located for exploring the Cotswolds. About 5 minutes from the center of Stow, with available parking in the drive. Nice setting with sheep farms around, but right on one of the main roads after a good curve, so pulling in/out of the drive sometimes required a deep breath. I stayed for 3 nights and they provided tons of information and help, from dinner recommendations, to many walking maps available to borrow. The cute room & small bathroom provided everything I needed, except the heater sometimes inexplicably didn't seem to work. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesInCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Woodlands guest house. Our room was a double at the back of the house, with gorgeous views over the lake. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and had everything you could need. The en-suite was finished to a very high standard with a separate bath and shower.

Amanda and Rob were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fab...we had a full English on our first morning which was really tasty. We couldn't manage another full English the second day - but there was a wide range of alternatives on offer, from fruit and yoghurts to a great selection of cereals.

Amanda and Rob had great local knowledge and helped us to plan our day exploring! They also had really helpful knowledge about local pubs/restaurants to try for our evening meals.

Amanda offers a wide range of beauty treatments and I had a fantastic massage, which really topped off our wonderfully relaxing weekend!

Thank you again Amanda and Rob.

Room Tip: I'm sure any rooms would have good views, but if you have a choice, do go for the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stay at the Woodland guest house for two nights. We stayed in room 2 that had views over the back garden and the field across a small lake, containing white swans (which for West Aussies is different)

The weather was miserable, but the guest house was cosy and warm. Our hosts, Rob and Amanda making sure we made the most of our time. We did not do any walking in the countryside (as is the done thing in the Cotswolds), but the guesthouse did provide a excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds and beyond.

Breakfast was very good as were their recommendations for pubs to have dinner.

We recommend this guest house to anyone that wants a friendly and quite place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WackyDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swell
0.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
"B"
"B"
#6 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Limes Guest House
The Limes Guest House
#12 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: Swell, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold > Swell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing