We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

When we booked to stay in Chard on our way to the coast, I was not sure what to expect. But I was really impressed. It was excellent because of the hotel, the whole team at The Bath House is extremely friendly and attentive to every detail. The room was clean, modern decoration and spacious, the breakfast was really lovely (we had salmon and asparagus - nice to have something different in the menu) - it was perfectly cooked and presented beautifully.
We also had dinner there the night before. My husband is allergic to nuts and they took great care to make sure the food was suitable for him. The food was also very good, freshly cooked, full of flavour.
Thank you for everything!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foody_traveller_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
151
17
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Not a typical looking b and b from outside but inside was lovely. Extremely clean room, gorgeous bedding, comfy bed, modern immaculate bathroom. Only negative is that for size of shower water pressure very low. Room was compact but had everything you need. Breakfast was great, freshly cooked good quality full English. Very friendly host. Great value for money. Would definitely recommend the bath house just a shame it's in lack lustre chard!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Possibly the best breakfast I have ever had in any hotel ever! I chose the poached eggs and smoked salmon brekkie which was cooked to perfection and my partner had a stupendous fry up. Room was spotless and the bathroom was huge with a good shower. We found the room rather hot but realised the next morning it was our own fault for not noticing the unmissable air con unit installed in the room! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ooizzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here overnight and ate in the wonderful restaurant.I have never been anywhere so warm and welcoming and this was also extended to our 6 year old son ( very unusual in this country) The rooms are very clean and kept to a really high standard! You really feel like you are being pampered. Everything you see on the website is as it is but the extra special treatment can't be photographed. The food was outstanding and the breakfast is honestly the best I have ever eaten. Dont be put off by the fact that you are staying over a restaurant you wouldnt know it ! The hotel is ideally located for you to explore the jurassic coastline which we did and we had a great short break in the sun (lucky us)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadleyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh-on-sea
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

In an externally unassuming building that gives little impression it is anything other than a chinese restaurant it comes as something of a surprise to find a little boutiquey hotel above. (in fact you were just passing you would be likely to ignore it!).
But from the excellently prepared breakfasts, to little details like cotton bud/pads in the bathroom, to the quality fittings and decorations this little hotel is good value for the rates (probably pegged by the fact that Chard would not normally be on too many people's list of places to stay, although it is a well-located town for Devon and Somerset visits). The restaurant is one of the few Chinese that states food sources in its menu - don't be put off by the illustrations in the menu which is the only naff thing we came across in our visit; the food was excellent. But the main selling point is that you are welcomed as if you are a long-time friend by Karine the owner. I too am not normally keen on familiarity but she has it exactly at the right level. Choose a room with the bigger beds and enjoy!

Room Tip: The Hollywood room is apparently the best. We stayed in the Willow which has an excellent bed but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corpjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Drawn to this hotel when planning a trip to Somerset and fancied somewhere different to stay - maybe slanted by a love of Chinese food!

Booking is by phone rather than internet - a bit unusual these days - but part of the experience where interaction with the host is part of the visit. You are made to feel welcome from the booking process through to check out.

Rooms are on the whole delightful. As travelling with a friend I required a twin bedded room - this was not the biggest but adequate. Doors were open to other rooms as quiet night - the superior rooms looked stunning. Beds were the most comfortable I've slept on for some time. The room was absolutely spotless and pristine. Only niggle was the shower - water pressure not strong - a power shower would have been delightful.

The highlight however was the food - Ron (husband and chef) was most welcoming and clearly a master at his trade. English breakfast one of the best I have had for many years. Chinese dinner on the one night was excellent - beware though - portions are on the large side. Waitresses were most personable and charming.

Overall - a most pleasant surprise. Chard itself may not be the first tourist destination - but it is perfectly placed as a centre for touring the area, and worthy of stopping off to stay at Bath House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

From the moment you enter the Hotel until you leave you are made to feel like one of the family. There committment to customer service is 'second to none'. Rooms are spotless.
I will most certainly stay again when next in the area.
Top Nosh. Top people

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
662 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
349 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kerrington House
Kerrington House
#1 of 1 in Axminster
157 reviews
15.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
902 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing