We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious”
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I can honestly say this is by far the best oriental restaurant you are likely to ever visit. It is certainly not most opulent and does not pretend to be something it is not but wow does it deliver in terms of the food and service. They create a really special environment which is clean and friendly. I cannot believe that someone stated on Trip Advisor that the food was over-priced and the service was poor – impossible! I am from London and travel 2-3 times a year to the Coast and always eat here whenever possible. It is a real gem in the South West. In fact I would go as far to say I have nebver tasted food like it anywhere else – You would not be disappointed if you ate here.

Wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

stayed here for one night with 4 others, we had the most fantastic welcome and were very well looked after.
definately be back as family live near by.
rooms were lovely and extremely clean and well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

i have just returned from a weekend of sheer delight ,.mainly thanks to all at Bath House Hotel the room was grade 1 the breakfast was beyond my dreams ......this is truley a well run bisness one you must see for one self .....and to top it all a fantastic chinese restruant owned by the same family.....a must and share your thoughts with a great hostess.........go soon i know i will return .

Room Tip: all rooms are brill......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend and we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay!
We were lucky enough to stay in the Hollywood suite which is absolutely stunning and immaculate! The large bed was really clean and comfortable.
As for the food - wow! Both the Chinese food we tried and the fillet steak meal were superb! We barely had room for desserts but somehow we managed it! We really recommend their special ice-creams too! Breakfast also was incredible - such a wide selection and delicious!
Everyone was very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Although inland, Chard is a good central location for visiting the South Coast. We went to Lyme Regis on our first day, and on the next we took the opposite direction along the coastal road to Weymouth, through picturesque villages and with beautiful sea views en route.
A special thankyou to Ron and Karine for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I recently tried this hotel because it was close to where I was working, initially you think it's just a chinese restaurant however look a little closer and what a gem.

The owners and staff cannot do enough, very warm and friendly the food is excellent and offer a varied menu , the room was beautiful, well decorated and clean as was the bathroom, the bed large and very comfortable, everything you need and competively priced.

A great base right in the heart of Chard

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We are not usually taken to giving such feedback but we have just come back from a short holiday in the South West and stayed at the Bath House and felt we had to add our comments. Firstly we agree with the other comments about the food and accommodation, all first class and and it was brilliant. What we really appreciated throughout our stay, from the first greeting to saying good bye was the excellent service from everyone at the Hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was done so efficiently.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I'm delighted to say that the Bath House Hotel is maintaining, maybe even exceeding, the cracking standard they were setting themselves when I wrote my 2009 review.

In fact, it's even more impressive to be able to say it now because the place is still immaculate with no signs of wear so obviously the owners are paying attention to maintaining its immaculate condition.

Breakfast is still excellent - substantial enough to set you up for the day and still beautifully prepared and presented.

Absolutely the best place to stay in Chard (I've tried four over the years) and worth going out of your way to experience.

Room Tip: All different - look at the photos on the hotel website to see what suits your taste. I prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonat1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
196 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
446 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
909 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: £74 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing